Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I was so excited to be a part of this great organization. The mission of the Immigrant Learning Center is an admirable one. It is amazing how nice and genuine everyone is, from the office staff to the teachers and other volunteers to the students, everyone is so welcoming from the moment they meet you. This was one of the most rewarding things I have done and would do it again in a heartbeat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I have deep admiration for the founders of this organization whose goals are to assist immigrants with their assimilation into American culture and to educate us on the contributions of immigrants to our society. I am proud to say that I have been a board member for many years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

When I retired and moved back to the Malden area I wanted to find a volunteer opportunity where I would feel that my time was well-used. I have definitely found that at the Immigrant Learning Center where I have volunteered now for 4 years. This is the best place I could imagine where immigrants are given the gift of the English language and in return they give the gift of determination, perseverance, and gratefulness. At the beginning of each semester, Diane Portnoy, the school's founder and director, introduces herself to each new class and tells them her immigration story. She then asks each student to introduce themselves and say where they have come from. She acknowledges their courage and determination and thanks them for being here in the U.S. and helping to make a difference.
As a volunteer at Level 1 English, I participate as an aide to the instructor as students progress from the very earliest steps in learning English to a place where they are more comfortable and confident as they move on to the higher levels of competency. I also work one-on-one with individual students which gives me an opportunity to reinforce their classroom learning and get to know individual students and their stories. It is always rewarding and humbling.
Another aspect of this school that always impresses me is that many former students return to volunteer their time as a way of paying back and paying forward for all that they have been given.
I believe that the Immigrant Learning Center is a model for what this country should strive to offer all immigrants to help them feel welcomed and valued in our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been a volunteer for fifteen years and a Board member for several years. I came as a favor to assist a friend who teaches here. I thought I might try it for a few weeks and have never left. The students are wonderful.....eager, courageous,and committed. The Director knows firsthand the challenges the ILC students face and has created a focused learning environment which provides students with the skills to survive in their new world and to adapt and grow. As a Board member I see Diane's effort and planning to create this environment and her desire to expand general awareness of the important role of the immigrant ,past and present, in the United States

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Dedicated, disciplined, with clear vision and ability to deliver. Combines service delivery and knowledge production in a unique and productive way.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Immigrant Learning Center in Malden provides an invaluable service to the state of Massachusetts. The teaching of English to recent immigrants not only helps them find employment, but benefits their families and communities alike. I have been volunteering there for about 5 years now, and take great satisfaction knowing that I'm making a difference in people's lives through this terrific group. Every major city in the U.S. needs an organization like this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

The ILC is an amazing place, and I've been very happy volunteering there for the past 3 1/2 years. Every member of the staff is extremely dedicated, available to help or guide the students not only in learning English, but also to help them find the services they need for housing, job training, legal issues and more. I help the students with questions about words or phrases they don't understand, help them with pronunciation, spelling and also answer questions about facets of American culture they don't under- stand. I feel that I am also representing a welcoming America, something they don't always experience in daily life. In return, I am rewarded by the most genuine appreciation and smiles. From the students I have learned more about different cultures, languages, foods, religions. I am able to use what I have learned when I interact with any of the many immigrants in my community who work in local businesses. I truly feel that the ILC, its staff and especially the students have given me much, much more than simply the experience of being a volunteer. I love this place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Immigrant Learning Center Inc. (ILC) in Malden, Massachusetts, is a wonderful organization of dedicated teachers and students. Currently serving approximately 400 students from around the world, the ILC has a waiting list for students of up to ten months, due to the high demand for its services by the immigrant community. The ILC's English-immersion program provides instruction known as "English for Speakers of Other Languages" (ESOL) rather than "English as a Second Language" (ESL), wisely acknowledging that many ILC students enter the ILC already speaking, writing, and reading two or more languages before they begin learning English. Many ILC, students, particularly women, lacked the opportunity to receive any formal education whatsoever before entering the ILC. ILC instruction develops student competency in speaking, writing, and reading English. As I begin my seventh month as a volunteer, I consider myself most fortunate to be a part of this stellar organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

The ILC has helped over 7,000 immigrants learn English since opening in 1992. Their mission has always been to provide free English classes to immigrant and refugee adults so they can lead productive lives in the U. S. and become successful workers, parents and community members. They also help educate the public that immigrants are assets to America. All classes are free. By improving their English skills, ILC students achieve goals such as finding a job, entering college, starting a business, becoming a U.S. citizen and more. Walking through the school and seeing students from different countries with varied cultures becoming friends as they learn the language of their adopted country always puts a smile on my face. The Immigrant Learning Center is a wonderful organization that helps many people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have been volunteering at the ILC for just a few weeks. The ILC does amazing work in helping people become literate in English. The students are hungry to learn and very gracious to the teachers and volunteers. Being a volunteer is the most rewarding work I have done since teaching middle-grades students in Arkansas. As I have the opportunity to spend more time at the ILC, I feel my contribution will grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help foreign-born adults learn English as well as gain an understanding of the American culture by tutoring in a classroom under teacher supervision or one-on-one tutoring. Requires a weekly commitment. Volunteer