Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

During the spring of 2013, I was asked to volunteer for the Imagination Theater's Spring Fundraiser. The event was well-managed and organized and I was responsible for working the guest services desk throughout the evening.

It was exciting to note that those in attendance were enthusiastic
about Imagination Theater's work and they all seemed to enjoy the presentation highlighting the achievements of Imagination Theater and their work with Rape Victim Advocates in the children's sexual abuse program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

It is my pleasure to write this in regards to Imagination Theater’s performance at my school, Southside Occupational High School. Southside is a 100% special education high school which serves students 16-21 years of age. Due to our students’ cognitive disabilities we are always looking for organizations that provide age appropriate material that is tailored to our students’ ability levels. Imagination Theater exemplifies an organization that is flexible and willing to modify the content of their performance to best serve the audience.

From our initial meeting with Ellen Cribbs, to the day of the performance, every interaction with Imagination Theater was professional, friendly, and informative. Imagination Theater worked closely with our curriculum coordinator and counseling department to tailor the performance for our students. Through this collaboration the performance included the appropriate accommodations and modifications that our students require.

The performance was a hit with students and staff. Students were engaged during the performance; volunteering, clapping, laughing, gasping, and sharing. The support on the day of the performance was excellent. The materials provided by Imagination Theater for parents and staff will allow Southside to continue the conversation in the weeks and months to come. We are grateful to have had such an excellent professional organization come to our school and educate our students. We look forward to continuing this relationship!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Volunteering at the Imagination Theater Company has been an amazing experience. The work that this organization does to further education in the arts about social issues is outstanding. It is crucial for students to learn about what it means to communicate, be healthy as well as being able to learn about issues in a creative and safe manner. Imagination Theater provides students across the nation with the ability to learn about diversity, and what it means to be a part of a community in a civil manner. One of the best aspects of Imagination Theater is that their programming is offered to students of all ages from Kindergarten through college, incorporating more complex issues into their performances as years progress. I am personally very appreciative that Imagination Theater works in alliance with Rape Victim Advocates for their "No Secrets" programming offered to Junior High School students. The curriculum that is addressed in that performance are crucial for students to know as they become more comfortable with themselves, their environment and their bodies. Being a part of the Imagination Team this year will impact my life and decision making in the future as well as inspire me in all aspects of my life. So, thank you Imagination Theater for all of your hard work furthering education in Chicago and across the Nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

This is for the Arts Awards campaign. . Imagination Theater is absolutely wonderful! The performers create an environment that allows their audience to express freely w/o hesitation or reservation. The actors are able to create a comfortable setting for the seniors to share their own memories, tap into their imaginations, sing out proud and stron,g and experience an afternoon of joy and laughter, all while feeling as if they really are an integral part of the performance themselves. Our audience members are generally struggling w/serious and complex health issues, however when our patients receive a visit from Imagination Theater, it's evident that the benefits are seen a mile away, not only during the program, but also the rest of the day as well as the rest of their stay in the hosptial. Being a part of the experience provides so many advantages - seen and unseen. If permists the healthy part of the patients personality to emerge and continue to function, giving hope and determination to be well again. It helps to improve morale, self-exteem and deviop a feeling of belonging. Even patients w/dementia benefit as it allows them to reminisce and tap into the memories they have, offering stimulatation, personal ejoyment and life satisfaction. IT knows what they are doing. . they truly offer a therapeutic experience! Pam Murphy, RMT, AD

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Imagination Theater has been an amazing programming partners of Communities In Schools of Chicago (CISC) since 2001, providing much-needed sexual assault prevention education to thousands of Chicago Public School (CPS) students each year. Through its No Secrets program, Imagination Theatre teaches students about safe and unsafe touch through vignettes based on contemporary youth experiences – using words and a tone that students can understand and process. Imagination Theater is “real” with students without overburdening or overwhelming them with information. As important, the organization prepares school staff, engages audiences, and coordinates support for students who seek additional care around this challenging issue. CISC knows first-hand how passionate, accessible and fully committed to collaboration the Imagination Theatre staff is in its work. For example, Imagination Theater has teamed up with another organization, Rape Victims Advocates, to provide a safe place for students to talk about their experiences after seeing an Imagination Theatre performance. During the 2010-2011 school year, Imagination Theatre’s No Secrets program reached 7,140 students at 19 schools; more than 90 percent of the students and 85 percent of the schools were connected through CISC. Since Imagination Theater began working with CISC, it has reached more than 33,000 students at CISC partner schools. (Data for the 2011-2012 school year is being tallied now.) CISC so wholeheartedly endorses the work of Imagination Theatre that we honored the organization with our 2010 Al Ward Spirit of Giving Award for outstanding service to students and schools.

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Imagination Theater programs have helped our students over the years to learn ways in which to be respectful to each other. The actual modeling of behaviors with our students and reenacting scenarios give them hands on experience to provide solutions to problems that often occur at school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I have been a board member of Imagination Theater for over a year. It is overwhelming the effect that the programs have on individual students. Empowering a child to stand up and admit abuse, whether parental or peer, is vital. I have also personally sponsored several senior programs at facilities throughout the city. As in the student performances, the senior programs engage the audience and address issues in a frank informal manner. I have chosen to donate my time and money beyond what is required as a board member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I was Board President for Imagination Theater in 2011 when I received a call from a principal at an elementary school in the Pilson neighborhood in Chicago. He called to inform me what an incredible impact our No Secrets (sexual abuse prevention) program had on their students. Basically, he explained that there were 2 sisters who were being abused by their stepfather at home and this program gave them the courage to step forward and meet with the social workers after the program. The principal was almost in tears explaining this story and was certain that these girls would not have been saved if it wasn't for Imagination Theater. This story gave me confirmation that my work on the Board through the years is truly making an positive impact on students in Chicago. I will never forget this story and it is, without a doubt, the most lasting memory I will have from serving on the Board. Aaron Bryant - Board Member

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

In January 2001, Imagination Theater and I had a fateful meeting in cyberspace, which resulted in an amazing collaboration. The very talented and very engaging ensemble brought the guidance of my book, Easing the Teasing – Helping Your Child Cope with Name-Calling, Ridicule, and Verbal Bullying (McGraw-Hill) to life in their outstanding performances of Ease the Tease. Actors present dramatic scenarios and students are invited on stage to “ease the tease” using a variety of new skills, helping to build confidence they can draw upon if teasing occurs in the future. Ease the Tease continues to be one of the most popular shows. It is truly exciting to continue our partnership as the attention to bullying prevention is on the rise.

Judy S. Freedman, M.S.W., L.C.S.W.
Bullying Prevention Specialist

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Imagination Theater (IT) does amazing work with schools in Chicago talking with youth about safe and unsafe touch, healthy relationships, and sexual abuse. As an educator who works closely with IT, it's clear to me the positive impact the organization has on youth. Prior to the show, many youth were unclear about the difference between harassment and flirting. Others felt empowered to know they had a right to bodily autonomy - something youth are not often told. After the show, a safe room featuring counselors from our organization helps children who have experienced sexual abuse find help, with those who disclose often telling our counselors that they would not have come forward had it not been for Imagination Theater. IT does incredible work in Chicago to help prevent child sexual abuse, as well as gives survivors a way to get services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers