Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

We searched high and low for services to support our child with a speech delay. It turns out the services provided by Imua are so superior, we had to look no further. We were ecstatic with our son's speech service provided and loved the community we were able to be a part of at weekly Parent Toddler Group. The staff at Imua quickly started to feel like part of our family. Our son made huge strides with Imua and eventually stopped needing services. Although we were thrilled for his successes, we dearly miss our Imua family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would enable graduates to be able to still connect with their therapists.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

My daughter Jewel was born premature is a surviving twin. We were not prepared for needing so much specialized help for her. Jewel has cerebral palsy and received early intervention from Imua Family Services, which consisted of O/T, P/T and SLP. On Maui there are not many options to obtain this high level of specialized services. Even after Jewel phased out of the early intervention program, she continued receiving SLP through the Fish fund at Imua. Jewel's cp effects her whole body, all her limbs and internal organs including her muscles. Through these early lessons, she is able to eat her own food and speak, though not as clear as you and I, yet. She is wheel chair bound and depends on 24/7 care. I have volunteered to fundraise for Camp Imua which Jewel attends, and has attended for the past five years. It is what she looks forward to all year long. Here at Camp Imua dreams come true, best friends are made and potential is nurtured and enhanced. Our sense of community has amplified since going to camp and being a part of the fundraising team. Imua Family Services is an integral part of our community, changing the trajectory of our children's lives and their world through Camp Imua. Thank you to all the Staff at Imua Family Services and all the volunteers that make Camp Imua continue to thrive. Respectfully, Ivana

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Imua Family Services has been providing support services to Maui residents for the past 65 years; it is an amazing organization.

As parents of a child born prematurely, we were woefully unprepared and uncertain about our son’s future. We had no experience and no idea of where to turn for
help. In a very short time after his birth, we were contacted by the angels at Imua who were ready to become a part of our life and, more importantly, the life of our son Riley. They were there with welcoming and comforting arms assuring us that a bright future lay ahead.

We simply do not know what we would have done without the help of these angels.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

January 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Imua Family Services has many wonderful programs for children with special needs, but the one that has affected me the most is their summer camp for school-aged disabled children, call Camp Imua. It's a weeklong summer camp in june for 50+ kids with all kids of disabilities. I have been volunteering for 4 years now, and it is the best community driven volunteer opportunity out there. I'm 17 now, and have volunteered at Camp Imua since I was 14, and I have seen children's lives change because of Camp Imua! It is a wonderful program that has been going on for over 30 years, and it is FREE for disabled kids to attend!! There are all kinds of "normal" summer camp activities for these kids to get to participate in, including a swimming pool, arts and crafts, horse back riding and more!! So many opportunities that these special needs kids wouldn't have gotten the chance to participate in without Camp Imua.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Front Desk Receptionist, PLAY! Imua Child Activity Assistant, Annual Appeal Team Volunteer