Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.820515
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

As Salaam Alaikum,

I finally got a chance to see the play on Omar and it was great. It also was emotional and it had a lot of history. The history lesson was great and it brought us up to the current times with the history. The 150 years is a lifetime of changes our country has gone
through and we are still learning everyday. I look forward to see the on act on July 6 and know this will be a great experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any chances because the information is universal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

I am familiar with Omar Ibn Sayyid but but after viewing the dramatic play I have a new And improve idea of this scholar's story. It was very profound and enlightening. I will love to see it again and I would bring as much people as I can to receive the history of our country. The actor of the program was excellent and illuminating. Thank you and may peace be bestow on you

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2012

February of this year (2012) I took my 8 year old daughter to see the production of The Life and Times O Omar Ibn Sayyed. We both enjoyed the production. She learned much which was my goal to intro... more

June 14, 2013

The production of Emancipation Proclamation Jubilee was a very informative and educational event. My 10 year old daughter enjoyed the program and asked and answered questions. The historian was very knowledgeable. Thanks and much success to all involved

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

February of this year (2012) I took my 8 year old daughter to see the production of The Life and Times O Omar Ibn Sayyed. We both enjoyed the production. She learned much which was my goal to introduce her to a past that would hopefully impact her future. For me the production was a reminder of yesterday and how much further we have a a people to progress. Brother Ahmed Kenya is an outstanding artist. I have recommended the production to others to see as well. A friend of mind went to see the production and was so happy that I told her about it. She absolutely loved it! Thank you Images of the Motherland Interactive theater for bringing such a beautiful and educational production to life. rahmah

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

The Emancipation Proclaimation Jubilee event was good. I especially enjoyed the Frederick Douglas reenactment. The information was great, it supported what I have read about frederick Douglas. I also enjoyed the Black soldiers presentation. This is a powerful event especially for our youth. Look forward to seeing it again next year.

Asante Sana

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

The Emancipation Proclamation Jubilee the weekend of June 1st and 2nd was superbly presented. All the presenters were simply outstanding. The information presented was informative and insightful into the times and what was going on at the time that the Emancipation Proclamation was being considered.

The reenacters (I consider impersonators) really projected the spirits of the persons they were portraying. I enjoyed them so much, I did not want their presentations to end.

I want to Thank the sponsors for making the Emancipation Proclamation Jubilee possible. The DVD, Prince among Slaves and the Teacher's Guide on the Civil War were very special gifts to attendees. As an Executive Director of a Nonprofit, I will use the DVD. I have been asked to show it on June 22, 2013 to a group discussing African American Culture.

Again, I was truly entertained and informed by attending the Jubilee.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no suggestions, it is grounded and directed perfectly

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 28, 2013

more

February 28, 2013

I had the pleasure of experiencing the journey. Ahmed Kenya gets into the character and you can feel the essence of what Ibn Omar Sayyid went through. His performance is worthy of being seen over and over again. There were children in the audience ages ranging from 5 to 13 that were also mesmerized. Thank you Ahmed Kenya!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2013

more

February 22, 2013

Ahmed Kenya's performace in "The Life and Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid" is a tour de force as he transforms into a 19th Century slave. His authenticity and attention to both the period and mood of such an agonizing experience can be felt far after the performance. Ahmed Kenya's performace held the audience spellbound as he retraced the steps of a captured and then runaway slave in search of a better existence. I would highly recommend this production to any and every student of American History
with an eye toward understanding the disconnect that prevails concerning this misunderstood and often ignored segment of the "Black Experience." This was truly an englightening experience that opens the door for a more complete examination of the nature and difficulties of the slave's existence in America.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012

more

December 17, 2012

I am a college librarian, and I helped my county's local history museum plan, promote, and present "The Life & Times of Omar Ibn Sayyid." The performance was outstanding as both education and entertainment. Ahmad Kenya did much more than give a voice to the character he portrayed, he also created a genuine human connection between the audience and a "living" personality from the past.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

What I feel I love best about Images of the Motherland Interactive Theatre and its Living History Heritage Project, it pushes Americans to take a world view, to view history outside of America and Europe. While, taking this unexpected journey, one realizes the familiarity of the human. Their work is so important as well as extremely entertaining.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

This company is fantastic. It's so much more than entertainment, it's a dynamic and interactive learning experience. Everyone, young and old and all colors of the rainbow should experience their performances, Timbuktu exhibit, and not only learn world and American history, but realize our common humanity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Workload assignments based on 4 Program assignments.