Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
170 Reviews
1234.529415
Write A Review
August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I love In2Books! I truly appreciate the opportunity to share my love of books and of learning with a child, in a time-manageable format. I have enjoyed reading new children's books and rediscovering old favorites. The cost to participate is minimal, but the payoff is huge!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I was looking for a way to volunteer and make a difference here in the United States. I needed something that would work in with my full time work schedule and be of interest to myself and the benefactors. In2Books was perfect. It was simple, easy to follow, fun to engage in and I even learned a thing or two. Such an easy way to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I'm really into getting kids interested in books and I wanted to get involved in volunteering. In2Books has been the perfect place for me. I have been a penpal for over 2 years and have enjoyed reading and discussing books with kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2012

more

August 5, 2012

As both a volunteer and someone heavily involved in the realm of Education, I was quite impressed with the In2Books program. I had great interaction with my pal Alexa and I know that the content was age-appropriate and enriching. All too often we overlook the problem of the literacy disconnect between socioeconomic classes and this program is doing a great job at combating the issue. I comment In2Books and the ePals Foundation for putting together such a seamless and wonderful program. I will surely volunteer again.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2012

more

August 5, 2012

I have tried the In2Books for two years and have been completely dissatisfied with the schools. It appears that this program is not meaningful enough to make it a positive goal for the teachers as well as students to read and write letters. I feel that it should be required and not just a program that is a hit and a miss if there is enough time to do it. This should be included in their curriculum and be part of their grade. Anyways, I do not plan on putting any more time into this program since its not taken seriously!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2012

more

August 5, 2012

I enjoy volunteering with In2Books because it gives me the opportunity to do what I enjoy - reading and writing -- while helping to make a difference in a young student's school year. I really love seeing the improvement in their level of writing and comprehension as we move through the reading units. In2Books makes it easy to get books, through their source, Amazon, or the library. I have to admit that my favorite part of the program is that my volunteer work happens in the convenience of my home, whenever I can fit in the time to complete the reading and writing that my student pen pal looks forward to. It's a great program. I highly recommend!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 4, 2012

more

August 4, 2012

I am a former English teacher. I used to teach 2nd, 5th, and 6th grade. I had to retire early for my teaching career, so I was excited about working with a girl in the fourth grade. We read the same books and reviewed them. I know that we were both so excited to receive letters from each other. I feel as though I got to know my epal by relating real life experiences to the stories we read. While she was improving on her writing skills and her knowledge of reading, we were also forming a kind of friendship that wouldn't have happened without Epals. My epal had a wonderfully developed sense of humor that showed in her written letters. I have enjoyed it so much, that I am looking forward to meeting a new epal friend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The teacher had the students write letters, but they didn't always fit the time line I was given. I can understand it may be difficult to stay on schedule with a whole class. As I understand it, a student can't get their letter from their epal until every student has received a letter. That may be one reason my epal and I were on different books at times.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience allowed me to feel like I still had a hand in a classroom. I so missed working with children, and this allowed me to enjoy what I love best about teaching.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I was so excited to work with and learn about my epal. I felt like there was not a good sense of closure at the end of the year because our timing seemed off. I know we both enjoyed writing and getting to know each other.

August 4, 2012

more

August 4, 2012

I considered it a privilege to be a tutor in the In2Books program. We hear all sorts of bad things about the school systems these days, and with good reason I believe. But this program has real value for the children and I found myself wishing that all schools could be a part of this or something similar. Not only does it give the children the chance to write something meaningful in a real life context, but it also provides them with opportunities to interact with responsible adults that can be good role models and examples for the children. The child that I was pen pals with always expressed enthusiam at the chance to write and receive letters back, and although the timing wasn't always ideal for me, I still spent a lot of time composing each letter to give the child the best experience possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

As a stay at home mom with three young children, it is difficult to get out and serve in the community. I was delighted when I came across this program because I could do the service in my home on my own time. A great feeling to do something worthwhile for the community.

August 4, 2012

more

August 4, 2012

Get involved with a child's educational development. Read a book with a child! This is what In2books is all about. Become a pen pal. This is such a fundamental thing one can do to enhance a child's learning experience. And it is fun too. You get to learn about them too and all their interests, hopes, and dreams. Children are so creative and always have something funny to say. I enjoy reading, so helping someone else read & learn is so satisfying. When they write that they can't wait for the next letter, well that means you are making an impact. That's what it's all about. Cheers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Select all the books for the school year in the beginning of the year. That way I would save a great deal of money from shipping & handling charges as I would not be buying them individually. It seems I'm just giving the money to FedEx or UPS. Considering that the cost of a book is typically equivalent to cost of shipping, it is a waste of monies. Money saved this way can be used for other things...donation, buying more books, etc.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Great learning experience. I'm been writing for last 4 years. So nice to hear that the words one writes is taken well & that the child is learning more than just reading a book.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fantastic. Reading is so important to a child's development. They say it takes a community to raise a child, I'm just glad to be a part of it.

August 4, 2012

more

August 4, 2012

In2Books is a great way to volunteer online. You get to share letters with students about books they are reading in class. I always looked forward to getting my letters. The online nature of this program allowed me to read and communicate on my own schedule, which was great. I look forward to volunteering again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers