Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
July 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This production is a flume ride through the imagination of one of the most creative minds today, the powerful delivery will curl your toes. Also, be ready to crave some sand beneath your feet. This is trully worthy of a screenplay someday and has the elements of a powerful cast that can deliver the impact that will keep you on the edge of your seat! The life and times of Omar Ibn Sayyid is possibly one of the greatest untold stories of today!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen the performance of The Life and Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid on four different occasions. Each performance was unique and very special. I never felt like I had already seen the production. I was captivated each time. I have seen the performance of Muhammad Ali ibn Sayyid -292 United States Colored Troops only once and thoroughly enjoyed it also. I would see both of these performance again if given the opportunity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The performances portraying the lives of Umar Ibn Sayyid and Muhammad Ibn Sayyid give an entirely new perspective on the struggles faced by people who strived to maintain their identities through ensalvement and hope to those who continue to struggle to this day. A great lesson is despite their circumstances, they fought to maintain their Islamic and African identities - a struggle many of us face everyday in our lives. These individuals who wrote their own autobiographies, through faith and education made a mark on society during their lifetime and continue to inspire us to this day. The performances are very emotional and captivating.

Aliou Sylla

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I didn't know what to expect. Outstanding both performances! Very well done. Held my attention throughout. I had to leave before Mr Kenya act finished but my son and his 7 year old daughter stayed. She said she really enjoyed the show. Look forward take my other grandchildren when the opportunity arises again. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The performances given were riveting and left me in awe! This is a must see for everyone to learn a very important part of American history as well as black and other cultures that were involved in the slave trade. You walk away from this show with a sense of self awareness and a feeling that there is always something to learn and through the grace of G-D , man's willingness to not only survive, but to overcome the many obstacles we face everyday.
Wali Bilal

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a high school teacher in sn urban school system, i found the performance very useful for my students. They needed to connect with their history in a meaningful way. The live re-enactments enable them to engage in the experiences and relate to the struggles of peoples of color. They were able to see themselves in the performance. I hope this interactive theater can become a part of the urban educational curriculum.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more performances

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Images of the Motherland provided riveting performances that bring history to life in powerful ways. On June 21, 2014 I attended a performance by one of the case members who vividly, passionately portrayed the experiences of a young man from Africa who was captured at age 16 by slavers who sent him not to America, but to the Middle East. It was fascinating to follow the story of this young man as he fought to hold onto his sense of his identity and proud heritages amidst the vicissitudes of his many years in bondage.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was Blessed and pleased to be in attendance at Saturday, February 22, 2014. performances. These performances were spiritual, educational and inspiritational. The portrayals were heartfelt and put you in the time and space of the actual events. The team that was assembled for the performances acted out their parts with much knowledge, passion and ownership in their roles. The performers and performances appealed to audiences of a variety of religious, racial, cultural and age groups.

The quiz, question and answer portions added more understanding and clarity. Additionally, it offered opportunities for audience interaction and participation. I was very pleased to see the enthusiasm from the children. Their attentiveness and knowledge they gained proved worthy in this segment of the program.

The artifacts were awesome and brought about an another feeling of authenticity.

I'm very interest in sponsoring this performances to an audience as well.

Shukran (Thank You),

PS: Continue with the funding. This is an excellent approach to to educationing and bring people together.

Congrats to the performers!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

On Saturday, February 22,2014... I had the pleasure attending the African American History collaborative program held in Philadelphia . The mini exhibit was informative...and it was nice to see the artifacts. The dramatic presentation was very realistic, precise, and information. A little long in terms of being able to hold the attention of younger children in attendance who did not fully understand what was going on. However, the question and answer session allowed a dialogue free from criticism...and even more enlightenment. I arrived "early" and was not aware that out of respect for the Mosque that this would Aldo coincide with new day prayer...thus delaying the 12 noon start. I was not able to stay the full 8 hours....I'm uncertain if the remainder of the program/presentation was a little more interactive which would have been beneficial to those with different learning styles. Excellent collaboration...impressive advertising. Perhaps, have a greeter on the door to welcome people and answer questions about the program etc.,

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I couldn't stay for the entire performance, but what I saw was most enlightening. Often times slaves that were brought to the Americas were portrayed as ignorant beings, with little to no information about who they were before they were brought from Africa. For it to be a one-man show, I thought the performance was captivating and really painted a vivid picture of this man's life. I felt like I was there! Great job!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions at this time.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Workload assignments based on 4 Program assignments.