Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.555565
Write A Review
January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

I started fostering for Indigo Rescue from Jan 2012. Their mission of saving/rescuing animals is very clear. I find Heather Hines, founder and executive director to be very focused on the best care and goal oriented to each and every animal which is very refreshing. Neither does Heather nor I believe in shortcuts for the care of animals. The veterninary care that the fosters receive is superb. Feels wonderful to find a like minded organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

clone Heather Hines

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 23, 2014

more

January 23, 2014

I started volunteering with Indigo in January of 2011 during my Junior year of high school and started fostering for them in August of the same year. I cannot tell you how much working with these people and animals has impacted my life. Both the dogs I have fostered with Indigo are/were fearful dogs. Neither one gets aggressive when fearful - Indigo does have those too - but they could not be cared for in a shelter environment. That's how Indigo gets all their dogs, they could not be cared for in a shelter for whatever reason. All of these dogs live in foster homes, which means they have families, they interact with humans every day and they live like a dog should. The foster home isn't always the best place for them, but that isn't what the fostering is for. It's to give them as normal a life until we can find them a home that will last them forever. And there is nothing better than seeing these dogs grow, helping them and growing with them, and finding them a home. It isn't easy, but it is the most fulfilling thing I have ever done. The only thing I love better is seeing the community that this builds. We have volunteers and fosters still in middle/high school all the way up to retired and everywhere in between. And every single person is determined and devoted to find these dogs homes that will last forever, no matter how long it takes or what problems the dog may or may not have. And we will never, never give up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 23, 2014

more

January 23, 2014

I moved from Alaska to Oregon in 2005. We wanted to make a difference. Help animals. We came in contact with Indigo Rescue. We started fostering dogs. The relationship quickly grew to volunteering at Indigo Ranch. I also began training as a handler. In time, after much training and learning, I became a general supervisor for the ranch. Which I did, plus 90 to 100 hours volunteer on top of that. While I Returned to Alaska, I still remain active with indigo rescue. Heather Hines is at the helm of this organization. What I know to be a fact of everyday life for heather is that she NEVER EVER gives up. To her it is 24/7. All day and all night. Just her never stopping is an inspiration. I have respect for the drive she shows and gives every single day. Her te at the ranch is strong, educated and devoted. Nothing that came easy.. It takes time and dedication to find that perfect balance. Take the time to see for yourself. My heart remains at the ranch, where I enjoyed some of the best days of my life. Remember the dog boarding allows for more rescue work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give heather the funding and the tools to expand her rescue abilities within her personal home, she constantly is absorbing rescued animals that she can't place I fosters as there is a shortage. If she had the space and help, she could expand/buy a property that will help he continue her work. And a part time employee coming to the premises to assist her will allow her to get out on the streets saving animals. The ranch is doing well. Let's get the rescue end the support it deserves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 23, 2014

more

January 23, 2014

I'm a staunch advocate of adopting rescue dogs, and have done so all my adult life. When I encountered Indigo Rescue, I was impressed far beyond any I had encountered in the past. All the volunteers are crystal-clear about their mission, which is to ensure that the right pet is matched with the right family. In addition, as indicated by their name, they make sure that animals most in need of help are given what they require; in performing this part of their mission, their motto is "never, never, never give up." And they don't.

In my opinion, Indigo Rescue stands head and shoulders above all the rest of the pet rescue organizations in the Portland, OR metro area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways for them to increase their ongoing sources of funding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I have volunteered with this organization for a decade and am impressed with the whole-hearted dedication of its volunteer corps, director, and board. This effective rescue group has saved the lives of thousands of dogs and cats during the past ten years, and does it on a shoestring budget. Innovative and proactive, it's a great group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Indigo Rescue is one of the best pet rescue organizations I have ever had the pleasure of working with. Not only do they rescue pets but they also have a "Cage Free" boarding facility as well as training classes. The owner, Heather, takes great pride in what she does. We adopted a small dog from Indigo several years ago. We had to go through an interview, a dog meeting & a home inspection. We passed with flying colors & I could not have been more happy with the effort she put into making sure we were the right fit for the dog (NOT the other way around) She has built her success from the ground up and will continue to go far beyond anyone's, even her own, expectations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love Indigo Rescue! When I was looking for a dog they made sure that the one I ended up with was the right dog for my lifestyle. I have had him for 5 years and will look forward to adopting from them again when we are ready. They are dedicated to their dogs and make sure that if you ever have questions or need help to give you advise. If you are someone that is looking for a lifetime friend and want help making sure that you choose the right dog or cat then they are the best non-profit animal rescue group to go with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

In response to the prior review submitted by "David", this man told us he was going to drown his dog's deaf and blind Australian Shepherd puppies and we believed him because it wasn't the first time. His dog continues to have deaf and blind litters of puppies because it is a genetic mutation common in this breed. We offered to spay his dog and take the puppies and when he stopped returning our calls we feared he had already drowned the puppies so we reported him to the county. That REALLY made him mad! They ended up making him license his dogs. Too bad. Our job in this case, like every other case, is to do the right thing for the animals. If that isn't what David wanted, well, bummer for him. He needed (still needs) to do the right thing and spay his dog to prevent the birth of more deaf and blind puppies, but he was too greedy to do it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

i had an awful experience with this organization.
the rescue followed through on not one single committment it made to me and the pups, then had the cheek to report me to animal control on false pretext .
consuming most of one saturday for the officer and most of the morning for me
verifying the truth of my claims.
My story checked out and i was thoroughly cleared of any of the false charges and rumors laid by this organization in their complaint.

The leader of this outfit is Heather Hines ; a very pushy and indiscreet woman who will promise one thing and do another. if you need to place a donation or an animal; based on my experience i would offer you the advice to look elsewhere.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

an awful way

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

remove the leadership

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers