Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

I am a kindergarten teacher in a low income school in Chicago. Imagination theater is a vital and much needed organization that provides top notch programming for our students. They are organized, thoughtful, reflective and absolutely meet the needs of children that have been sexually abused , bullied or just aren't sure. Often, these children are afraid to tell adults when an incident has occurred that "makes you feel funny In your stomach". I am so impressed with the way they show an auditorium of children a fun, light hearted play, yet also show some heavier themes that students can identify with and the fact they provide a place for students to talk to a professional, if needed, and provide sessions in the classroom after the show that provide role-playing and extension activities proves their understanding of children and what is appropriate for their age.
I have taught for nine years in inner city schools, hold a Masters in Education and have my National Board Certification in Primary Education and can 100% endorse this organization. This program needs to be provided in many, many schools. Especially low income schools (like mine) that do not have funds for this superior type of programming. Thank you, Imagination Theater. You are one of the best non-profits for children. Your programming has not only given students at my school tools and strategies to talk about a "taboo" topic, you have provided me with resources and words to work with children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make this programming available to all students!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I was introduced to Imagination Theater through the Chicago Arts & Business Council. I was instantly drawn to the enthusiasm from the Artistic Director and other board members. I attended the public performance of "Take a Stand" on April 28, 2013 at the Adventure Stage in Chicago.
I was
extremely impressed by the performance and the degree to which the students participated.

Overall, I believe the Theater has some wonderful shows that many children (or students of all ages) would enjoy and appreciate. The programs present sensitive issues in a fun and interactive format, and I think there will always be a strong demand for these programs.

Although I just recently joined the Board, this has already been a very rewarding experience. I am excited about the opportunity to contribute to such a great organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I worked as an intern for Imagination for several months and had the most wonderful time! Steve, Derek, Jeremy and Bethany are incredibly friendly and organized. They believe in their work and their work is amazing! I had the opportunity to see several shows and the proof is in the kids. The students are consistently engaged, having fun and learning during the performances. I would recommended this organization as well as the internship to anyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I work as a school counselor for an inner city school. I started working with Imagination theater through a partnership we have with Communities in Schools. Imagination theater's purpose and objectives are so important for our students. They believe in and work to educate students on necessary real life skills that are life-saving. My students learn so much and I truly believe that this organization brings so much awareness to important issues. I would recommend them to any school. They are wonderful to work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!!! They are fantastic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

I was introduced to Imagination Theater through the Arts & Business Council of Chicago's OnBOARD program. Imagination Theater interested me due to some of my past volunteer experiences including a community organization focused on quality of life for seniors and a sexual assault survivor advocacy group. I had the opportunity to attend the "No Secrets" performance earlier this year and it was outstanding.

I draw inspiration and motivation from Imagination Theater’s mission to provide diverse audiences with original, dynamic, participatory theatrical programming that enhances well-being and creates a more civil, safe society. Imagination Theater is a leading non profit arts education organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Imagination Theater is doing a vital mission by going into schools and educating young students on essential skills, such as bullying prevention, making good choices, protecting themselves from sexual abuse, and developing healthy living skills. Their interactive approach draws students in and makes them a part of the learning experience. Their dedicated staff show a passion for the work they are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of any recommended changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Imagination Theater came to my school and provided training for myself and staff. A great deal of knowledge and information was provided. Teachers found it to be very effective. We then scheduled the play for our students who also appeared to have enjoyed and benefited from the play.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Engaging, age appropriate, relevant presentation that empowers students to say no to unwanted touches and to report incidents of unsafe touch. Teachers felt more comfortable having discussions with students about abuse and preventing abuse after the presentations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

improve sound system.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Imagination Theater came in conjunction with Rape Victim Advocates to educate our whole school population (K-8) on the prevention of sexual abuse. The presentation was engaging for the students and they liked the live theater aspect. In addition, the follow up provided by Rape Victim Advocates was useful as it enabled the children to speak out in regards to their specific traumatic situations (and should there be need, provide school counselors/school social workers with the opportunity to speak to a student individually who might not have reported the incident had they not seen the presentation).

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

During the spring of 2013, I was asked to volunteer for the Imagination Theater's Spring Fundraiser. The event was well-managed and organized and I was responsible for working the guest services desk throughout the evening.

It was exciting to note that those in attendance were enthusiastic
about Imagination Theater's work and they all seemed to enjoy the presentation highlighting the achievements of Imagination Theater and their work with Rape Victim Advocates in the children's sexual abuse program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers