Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
July 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 26, 2013

The programs associated with Images of the Motherland were extraordinarily dramatic and informative. I learned a lot and as a professional with expertise in the field i was very impressed. KUDOS! more

July 15, 2014

THE LIFE & TIMES OF OMAR IBN SAYYID IS AN EXCELLENT THEATRICAL DEPICTION - A MUST SEE FOR ALL!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

GREAT AS IS

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The programs associated with Images of the Motherland were extraordinarily dramatic and informative.
I learned a lot and as a professional with expertise in the field i was very impressed. KUDOS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

the programs were perfect

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Images of the Motherland Interactive Theater is exactly what the African American Community in particular, and the nation in general needs. Images of the Motherland Interactive Theater is educational, entertaining and significant. The productions are highly professional and produced with great care to detail. The productions reach persons of all ages, educational and racial backgrounds. Every community should be blessed to have such a wonderful theater experience to take advantage of.

Pastor, Nathaniel J. Gadsden
Imani African Christian Church
Harrisburg, PA

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Many thanks to you and your wife for your presentation and display! Given the uncertainty of audiences for programs that do not require an RSVP, I was pleased with the number of people we were able to get – almost of all of whom stayed for the entire presentation. I appreciate the ways that you connect with the audience by stepping off stage and moving into their space, as well as the playful non-verbal banter you had with the children in the audience. Your physical presence – throwing your whole body into everything that you do, especially when no words were spoken - also lent much to the performance! And as an educator, I appreciated your use of repetition to help certain facts and words stick in people’s minds. Finally - particularly given the political climate in which we live, and what can appear to be the erasure of Islam and Muslims in early black American experiences - I am so pleased that this performance introduces audiences to a real figure who was intelligent, accomplished, a sympathetic figure, and Muslim.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

IMAGES OF THE MOTHERLAND is an "OUTSTANDING" interactive production company. From the costumes, singing, dancing, musicianship, and acting, all are on equal ground when it comes to perfection!

Everyone should see this show. It's storytelling at it's best.

ZUHAIRAH
MCGILL
FOUNDER/ PRODUCING ARTISTIC DIRECTOR
FIRST WORLD THEATRE ENSEMBLE

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was honored that Brother Kenya asked me to write the Lesson Plans for the Lives of Omar Sayyid, & Prince Ibrahim. I learned so much about these gentlemen, & as a muslim myself I did not know that some slaves retained their faith. I think that Brother Ahmed does such an outstanding job portraying Brother Sayyid. That becomes Omar, not just an actor portraying. I encourage everyone to see this production.It is truly a learning experience

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am thrilled to have experienced your enactment of “The Life and Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid”. Much more than an oral account or a background narrative this was truly an “experience” that carried your audience to a time, place, circumstance and frame of mind in the second and sometimes first person, making this a deeply vivid and affective journey for the audience. What I also found impressive and facilitating from an educational standpoint was your success in interjecting a running geographical and chronological context to make the presentation most informative, while providing this information unobtrusively. As a professional teacher with an abiding respect for the authentic historical account, and a state department of education mandate to incorporate a pertinent cultural/historical framework into instruction I would recommend this presentation to any seriously interested social, cultural or educational body or institution.
Sincerely,
Haazim Muneer
Science Teacher
Trenton Central High School

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have proudly known, worked, and associated with Images of the Motherland for almost ten years. As a professional actor, writer, director, I have experienced first-hand all of the long hours and hard work founder and artistic director Ahmed Kenya had put into his productions. The company had produced many original plays such as "Tales of The Dogon", "Songhai", "The Life and Tiimes of Omar ibn Sayiid", and others. The productions are rich with history and education for all cultural backgrounds. Kenya is meticulous with authenticity of costumes, instruments, paintings, down to every detail. The overall theme of all Images of the Motherland is education and authenticity. You would have to see it to be me amazed.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Kenya spares no details about authenticity of costumes, instruments, and culture. You would walk away with an education on some aspect of African history.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund them to see how much more creative this organization can get.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Authenticity, meticulous to historical details, performance driven.

May 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Executive Director of this wonderful organization leaves no stone unturned, when it comes to presenting an educational, and diverse production. This organization's tireless efforts to educate the community about diversity is impressive, and they deserve to be recognized for their efforts, and accomplishments.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Workload assignments based on 4 Program assignments.