Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.820515
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Images of the Motherland Interactive Theater is an extraordinary production company. They have incredible performances, with outstanding singing, dancing and amazing costumes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

THIS IS A MUST SEE FOR THE WORLD. SEE, SHARE AND EXPLODE THIS ACROSS THE UNIVERSE. THIS ORGANIZATION HAS A TREMENDOUS IMPACT ON ALL LIVES.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

IMAGES OF THE MOTHERLAND is an "OUTSTANDING" interactive production company. From the costumes, singing, dancing, musicianship, and acting, all are on equal ground when it comes to perfection!

Everyone should see this show. It's storytelling at it's best.

ZUHAIRAH
MCGILL
FOUNDER/ PRODUCING ARTISTIC DIRECTOR
FIRST WORLD THEATRE ENSEMBLE

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

My son and I had an opportunity to see the "The Life and Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid" a short time ago. My son is 7yrs. old, I make this point because it provides context to how riveting the performance was! He was attentive throughout, asking questions, and intrigued by the environment. The play was insightful, with a superb performance by brother Kenya! I was pleasantly surprised with the depth of the performance; appreciative of the effort it takes to keep people engaged without the modern day bells and whistles. You could hear a pen drop throughout the performance. This play could be seen in the Kennedy Center, and I will continue to advocate its excellence to all those I come across. Best, R. Byrd

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2012

more

June 17, 2012

This is a brief note about how we of Trenton, New Jersey enjoyed the presentation of the "Life & Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid". This program has been presented to the Community of Trenton on two different occaswionsw and on both occasions has been received with great enthusiasm. Ahmad Kenya does a presentation that is filled with such joy and emotion and the response from the audience is one of awe. The presentation and the historical content is something we should all have knowledge of, especially the children. Mr. Kenya's educational workshop "Timbuktu African Artifacts Exhibit & Workshop" that takes place after the performance as well as his artifacts display needs to be seen by all. It is with great pleasue that I express these few words about a performance and a performer that I personally can watch many times over. I pray that this perfomance is seen by many, many more communities in our aa and across the country. Hajji Imam Dr. Abdul-Malik R. Ali, Resident Imam, Masjidut-Taqwa, Trenton, N.J.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

I was honored that Brother Kenya asked me to write the Lesson Plans for the Lives of Omar Sayyid, & Prince Ibrahim. I learned so much about these gentlemen, & as a muslim myself I did not know that some slaves retained their faith. I think that Brother Ahmed does such an outstanding job portraying Brother Sayyid. That becomes Omar, not just an actor portraying. I encourage everyone to see this production.It is truly a learning experience

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

Peace & Greetings! A great and moving performance by Ahmad Kenya, portaying the role of Sayyid Ibn Omar a honorable human being with a remarkable story to share wuth the world and community. This dynamic Interactive voice is a treasure to the human spirit and moves emotions to a transcending level of spirituality!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I am thrilled to have experienced your enactment of “The Life and Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid”. Much more than an oral account or a background narrative this was truly an “experience” that carried your audience to a time, place, circumstance and frame of mind in the second and sometimes first person, making this a deeply vivid and affective journey for the audience. What I also found impressive and facilitating from an educational standpoint was your success in interjecting a running geographical and chronological context to make the presentation most informative, while providing this information unobtrusively. As a professional teacher with an abiding respect for the authentic historical account, and a state department of education mandate to incorporate a pertinent cultural/historical framework into instruction I would recommend this presentation to any seriously interested social, cultural or educational body or institution.
Sincerely,
Haazim Muneer
Science Teacher
Trenton Central High School

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The Life & Times of Omar ibn Sayyid was a wonderful show. The cast was very good as was the story. I think in this day and age we need to teach anti-violence as Images of the Motherland does. This is a must see for all ages.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the performance on "The Life and Times of Omar Ibn Said," a riveting dramatization and discussion led by Ahmad Kenya of Images of the Motherland. This performance is educational, inspirational, and motivational, and great to use as a supplement to classroom instruction on enslaved Africans in the Americas. Kenya's portrayal of Said, an enslaved African in the United States born around 1765 in Futa Toro, in what today is Senegal, brings this African Muslim spirit to the present in a way that captivates audiences of all ages and backgrounds. Prof. M. Naeem Nash, Director, Africana Studies Program, Essex County College

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Workload assignments based on 4 Program assignments.