Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
170 Reviews
1234.529415
Previous | 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review
November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is my 5th year as an in2books teacher, and I cannot say enough about how this program motivates at-risk students to read and write! It allows students to select their own books, and then write letters to a pen pal who has also read the same books. Students who are very resistant to writing willingly type a letter to their pen pal and the revision process is almost painless! I am a veteran special education teacher and my students are SO excited to exchange letters with their wonderful pen pals!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012

more

September 18, 2012

Reading has always been an important part of my life. Like most, it was taken me on journeys far beyond what I could imagine. As an online penpal/volunteer for the last three years, In2Books has helped me continue that journey and share with children all over the United States. I am honored to serve with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2012

more

August 29, 2012

I love being part of In2Books! Since it is a email pen pal program, you can write you letters at midnight if you so choose! As a retired teacher I like being able to share books and connect with students. The In2Books web site is very easy to use, and has lots of good ideas for writing your letters. In2Books is a program for anyone, whether they are educators or not. This would be an excellent program for someone who wants to volunteer but may not have the mobility to volunteer outside the home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 25, 2012

more

August 25, 2012

It was a great experience corresponding with a student about what he was reading in class. He was very eager to share about himself and the things he liked about school. I hope I was a positive example for him in his educational goals. I hope to volunteer again. There were a few system glitches that delayed several messages, but other than that it was a great experience that I hope to have again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

I enjoyed the interaction with my student. He had a great sense of humor and it was fun to communicate with him on the books. Besides, In2Books, offers great help in doing a good job of working with the students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

In2books is a great organization in which children can experience the joy of reading and sharing books with others. I used this program in my third grade classroom. My students had a better understanding of reading for a purpose and writing responses with evidence from the story. I will be volunteering again this year and hopefully many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

In2Books is a dynamic program that impacts the lives of elementary students. the program provides books and adult pen pals for children to read with and write to. The In2Books program provided students in my class the opportunity to choose books from differnt genres to read throughout the yar and an adult pen pal was advised and read the same book. My students had the opportunity to write a letter to their pen pal and share their thoughts on the books read and hear what they (pen-pal _ thought. It encouraged my students to read and also provided a forum for them to learn about other areas of our country. My students were excited about the program and looked forward to not only getting their books (which they got to keep) but also getting their letters. I highly recomment In2Books because the program not only assists students in reading, but it affords them the opportunity to increase their knowledge of grammar skills as they enjoy and learn more about themselves and become reflective thinkers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 15, 2012

more

August 15, 2012

I found out about In2Books when I was studying to be an elementary educator in Southern Maine. Unfortunately, elementary education is a popular career field, so job opportunities are few. I have always supplemented my education with volunteer experience, so I was excited to learn of In2Books. Since joining the program, I have worked with different students from across the United States, and from very different backgrounds. In sharing my own stories and thoughts, I am able to connect with a child that I know I am impacting not only now, but also into the future with the gift of literacy. To watch a child learn and grow as a student and as a reader is one of the most fulfilling volunteer opportunities I have ever been awarded, and I highly recommend the ePals Foundation to any would-be educator who just wants to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2012

more

August 13, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with In2Books. This organization allowed me the opportunity to pursue a dream...reading and communicating with children. I have always enjoyed reading and talking to other people about what I had read. I also liked receiving input from others about books to read. In2Books allowed me this opportunity. It was fun to communicate with a student I did not know. His suggestion of the books we were to read was a thrill. I had never read any of the books he had chosen. The program has the books set p by genre. Each book was picked from a different genre and I believe had some correlation to what the children were studying in school. After reading the books, we corresponded by email to give our thoughts about the books. There was always questions from the student about the book. He also included his thoughts and wanted to hear mine. Not only did I become aware of books I had never read, but I had the great joy of seeing a book through a child's eye...it does not get much better than that! There is such a need to assist children and adults in reading and understanding, no matter what the media is. I believe In2Books is a marvelous way to get to be a part of this. I believe it is as good for the children and as well as the adults. I only with my penpal and I could have read more books. Please endorse this program...It has so many special gifts to offer children as well as adults.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2012

more

August 12, 2012

My wife was a K-12 reading specialist for many years and introduced me to in2books (ePals Foundation). I've now been a volunteer penpal to 4 students and have found it to be very rewarding. I can honestly say that I have seen, first hand, how much reading can change a child in just a few short months. The improvement in vocabulary, organization of thoughts, and ability to answer questions was clearly evident in their e-mails to me in response to the books and my e-mails with questions to them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

as evidenced by the improvement in the students' writing abilities (e-mails) throughout the school year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Perhaps allowing the volunteer to be a penpal to more than one student at a time if they wanted to.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned to look at books for young readers through the eyes of an adult, and appreciate the efforts of story-telling to guide and influence young lives.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I had a positive impact on a child's life.

Previous | 1 2 3...17 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers