Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Ahmed Kenya's performace in "The Life and Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid" is a tour de force as he transforms into a 19th Century slave. His authenticity and attention to both the period and mood of such an agonizing experience can be felt far after the performance. Ahmed Kenya's performace held the audience spellbound as he retraced the steps of a captured and then runaway slave in search of a better existence. I would highly recommend this production to any and every student of American History
with an eye toward understanding the disconnect that prevails concerning this misunderstood and often ignored segment of the "Black Experience." This was truly an englightening experience that opens the door for a more complete examination of the nature and difficulties of the slave's existence in America.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a college librarian, and I helped my county's local history museum plan, promote, and present "The Life & Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid." The performance was outstanding as both education and entertainment. Ahmad Kenya did much more than give a voice to the character he portrayed, he also created a genuine human connection between the audience and a "living" personality from the past.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a brief note about how we of Trenton, New Jersey enjoyed the presentation of the "Life & Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid". This program has been presented to the Community of Trenton on two different occaswionsw and on both occasions has been received with great enthusiasm. Ahmad Kenya does a presentation that is filled with such joy and emotion and the response from the audience is one of awe. The presentation and the historical content is something we should all have knowledge of, especially the children. Mr. Kenya's educational workshop "Timbuktu African Artifacts Exhibit & Workshop" that takes place after the performance as well as his artifacts display needs to be seen by all. It is with great pleasue that I express these few words about a performance and a performer that I personally can watch many times over. I pray that this perfomance is seen by many, many more communities in our aa and across the country. Hajji Imam Dr. Abdul-Malik R. Ali, Resident Imam, Masjidut-Taqwa, Trenton, N.J.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed the performance on "The Life and Times of Omar Ibn Said," a riveting dramatization and discussion led by Ahmad Kenya of Images of the Motherland. This performance is educational, inspirational, and motivational, and great to use as a supplement to classroom instruction on enslaved Africans in the Americas. Kenya's portrayal of Said, an enslaved African in the United States born around 1765 in Futa Toro, in what today is Senegal, brings this African Muslim spirit to the present in a way that captivates audiences of all ages and backgrounds. Prof. M. Naeem Nash, Director, Africana Studies Program, Essex County College

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Ahmed Kenya and the Living History Heritage Project have performed at our musem America's Islamic Heritage Museum several times, with sold out audiences. His profound and enlightening re-inactments have kept audiences mesmerized. We have thoroughly enjoyed Mr. Kenya projects at our museum for years. And shall continue to invite him to perform. May he have much continued success. We vote yes, yes, yes to giving Mr. Kenya the 2012 award.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Workload assignments based on 4 Program assignments.