Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Immigrant Learning Center is an amazing school. People from different countries study English in this place. I was a student and a short time volunteer and I would like to say "Thank you " my teachers and the students for this opportunity, help, knowledge and great atmosphere. I nave the great memories about time I have spent in ILC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about The Immigrant Learning Center, Inc. It's an amazing place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

This is the most professional and dedicated nonprofit I've ever volunteered for. The staff not only diligently teaches ESL, but they mentor the students, answer their questions, offer very helpful advice, and build the students' confidences to help them seek full-time employment. In addition, the ILC teaches a naturalization course to immigrants who qualify to help them successfully pass the citizenship test and become US citizens. It takes professional educators who are wholly devoted to making sure newcomers to these shores are educated in precise English so they can make a decent living and be proud of themselves. Even the Director refuses to take a salary. Her reward is the satisfaction of knowing that the ILC staff is one of the Boston area's finest institutions. The students really appreciate and look forward to their time with the teachers. It is an honor and a privilege to help ensure a peaceful transition to these future Americans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps arrange more field trips so the students can better experience the history of the area they are no living in, and see how we are a nation of immigrants; a melting pot of cultures from all over the world. The students also would benefit greatly by learning about the many countries they have come from. I always try to point out countries on a map whenever they come up in a class lesson.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

ILC is great placed. It's great to learn USA culture plus English courses. they have great crew. I really love this place and advice any new immigrant to be there.
Thank you for everyone participate to be part from this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate money to make them grow up more. this will help them to open more advanced and professional English classes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

when I was a student in Immigrant Learning Center in 2010, people there gave me a lot of help. Teachers were patient, nice and responsible, every staff was nice and enthusiastic. Students got everything free in the school, including materials, notebooks, even pens. I definitely believe the school is fulfilling with love. In 2012, I went back to the school became a volunteer. I hope my patient and nice could help more and more people who want to start their new lives in US. I have been involved in a survey of opinion from students. I was not surprised that the most answers for the question "what else do you think our school need to be improved" is "No, everything is great". And the most answer for the question "how do you think the school" is "I love my teachers, I love the school".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I just graduated from Northeastern University got my master degree. If the ILC could hire me I think that would be great! Ha~ When I worked on the survey, a big part of students asked for an evening class. I don't know if it is available for ILC, it is an asking anyway.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I've been a volunteer tutor here for several years. The entire staff has always been tremendously supportive of my efforts, which I really appreciate. There are some organizations that tend to ignore ... more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The teaching staff demonstrates great expertise and patients with language learners. Just as important, in my point of view, is that this is not a cold institution but one where students feel welcomed, supported, and valued as individuals. Since an important part of the immigrant experience is feeling lost and isolated in a new country, I think the atmosphere at ILC helps alleviate that anxiety.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I've been a volunteer tutor here for several years. The entire staff has always been tremendously supportive of my efforts, which I really appreciate. There are some organizations that tend to ignore their volunteers--not this one. I think the best thing about them is their genuine passion for their mission--they are out to help immigrants operate in America both culturally and linguistically, and I know the students view the Immigrant Learning Center as a safe haven where their beginning English skills are cultivated and not mocked, their work ethic is acknowledged, and their culture is respected, all while encouraging them to integrate in Boston's culture. I look forward to many years ahead of tutoring students for the ILC. A final note I'll add is that my work schedule changes periodically, which impacts when I can do tutoring, and the ILC has always been very understanding and accommodating of that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I was so excited to be a part of this great organization. The mission of the Immigrant Learning Center is an admirable one. It is amazing how nice and genuine everyone is, from the office staff to the teachers and other volunteers to the students, everyone is so welcoming from the moment they meet you. This was one of the most rewarding things I have done and would do it again in a heartbeat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

When I retired and moved back to the Malden area I wanted to find a volunteer opportunity where I would feel that my time was well-used. I have definitely found that at the Immigrant Learning Center where I have volunteered now for 4 years. This is the best place I could imagine where immigrants are given the gift of the English language and in return they give the gift of determination, perseverance, and gratefulness. At the beginning of each semester, Diane Portnoy, the school's founder and director, introduces herself to each new class and tells them her immigration story. She then asks each student to introduce themselves and say where they have come from. She acknowledges their courage and determination and thanks them for being here in the U.S. and helping to make a difference.
As a volunteer at Level 1 English, I participate as an aide to the instructor as students progress from the very earliest steps in learning English to a place where they are more comfortable and confident as they move on to the higher levels of competency. I also work one-on-one with individual students which gives me an opportunity to reinforce their classroom learning and get to know individual students and their stories. It is always rewarding and humbling.
Another aspect of this school that always impresses me is that many former students return to volunteer their time as a way of paying back and paying forward for all that they have been given.
I believe that the Immigrant Learning Center is a model for what this country should strive to offer all immigrants to help them feel welcomed and valued in our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Immigrant Learning Center in Malden provides an invaluable service to the state of Massachusetts. The teaching of English to recent immigrants not only helps them find employment, but benefits their families and communities alike. I have been volunteering there for about 5 years now, and take great satisfaction knowing that I'm making a difference in people's lives through this terrific group. Every major city in the U.S. needs an organization like this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

The ILC is an amazing place, and I've been very happy volunteering there for the past 3 1/2 years. Every member of the staff is extremely dedicated, available to help or guide the students not only in learning English, but also to help them find the services they need for housing, job training, legal issues and more. I help the students with questions about words or phrases they don't understand, help them with pronunciation, spelling and also answer questions about facets of American culture they don't under- stand. I feel that I am also representing a welcoming America, something they don't always experience in daily life. In return, I am rewarded by the most genuine appreciation and smiles. From the students I have learned more about different cultures, languages, foods, religions. I am able to use what I have learned when I interact with any of the many immigrants in my community who work in local businesses. I truly feel that the ILC, its staff and especially the students have given me much, much more than simply the experience of being a volunteer. I love this place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help foreign-born adults learn English as well as gain an understanding of the American culture by tutoring in a classroom under teacher supervision or one-on-one tutoring. Requires a weekly commitment. Volunteer