Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

Imagination Theater is a staple of the elementary and middle school experience. I personally have witnessed the profound effect of their performances on students for the past 20 years! As a counselor in a K-5 school, I invited them to meet with our 2nd-5th grade students last school year, 2013-2014. Their performance was so impactful that the safety room was busy until the end of the school day. To this day, students still remember what they learned about how to stay safe in vulnerable situations. Theater, in general, is one of the most powerful tools for transforming the lives of all children. Let's continue supporting this valuable resource.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I am an 8th grade teacher and our students have greatly benefited from this program. Thank you!!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I am a counselor with Chicago Public Schools. I work with students with special needs ages 16-21. Many of the students I work with have a difficult time with self-advocacy and reporting instances of teasing, bullying, abuse, etc. Imagination Theater did an EXCELLENT job of modifying the performance to meet the needs of our students. The interactive nature of the program helped my students to better understand the topics that were being presented. The Imagination Theater performers do a wonderful job dealing with sensitive subjects and the support they provide to students and staff after the performance is outstanding. I highly recommend this program for all grade levels.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

Imagination Theater is a fantastic organization. We have had the privilege of presenting the "No Secrets" program to our students in K-4 the past two years. This program educates students in an entertaining, engaging, age-appropriate manner. All aspects of the program are professional and thorough - from the counselor training and teacher training, to the follow-up classroom visits. This program is invaluable to supporting schools in sexual abuse prevention. Imagination Theater deserves the utmost support!
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I'm a school social worker servicing students on the west side of Chicago. I am so grateful for the performance delivered by Imagination Theater, as well as the follow-up to address student and staff needs. They offered insightful and therapeutic information in a manner that was as entertaining as it was educational. I'm looking forward to working with Imagination Theater on future projects to address student needs. It was a pleasure.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

October 17, 2014



To Whom It May Concern,

It is with great pleasure that I write this letter in support of Imagination Theater and their prevention education programming.

Communities In Schools of Chicago (CIS of Chicago) works closely with 125 Chicago public
schools to connect social, emotional, health and enrichment services to students and their families. CIS of Chicago’s partner schools represent a diverse population of the city, including many immigrant and refugee families facing myriad cultural, social and financial challenges. In 2013-14, violence prevention was second in the areas of greatest need reported by CIS of Chicago partner schools. Providing prevention programs is critical for the health and safety of students.

For the past 14 years, CIS of Chicago has partnered with Imagination Theater to connect “No Secrets”, their sexual violence prevention education, to Chicago public schools. During the 2013-2014 school year, nearly 20 CIS of Chicago schools expressed a need for sexual assault prevention education for their students. Imagination Theater was able to serve over 5,400 students and is a key agency to provide this programming. Through their commitment to prevention education, Imagination Theater will make it possible for students to have the opportunity to learn about continue.

CIS of Chicago values Imagination Theater’s dedication to provide compassionate and quality sexual violence prevention education programming to students in Chicago. We look forward to a lasting partnership with Imagination Theater and hope they will be able to continue providing needed services to students in Chicago Public Schools.

Jane Mentzinger
Executive Director
September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I work as a school counselor for an inner city school. I started working with Imagination theater through a partnership we have with Communities in Schools. Imagination theater's purpose and objectives are so important for our students. They believe in and work to educate students on necessary real life skills that are life-saving. My students learn so much and I truly believe that this organization brings so much awareness to important issues. I would recommend them to any school. They are wonderful to work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!!! They are fantastic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a kindergarten teacher in a low income school in Chicago. Imagination theater is a vital and much needed organization that provides top notch programming for our students. They are organized, thoughtful, reflective and absolutely meet the needs of children that have been sexually abused , bullied or just aren't sure. Often, these children are afraid to tell adults when an incident has occurred that "makes you feel funny In your stomach". I am so impressed with the way they show an auditorium of children a fun, light hearted play, yet also show some heavier themes that students can identify with and the fact they provide a place for students to talk to a professional, if needed, and provide sessions in the classroom after the show that provide role-playing and extension activities proves their understanding of children and what is appropriate for their age.
I have taught for nine years in inner city schools, hold a Masters in Education and have my National Board Certification in Primary Education and can 100% endorse this organization. This program needs to be provided in many, many schools. Especially low income schools (like mine) that do not have funds for this superior type of programming. Thank you, Imagination Theater. You are one of the best non-profits for children. Your programming has not only given students at my school tools and strategies to talk about a "taboo" topic, you have provided me with resources and words to work with children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make this programming available to all students!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Engaging, age appropriate, relevant presentation that empowers students to say no to unwanted touches and to report incidents of unsafe touch. Teachers felt more comfortable having discussions with students about abuse and preventing abuse after the presentations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

improve sound system.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

It is my pleasure to write this in regards to Imagination Theater’s performance at my school, Southside Occupational High School. Southside is a 100% special education high school which serves students 16-21 years of age. Due to our students’ cognitive disabilities we are always looking for organizations that provide age appropriate material that is tailored to our students’ ability levels. Imagination Theater exemplifies an organization that is flexible and willing to modify the content of their performance to best serve the audience.

From our initial meeting with Ellen Cribbs, to the day of the performance, every interaction with Imagination Theater was professional, friendly, and informative. Imagination Theater worked closely with our curriculum coordinator and counseling department to tailor the performance for our students. Through this collaboration the performance included the appropriate accommodations and modifications that our students require.

The performance was a hit with students and staff. Students were engaged during the performance; volunteering, clapping, laughing, gasping, and sharing. The support on the day of the performance was excellent. The materials provided by Imagination Theater for parents and staff will allow Southside to continue the conversation in the weeks and months to come. We are grateful to have had such an excellent professional organization come to our school and educate our students. We look forward to continuing this relationship!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers