Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

“Muhammad Ali ibn Sayyid-292 United States Colored Troops” & “The Life & Times of Omar ibn Sayyid”

Survival is itself a condition that runs throughout the human race; it is not something a particular race, ethnicity or culture, for example, can solely lay claim too. But what can be laid
claim too are the experiences Muhammad Ali ibn Sayyid and Omar ibn Sayyid underwent. A veiled history exists and we need such performances to acknowledge people who are more than "other". And in doing so, the performances leave you with a sense of empowerment as the audience experiences who these men were before and during slavery.

Tanya Andrious

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The very first time I heard of Images of The Motherland I was intrigued. As an older African American and a child of the Sixties, African American history has been crucial in formalizing my world view. These performances are factual, informative and extremely interesting. I watched the younger people in the audience, to get a sense of the impact of Mr. Kenya's portrayal of Omar Ibn Sayyid would have on them. The children appeared fascinated by the dramatic acting of Mr. Kenya, and at the conclusion asked some very good questions. As a Social Worker in the Philadelphia area I understand how impressionable young minds are. In today's climate of rapid fire news (if it bleeds it leads mentality), sit-coms and sports dominated entertainment our children are left lacking true intellectual stimulation. I commend Mr. Kenya for his vision! Thank you.
Roland Sharpe

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

i had a most amazing experience on saturday, oct. 5th, when baba kenya completely transformed into omar ibn sayid on stage at the pa state museum. his passion as an artist became that of a man who longed for freedom and home. i was totally convinced that we were given a 1 hour 15 minute glimpse of omar's life. the use of the original languages and cultural behaviors was phenomenal also!...a must see by everyone, would love to see it over and over again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

join!...i need to be some part of this journey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2012

February of this year (2012) I took my 8 year old daughter to see the production of The Life and Times O Omar Ibn Sayyed. We both enjoyed the production. She learned much which was my goal to intro... more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The production of Emancipation Proclamation Jubilee was a very informative and educational event. My 10 year old daughter enjoyed the program and asked and answered questions. The historian was very knowledgeable. Thanks and much success to all involved

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

February of this year (2012) I took my 8 year old daughter to see the production of The Life and Times O Omar Ibn Sayyed. We both enjoyed the production. She learned much which was my goal to introduce her to a past that would hopefully impact her future. For me the production was a reminder of yesterday and how much further we have a a people to progress. Brother Ahmed Kenya is an outstanding artist. I have recommended the production to others to see as well. A friend of mind went to see the production and was so happy that I told her about it. She absolutely loved it! Thank you Images of the Motherland Interactive theater for bringing such a beautiful and educational production to life. rahmah

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What I feel I love best about Images of the Motherland Interactive Theatre and its Living History Heritage Project, it pushes Americans to take a world view, to view history outside of America and Europe. While, taking this unexpected journey, one realizes the familiarity of the human. Their work is so important as well as extremely entertaining.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Peace & Greetings! A great and moving performance by Ahmad Kenya, portaying the role of Sayyid Ibn Omar a honorable human being with a remarkable story to share wuth the world and community. This dynamic Interactive voice is a treasure to the human spirit and moves emotions to a transcending level of spirituality!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Life & Times of Omar ibn Sayyid was a wonderful show. The cast was very good as was the story. I think in this day and age we need to teach anti-violence as Images of the Motherland does. This is a must see for all ages.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Workload assignments based on 4 Program assignments.