Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Impact Bay Area is an amazing organization! They have an effective curriculum to empower women and teens through intensive full-force self defense and verbal boundary setting. I took the class last year and it has been LIFE CHANGING for me. Not only do I have more peace of mind and feel safer, but I also have more confidence, affecting all spheres of my life. The class was unbelievably incredible. It was also a lot of fun. I am a big fan! I plan on signing up the whole family eventually.

Impact is also wholeheartedly dedicated to making self-defense available to everyone regardless of financial circumstances. I am a scholarship student myself, and am incredibly grateful for all that they've made possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Impact Bay Area is a great non-profit that just needs more money! I first took the Basics class when I was 18 years old, and it was life changing. I not only learned physical skills, but more importantly, I learned how to say NO! I also learned to trust and listen to my inner voice and it gave me a great boost of confidence in myself.

20 years later...I'm still involved with Impact and love assisting in classes. I'm a mom of two now, and can't wait to get my children in classes. I really feel that Impact should be part of the school curriculum and something that all women should have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Impact helps empower its students with personal safety choices and confidence in the face of adversity.
A great organization helping the community become a safer place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

This class (IMPACT's "Basics") will change your life. I consider myself a strong woman athlete (long distance backpacker, brown belt in Judo), but before this class I always had, in the back of my mind, the question, "Could I defend myself if attacked?" Now I know, without a doubt, that I *could*. The Basics class should be mandatory for all high school girls. I wish I had been able to take it when I was that age - #1, learning that your voice is your most powerful weapon (learning to say no and mean it; feeling that you can and should maintain healthy boundaries). But if voice alone fails, learning to defend yourself by disabling your assailant. IMPACT's full-force self defense against padded assailants will stay in your body memory forever.

The class has such a profound affect upon me that I have become a volunteer for this 25-year old organization. IMPACT also has classes for Men, Defense Against Weapons, Multiple Assailants...and a host of others for the teen and co-ed populations.

If you have a history of saying yes when you want to say no, if you have abuse in your background and are sick of carrying it around with you, if you just want to feel safe again...TAKE THIS CLASS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I took my first Women's Basics class with Impact in October 2012. It changed my life. Not only did I learn physical techniques of self defense, but also I learned how to set boundaries with strangers, as well as people I know. I learned that I had a voice and I can use it without feeling guilty, or afraid that I may hurt someones feelings. I found this class helped me greatly with the anger and feelings of low self worth from years of domestic violence and relationships dominated by power and control. The most wonderful thing about this program, is that it is safe. The instructors treat you with care, respect and dignity. The support from the staff and fellow students is something that you will take home with you and remember forever. We all have the right to be safe and confident. All you have to do is make the commitment.....Impact will show you the way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I took my women's basic course in February, 2013 and I can honestly say it was a transformational experience. Not only did I get practical physical skills and opportunities to practice verbal boundary setting, but I left the course with a great community of women. It sounds corny, but this organization really changes peoples lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I took 3 courses (Basic, Weapons and Multiple Assailants) with Impact Bay Area a decade ago as part of healing a very traumatic past. I was in my 40's. It was life-changing.

Impact is one of the most heartful, effective blends of physical, emotional and mental training-processing I have
ever experienced. Its holistic approach makes it truly spiritual. (I have an M. A. in Psychology and a decades-long spiritual path, so I have a lot of experience with all kinds of inner-focused activities.)

Amazingly, it was the first time in an outwardly "successful" life that I was ever invited to show up in all my power (which was much more than I expected) --- to learn to be willing and able to stand up for and to defend myself --- and, years later, to be able to say "NO!" with enough force that two large barking boxer dogs charging at me without their owner turned tail and ran away :-)

I spent the last 4 years in India and was/am grateful that I still carry Impact with me as body memory and in the "don't mess with me" way I walk. In the aftermath of the well-publicized Delhi gang rape, some organizations in India are starting to train women and girls in self-defense. This is so much more effective than other less-adrenalized methods I tried.

I so wish that every woman in the world could have this life-changing experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I took their basic women's self-defense class in the '90s and have taken refreshers at their fundraisers since. Plus I'm a donor. I feel much more secure in public, knowing I have skills to help protect myself from attackers or would-be attackers. Everyone should take their classes, especially all survivors of violence. Impact is very organized and well-run. Their volunteers are golden.
-A 55-year-old average woman

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money so they can help more people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

IMPACT should be in every city in the country and worldwide! I did their three day women's basic training in SF and had an incredible experience. I was able to create choice in my body where before only 'freeze' was an option. The instructors are amazing as are the "suits". I recommend it for everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund it with millions of dollars so they can grow way bigger and offer trainings everywhere.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Impact changed my life. I felt physically empowered like never before. I have more confidence in my life overall, and I know that if I were ever attacked, I could fight back strongly. Impact is making women and girls safer. SO IMPORTANT!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get it more funding to take their mission everywhere and make it accessible to everyone! I think they are doing this already, but wouldn't it be great if Impact classes were in every school for kids as they grew up and learned how to protect themselves?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers