Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.763165
Write A Review
October 20, 2009

more

October 20, 2009

Simhat Torah at IKAR was incredible. It reminded me that the Jewish community is not dying. We are not disappearing, we just need to be met at a place that is comfortable and challenging. You have found that crux and I am so thankful for it. It was a very special night, but then again most days at IKAR are very special.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

their enthusiasm about Judaism. They don't shy away from being Jewish in exchange for bringing people in.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 17, 2009

more

October 17, 2009

My family is so fortunate to have found Ikar. We begin every weekend by going together on Saturday mornings. The day starts with an inspirational joint session with the whole community. Then children go to religious school and parents participate in services and adult programming, followed by a kiddish lunch. Our school director is a treasure. It is a wonderful routine to wake up to on Saturday. My kids love Judaism, religious school, Shabbat and holidays. Everyone knows my children's names at Ikar and it is a 2nd home for them.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind, sincere, passionate, hard working, and genuine.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 17, 2009

more

October 17, 2009

I am a proud, engaged Jew thanks to Ikar. I like to be there. My children like to be there. It's our family's second home. And the Rabbi challenges me to be a better person. It's part of the fabric of my life.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Engage the majority of disaffected Jews in the city.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 17, 2009

more

October 17, 2009

I honestly didn't know it could be like this. I was looking for a place for my kids and realized there could be something in it for me, too. I'm constantly challenged, in a good way.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Dedicated, thoughtful, and helpful.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Expand its vision to other cities and countries.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 15, 2009

more

October 15, 2009

My husband, my 86 year old father from England, and I came to LA last week with the sole purpose of sharing an IKAR Yom Kippur. Our daughter had told us how amazing it was and we really wanted to experience it for ourselves. There were many times during the 25 hours that I personally was so moved. To mention just a few – Rabbi Sharon’s explanation of Unsaneh Tokef really resonated with me. Being able to stand in front of the ark at Neilah was particularly wonderful. My grandfather always had the honour of opening the ark and standing by it at neilah and as a female, growing up in an orthodox community I never thought I would have that opportunity. When we came into the service on Kol Nidre the atmosphere, with the humming was magical and the feeling continued for the whole 25 hours. Reading through the Minyan Tzedek literature was so awesome. Ikar has an extraordinary Rabbi, and an incredible group of people who have created something so very special.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

do such good things to help people become more spiritual, and also to encourage those people to give of themselves to the wider world. The ripples spread out and out in so many directions. This really is a gift of an organisation that keeps on giving.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 12, 2009

more

October 12, 2009

Do you remember those overzealous friends in High School that ran for student government? The speeches that started off with: "If I am elected Senior Class President, I will ensure that there are vending machines in every classroom. You've got my word - There will be NO homework on weekends and NO school on Fridays!" Even then nobody really believed that could happen - but we appreciated the thought! IKAR is like that dream - turned reality! When Rabbi Brous and the amazing founders of this community began their quest to establish a vibrant a, they dreamed big and made those seemingly ludicrous promises a reality! If you're looking for a welcoming and vibrant place to call your Jewish home - IKAR is it! If you have become increasingly disconnected from your Judaism and still have nightmares of the horrific place we all remember as "Hebrew School" - fret no more! THIS AIN'T YOUR BUBBE'S JUDAISM!! Come check it out - you won't be disappointed!

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 8, 2009

more

October 8, 2009

I am a Second Generation Angeleno. My family has always been involved in Jewish and Jewish Family life. I, like many, as an adult went from temple to temple searching for the perfect fit. My kids turned me on to Ikar more than four years ago. I came and new by the first shabbat this was the place for me. The services reminded me of the incredible experiences I had at Camp Ramah in Ojai in my youth. I cannot express in words how Rabbi Brous' words elevate my spirit and soul. May she always be blessed with the great strength, wisdom and compassion she now commands. Cantor Hillel Tigay is rapsodic in his singing. Everyone attached to Ikar is magnificent. Guess I'm home.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Build it's own Shul and be a major force in "tikkun olam".... probably make peace in Israel possible.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers