Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.820515
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
February 26, 2014

more

February 26, 2014

I was Blessed and pleased to be in attendance at Saturday, February 22, 2014. performances. These performances were spiritual, educational and inspiritational. The portrayals were heartfelt and put you in the time and space of the actual events. The team that was assembled for the performances acted out their parts with much knowledge, passion and ownership in their roles. The performers and performances appealed to audiences of a variety of religious, racial, cultural and age groups.

The quiz, question and answer portions added more understanding and clarity. Additionally, it offered opportunities for audience interaction and participation. I was very pleased to see the enthusiasm from the children. Their attentiveness and knowledge they gained proved worthy in this segment of the program.

The artifacts were awesome and brought about an another feeling of authenticity.

I'm very interest in sponsoring this performances to an audience as well.

Shukran (Thank You),

PS: Continue with the funding. This is an excellent approach to to educationing and bring people together.

Congrats to the performers!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

On Saturday, February 22,2014... I had the pleasure attending the African American History collaborative program held in Philadelphia . The mini exhibit was informative...and it was nice to see the artifacts. The dramatic presentation was very realistic, precise, and information. A little long in terms of being able to hold the attention of younger children in attendance who did not fully understand what was going on. However, the question and answer session allowed a dialogue free from criticism...and even more enlightenment. I arrived "early" and was not aware that out of respect for the Mosque that this would Aldo coincide with new day prayer...thus delaying the 12 noon start. I was not able to stay the full 8 hours....I'm uncertain if the remainder of the program/presentation was a little more interactive which would have been beneficial to those with different learning styles. Excellent collaboration...impressive advertising. Perhaps, have a greeter on the door to welcome people and answer questions about the program etc.,

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I couldn't stay for the entire performance, but what I saw was most enlightening. Often times slaves that were brought to the Americas were portrayed as ignorant beings, with little to no information about who they were before they were brought from Africa. For it to be a one-man show, I thought the performance was captivating and really painted a vivid picture of this man's life. I felt like I was there! Great job!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions at this time.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

i had a most amazing experience on saturday, oct. 5th, when baba kenya completely transformed into omar ibn sayid on stage at the pa state museum. his passion as an artist became that of a man who longed for freedom and home. i was totally convinced that we were given a 1 hour 15 minute glimpse of omar's life. the use of the original languages and cultural behaviors was phenomenal also!...a must see by everyone, would love to see it over and over again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

join!...i need to be some part of this journey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

Many thanks to you and your wife for your presentation and display! Given the uncertainty of audiences for programs that do not require an RSVP, I was pleased with the number of people we were able to get – almost of all of whom stayed for the entire presentation. I appreciate the ways that you connect with the audience by stepping off stage and moving into their space, as well as the playful non-verbal banter you had with the children in the audience. Your physical presence – throwing your whole body into everything that you do, especially when no words were spoken - also lent much to the performance! And as an educator, I appreciated your use of repetition to help certain facts and words stick in people’s minds. Finally - particularly given the political climate in which we live, and what can appear to be the erasure of Islam and Muslims in early black American experiences - I am so pleased that this performance introduces audiences to a real figure who was intelligent, accomplished, a sympathetic figure, and Muslim.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2013

more

July 26, 2013

The programs associated with Images of the Motherland were extraordinarily dramatic and informative.
I learned a lot and as a professional with expertise in the field i was very impressed. KUDOS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

the programs were perfect

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I was extremely pleased with your program. It appealed to the youth and adults alike. Very informative and captivating. Thank you for all of the effort put into creating such a wonderful program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 14, 2013

more

July 14, 2013

I was honored to have an opportunity to bring together myself, friends, family and children from the neighborhood to enjoy this informative event. I was amused of the wealth of information and wish I would have planned to stay longer. As soon as I read your flyer, I knew we had to be there. Sadly, In Camden, NJ we don't have programs with African American history that we can share with our children. I honestly believe history and culture is missing from youth and young adults today. I wish we could find a way to promote this program across the bridge. The information was so captive that I'm yearning for more knowledge myself. I enjoyed every moment of it. Please continue to education and inform. Would love to see a program in Camden at one of our historical sites for instance (Historical Society).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to experience the extraordinary production of Omar Ibn Sayid and Sojourner Truth at the Historical Theater in German Town, Philadelphia, Pa. The production was riveting! The actors were so passionate in their delivery. We literally transposed into the depictive period. Equally important, was the ambiance of the historical theater and its relativity to the narration. Fascinating! The production presented an interactive educational experience we will never forget. I will recommend this production to others. Thank You.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

As Salaam Alaikum

The Emancipation Proclamation Jubilee was a captivating and informative production. I believe that these types of events should be seen often, because it helps build self awareness and esteem in our children, families and our neighborhoods.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes. I believe that the production was wonderful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Workload assignments based on 4 Program assignments.