Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I was introduced to Imagination Theater through the Chicago Arts & Business Council. I was instantly drawn to the enthusiasm from the Artistic Director and other board members. I attended the public performance of "Take a Stand" on April 28, 2013 at the Adventure Stage in Chicago.
I was
extremely impressed by the performance and the degree to which the students participated.

Overall, I believe the Theater has some wonderful shows that many children (or students of all ages) would enjoy and appreciate. The programs present sensitive issues in a fun and interactive format, and I think there will always be a strong demand for these programs.

Although I just recently joined the Board, this has already been a very rewarding experience. I am excited about the opportunity to contribute to such a great organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

I was introduced to Imagination Theater through the Arts & Business Council of Chicago's OnBOARD program. Imagination Theater interested me due to some of my past volunteer experiences including a community organization focused on quality of life for seniors and a sexual assault survivor advocacy group. I had the opportunity to attend the "No Secrets" performance earlier this year and it was outstanding.

I draw inspiration and motivation from Imagination Theater’s mission to provide diverse audiences with original, dynamic, participatory theatrical programming that enhances well-being and creates a more civil, safe society. Imagination Theater is a leading non profit arts education organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I have been a board member of Imagination Theater for over a year. It is overwhelming the effect that the programs have on individual students. Empowering a child to stand up and admit abuse, whether parental or peer, is vital. I have also personally sponsored several senior programs at facilities throughout the city. As in the student performances, the senior programs engage the audience and address issues in a frank informal manner. I have chosen to donate my time and money beyond what is required as a board member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I was Board President for Imagination Theater in 2011 when I received a call from a principal at an elementary school in the Pilson neighborhood in Chicago. He called to inform me what an incredible impact our No Secrets (sexual abuse prevention) program had on their students. Basically, he explained that there were 2 sisters who were being abused by their stepfather at home and this program gave them the courage to step forward and meet with the social workers after the program. The principal was almost in tears explaining this story and was certain that these girls would not have been saved if it wasn't for Imagination Theater. This story gave me confirmation that my work on the Board through the years is truly making an positive impact on students in Chicago. I will never forget this story and it is, without a doubt, the most lasting memory I will have from serving on the Board. Aaron Bryant - Board Member

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

Imagination Theater is a 46-
year-old company that uses
interactive theater as a means to
explore social issues with its
audience members. It currently
features programs on sexual abuse
prevention, teasing and bullying
prevention, respect, diversity,
Internet safety
and AIDS/HIV
education and prevention. Its
programs serve children in
kindergarten through grade 12,
college students and adults.
My involvement
stemmed from my interest as a
parent in providing education to
kids in public schools on social and
health issues, which are not
necessarily part of today’s
curriculum, but are critical to a
child’s healthy and safe development.
The feedback from schools and programs of the positive impact our programs have on children is tremendously rewarding. Some children have been emboldened to share experiences of abuse and, as a result, gotten the help and support they need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers