Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

I am a kindergarten teacher in a low income school in Chicago. Imagination theater is a vital and much needed organization that provides top notch programming for our students. They are organized, thoughtful, reflective and absolutely meet the needs of children that have been sexually abused , bullied or just aren't sure. Often, these children are afraid to tell adults when an incident has occurred that "makes you feel funny In your stomach". I am so impressed with the way they show an auditorium of children a fun, light hearted play, yet also show some heavier themes that students can identify with and the fact they provide a place for students to talk to a professional, if needed, and provide sessions in the classroom after the show that provide role-playing and extension activities proves their understanding of children and what is appropriate for their age.
I have taught for nine years in inner city schools, hold a Masters in Education and have my National Board Certification in Primary Education and can 100% endorse this organization. This program needs to be provided in many, many schools. Especially low income schools (like mine) that do not have funds for this superior type of programming. Thank you, Imagination Theater. You are one of the best non-profits for children. Your programming has not only given students at my school tools and strategies to talk about a "taboo" topic, you have provided me with resources and words to work with children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make this programming available to all students!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

October 17, 2014



To Whom It May Concern,

It is with great pleasure that I write this letter in support of Imagination Theater and their prevention education programming.

Communities In Schools of Chicago (CIS of Chicago) works closely with 125 Chicago public
schools to connect social, emotional, health and enrichment services to students and their families. CIS of Chicago’s partner schools represent a diverse population of the city, including many immigrant and refugee families facing myriad cultural, social and financial challenges. In 2013-14, violence prevention was second in the areas of greatest need reported by CIS of Chicago partner schools. Providing prevention programs is critical for the health and safety of students.

For the past 14 years, CIS of Chicago has partnered with Imagination Theater to connect “No Secrets”, their sexual violence prevention education, to Chicago public schools. During the 2013-2014 school year, nearly 20 CIS of Chicago schools expressed a need for sexual assault prevention education for their students. Imagination Theater was able to serve over 5,400 students and is a key agency to provide this programming. Through their commitment to prevention education, Imagination Theater will make it possible for students to have the opportunity to learn about continue.

CIS of Chicago values Imagination Theater’s dedication to provide compassionate and quality sexual violence prevention education programming to students in Chicago. We look forward to a lasting partnership with Imagination Theater and hope they will be able to continue providing needed services to students in Chicago Public Schools.

Jane Mentzinger
Executive Director
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I had the pleasure of attending a performance of Imagination Theater as part of a Snowflake program at a local junior high school. "Performance" isn't the right word- it was an engaging, interactive experience for the students, and challenged them to see the world from each other's perspective. I was floored by the energy, the commitment, the willingness to "go there" on a range of topics. What absolutely stunned me though, were the reactions from the students. They participated enthusiastically, volunteered to role play in awkward situations and were genuinely receptive to the program.

I saw first-hand how Imagination Theater contributes to building stronger students. They teach and reinforce behaviors that enable students to cope individually with negative peer pressure and to act together to influence peer behavior in a positive way.

Bravo, Imagination Theater!
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

Imagination Theater is a wonderfully engaging and relevant organization. The topics that are addressed-- which include bullying, sexual abuse, and making good choices--are much needed for our youth today, and IT addresses the issues in a manner that is entertaining and participatory. If you work in a school, please check out this fantastic organization!
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

Imagination Theater is a great cause. Educating on important topics in an entertaining and engaging way.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Imagination Theater tackles difficult topics like sexual abuse and bullying in ways that not only entertain, but offer children the tools to cope and battle these problems.

It is a highly recommended service. Their contribution to community is valuable and long lasting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N.A.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I was introduced to Imagination Theater through the Chicago Arts & Business Council. I was instantly drawn to the enthusiasm from the Artistic Director and other board members. I attended the public performance of "Take a Stand" on April 28, 2013 at the Adventure Stage in Chicago.
I was
extremely impressed by the performance and the degree to which the students participated.

Overall, I believe the Theater has some wonderful shows that many children (or students of all ages) would enjoy and appreciate. The programs present sensitive issues in a fun and interactive format, and I think there will always be a strong demand for these programs.

Although I just recently joined the Board, this has already been a very rewarding experience. I am excited about the opportunity to contribute to such a great organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I worked as an intern for Imagination for several months and had the most wonderful time! Steve, Derek, Jeremy and Bethany are incredibly friendly and organized. They believe in their work and their work is amazing! I had the opportunity to see several shows and the proof is in the kids. The students are consistently engaged, having fun and learning during the performances. I would recommended this organization as well as the internship to anyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I work as a school counselor for an inner city school. I started working with Imagination theater through a partnership we have with Communities in Schools. Imagination theater's purpose and objectives are so important for our students. They believe in and work to educate students on necessary real life skills that are life-saving. My students learn so much and I truly believe that this organization brings so much awareness to important issues. I would recommend them to any school. They are wonderful to work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!!! They are fantastic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

I was introduced to Imagination Theater through the Arts & Business Council of Chicago's OnBOARD program. Imagination Theater interested me due to some of my past volunteer experiences including a community organization focused on quality of life for seniors and a sexual assault survivor advocacy group. I had the opportunity to attend the "No Secrets" performance earlier this year and it was outstanding.

I draw inspiration and motivation from Imagination Theater’s mission to provide diverse audiences with original, dynamic, participatory theatrical programming that enhances well-being and creates a more civil, safe society. Imagination Theater is a leading non profit arts education organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers