Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Immigrant Learning Center is an amazing school. People from different countries study English in this place. I was a student and a short time volunteer and I would like to say "Thank you " my teachers and the students for this opportunity, help, knowledge and great atmosphere. I nave the great memories about time I have spent in ILC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I can't say enough wonderful things about The Immigrant Learning Center, Inc. It's an amazing place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

This is the most professional and dedicated nonprofit I've ever volunteered for. The staff not only diligently teaches ESL, but they mentor the students, answer their questions, offer very helpful advice, and build the students' confidences to help them seek full-time employment. In addition, the ILC teaches a naturalization course to immigrants who qualify to help them successfully pass the citizenship test and become US citizens. It takes professional educators who are wholly devoted to making sure newcomers to these shores are educated in precise English so they can make a decent living and be proud of themselves. Even the Director refuses to take a salary. Her reward is the satisfaction of knowing that the ILC staff is one of the Boston area's finest institutions. The students really appreciate and look forward to their time with the teachers. It is an honor and a privilege to help ensure a peaceful transition to these future Americans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps arrange more field trips so the students can better experience the history of the area they are no living in, and see how we are a nation of immigrants; a melting pot of cultures from all over the world. The students also would benefit greatly by learning about the many countries they have come from. I always try to point out countries on a map whenever they come up in a class lesson.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

ILC is great placed. It's great to learn USA culture plus English courses. they have great crew. I really love this place and advice any new immigrant to be there.
Thank you for everyone participate to be part from this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate money to make them grow up more. this will help them to open more advanced and professional English classes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

The ILC's mission is to promote immigrants as assets to our country. They empower students with the tools necessary to become confident, fullfilled and productive members of our diverse communities. The school provides a safe and supportive environment to countless students who are eager to learn and give back. In my opinion, and as an immigrant myself, the ILC is a springboard to living and achieveing the american dream.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Given that finances are always a limiting factor, if money was no object, I would love to see the ILC in multiple locations serving many students and communities far and wide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

when I was a student in Immigrant Learning Center in 2010, people there gave me a lot of help. Teachers were patient, nice and responsible, every staff was nice and enthusiastic. Students got everything free in the school, including materials, notebooks, even pens. I definitely believe the school is fulfilling with love. In 2012, I went back to the school became a volunteer. I hope my patient and nice could help more and more people who want to start their new lives in US. I have been involved in a survey of opinion from students. I was not surprised that the most answers for the question "what else do you think our school need to be improved" is "No, everything is great". And the most answer for the question "how do you think the school" is "I love my teachers, I love the school".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I just graduated from Northeastern University got my master degree. If the ILC could hire me I think that would be great! Ha~ When I worked on the survey, a big part of students asked for an evening class. I don't know if it is available for ILC, it is an asking anyway.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

The Immigrant Learning Center is a terrific organization. From the mission of the org to the high quality staff, the ILC is professionally run, mission focused and on solid financial footing. What i... more

September 13, 2013

This is a mission driven organization focused on serving its students and educating the public. The team is professional, hard working and deserves a lot of credit for running an efficient, well managed program. Too often, nonprofits struggle with the business fundamentals on fundraising, budgeting, and expense controls. The ILC management team is extraordinarily good at the business side of running the program.

The program itself is lfe changing for the students and has helped fill a huge void in public opinion around how immigrants make meaningful contributions to society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

The Immigrant Learning Center is a terrific organization. From the mission of the org to the high quality staff, the ILC is professionally run, mission focused and on solid financial footing. What is even more impressive is the waiting list it maintains for students. The desire for services far outweigh the need. Finally, I have been impressed how the school, primarily focused on student education, saw a need and transformed itself to a wider mission: education of the public about the contributions of immigrants, when it became vogue to engage in immigrant bashing. This is a great organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I've been a volunteer tutor here for several years. The entire staff has always been tremendously supportive of my efforts, which I really appreciate. There are some organizations that tend to ignore ... more

September 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The teaching staff demonstrates great expertise and patients with language learners. Just as important, in my point of view, is that this is not a cold institution but one where students feel welcomed, supported, and valued as individuals. Since an important part of the immigrant experience is feeling lost and isolated in a new country, I think the atmosphere at ILC helps alleviate that anxiety.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

I've been a volunteer tutor here for several years. The entire staff has always been tremendously supportive of my efforts, which I really appreciate. There are some organizations that tend to ignore their volunteers--not this one. I think the best thing about them is their genuine passion for their mission--they are out to help immigrants operate in America both culturally and linguistically, and I know the students view the Immigrant Learning Center as a safe haven where their beginning English skills are cultivated and not mocked, their work ethic is acknowledged, and their culture is respected, all while encouraging them to integrate in Boston's culture. I look forward to many years ahead of tutoring students for the ILC. A final note I'll add is that my work schedule changes periodically, which impacts when I can do tutoring, and the ILC has always been very understanding and accommodating of that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I was so excited to be a part of this great organization. The mission of the Immigrant Learning Center is an admirable one. It is amazing how nice and genuine everyone is, from the office staff to the teachers and other volunteers to the students, everyone is so welcoming from the moment they meet you. This was one of the most rewarding things I have done and would do it again in a heartbeat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I have deep admiration for the founders of this organization whose goals are to assist immigrants with their assimilation into American culture and to educate us on the contributions of immigrants to our society. I am proud to say that I have been a board member for many years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help foreign-born adults learn English as well as gain an understanding of the American culture by tutoring in a classroom under teacher supervision or one-on-one tutoring. Requires a weekly commitment. Volunteer