Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
170 Reviews
1234.529415
| 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review
August 9, 2012

more

August 9, 2012

All my life I have wanted to be a Pen Pal; but the opportunity never arose. Even though I have lived abroad and wrote countless letters to family and friends, there seemed to be something magical about writing to a perfect stranger. So when, in my retirement, I learned about In2Books, a volunteer program that places adults with children through the safety of a school system, who shared the love of reading books together, I was hooked! "My child" selects a book along with classmates, and we volunteers read that book. Afterwards, "my child" and I become PenPals as we write to each other about what we thought of "our book." This In2Books adventure has been going on over five years for me. And I can't express enough the love and joy reading with youngsters brings into my life. Their innocence and my life experiences bring lessons to each of us. It is amazing how close one can feel to a child unsceen. Won't you give it a try? You will be happy that you did. :0)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012

more

August 9, 2012

In2Books is a great non-profit that benefits not only the child, but the volunteer as well. I thoroughly enjoyed participating knowing that I was helping a child grow and develop. One of fht books we read was about Albert Einstein. My student asked me quite a few questions that I researched to provide answers for her. It was a positive and rewarding experience! I am looking forward to participating again this year!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I enjoyed volunteering with In2Books. I love reading and I wanted to help kids learn to love readin also. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the books. They were fun and educational. It was a fun, easy and quick way to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I have been part In2Books for several years now, and enjoy it very much. I find it a win-win situation - I get the chance to be penpals with and learn from a child from another state, they get a chance to learn the books they are studying from a totally different perspective. We are usually in different states, so we have a shared opportunity to learn about another part of the country. And In2Books makes it easy to fit in anyone's schedule as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2012

more

August 7, 2012

In2books is an activity that allowed me to feel useful to children, to education, and to society. There is a responsibility of educating, respecting a child, as well as an enrichment that comes with our interaction. As a volunteer activity, it is very convenient. I have a busy schedule, working 60-70 hours a week, and it was easy to get used to it... of course in the beginning I questioned if I was doing alright, but ordering a book (which I would usually read in half an hour) and writing to the child about it made me feel at ease after a couple of letters. There is a satisfaction over several months of interaction... and I learned something everytime, without taking much of my time, without being overwhelmed, at all. It was worth writing these 4 letters, maybe 5 if you want, over the course of 10 months, and I will stick with the program for another year...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2012

more

August 7, 2012

Recently retired and a former elementary teacher who wanted to have more connections with young children to make a difference in their lives, I came upon In2Books as a volunteer opportunity. This organization gave me the chance to be flexible with my time and still mentor young children. I enjoyed reading the books my student and his class chose for each genre throughout the school year. His teacher kept me informed about her class' progress with reading books and writing letters back and forth by email through the site. Best of all, I was able to be in touch and communicate with a young student and still live in my winter home part of the year. I recommend this volunteer opportunity for anyone who enjoys children, reading, writing and has about an hour each month to work from your computer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I was a penpal for In2books this past year, and it has been really fun to write with a kid (I think who lives in New York?). One of the best parts of the program was the email he wrote around Valentine's Day. There was a note at the bottom that said, "HAPPY VALENTINES DAY BEST PENPAL YOUR COOL." The one thing that was difficult about this program was that the letters never matched up--there was never a conversation between me and my penpal. I think part of the reason was that we only wrote one letter every few months. Maybe it would have been more helpful if there were letters in between books too?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

My penpal and I exchanged letters about once a month. The books were easy to read, and I found all of them at my local library, so I didn't have to spend any money. I enjoyed my give and take with a 4th grade boy who lives across the country. I wish we could have exchanged photos, or that I could have purchased a book for him at the end of the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I have been with In2Books for 3 years. It is wonderful to engage a young reader and feel that I am somehow encouraging a lifelong love of reading.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

I don't have children of my own and wanted to do something to help the coming generation. I enjoy writing letters and especially enjoy reading the colorful letters I get back from the student to whom I write. The books we read in tandem have also been interesting and, even though they are children's literature, I have learned from them. The demand on my time and energy is quite manageable amid my otherwise busy schedule. I try to encourage and motivate the students I correspond with and I find myself so glad I became a part of this project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers