Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
202 Reviews
1234.742575
Write A Review
November 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 12, 2012

IFAW undertakes a brilliant combination of lots of effective work at the grassroots level (eg marine mammal stranding network on Cape Cod, saving wildlife parks in Kenya), and all the clever internati... more

November 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

IFAW has many years of experience finding the best ways to make sustainable improvements for creatures. Its accumulated knowledge and dedication leads to the most powerful and profound approach of any organization.

As well as helping individual creatures, IFAW helps the people around
them appreciate the value of those creatures by leading culture change that ties the success of the communities to the success of the creatures.

Above that IFAW works on the government, market, law enforcement and educational contexts that create positive forces for the success of all species. What it learns in one area helps influence what it does better in another area. This holistic approach is making great progress.

There is no better value for donations to protect animals everywhere.
May 12, 2012

IFAW undertakes a brilliant combination of lots of effective work at the grassroots level (eg marine mammal stranding network on Cape Cod, saving wildlife parks in Kenya), and all the clever international political stuff that changes attitudes globally, to level the playing field for the animals (eg seal pups, whales, elephants, bears). Then it links the grassroots learning to drive the best actions at government and international levels to change our global culture. A SUPER EXAMPLE is the BEIJING RAPTOR RESCUE CENTER. Built in a prominent location, it has quietly modelled the highest standards in wildlife protection for ten years, and turned that into respect at the national level and in the government. That respect and learning is now helping all of China to become more wildlife sensitive and friendly! Extraordinarily powerful! http://www.ifaw.org/us/news/spotlight-china-celebrating-beijing-raptor-rescue-center%E2%80%99s-ten-year-anniversary Truly amazing stuff against the odds, and fantastic value for donors!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Kenya, Cape Cod, California, UK, North Atlantic

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to be able to operate in more places, and with more species

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Amazing connection between insightful strategy and impeccable execution! Everything it does - from helping individual animals all over the world (endangered, and after disasters) to influencing mass opinion and public policy globally - is done in a way that gets the maximum value for the animals from the minimum money spent.

August 30, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

A superb organisation! I've supported and followed IFAW closely ever since I was in high school in the late 1960s. It delivers a brilliant combination of grassroots help for animals one-by-one, habitat-by-habitat and disaster-by-disaster. This is all carefully integrated with highly effective macro-strategies that create a more sustaining global environment for animals.

The insights it gets from the intensive grassroots experience lead to the most effective initiatives with governments (eg EU/Japan) and in consumer market (eg ivory/seal pup fur). IFAW is uniquely respected as an organisation that does not distort information, or promote animal interests blindly without understanding the others involved and promoting solutions that can work for everyone. With brilliant people in every corner of the world, it cleverly works globally towards a new human culture, one in which we prefer and prioritise preservation of wildlife rather than its destruction.

Africa is a great example. I recently started working in village-level development in Africa, so I took the chance to 'drop in' on the IFAW team in Kenya. It is one of the most impressive NGOs in Africa, hiring smart principled people who VERY carefully design programs that are strategically configured for lasting success, rejecting the “easier” opportunities that mainly help a few people with income, or create a benefit that, because of surrounding forces and trends, won't last.

By paying what it takes to hire the best leaders, I have seen how IFAW turns our donations into more animal and wildlife preservation value across its target species than any other organisation I know.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

UK, USA, Africa

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money, so it could take on more programs!

August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

I am very happy that there is people who really care and helping animals all over the world. I am too sentimental to be involved in the heart breaking rescues, the least I can do is to donate some money. It's probably nothing for the scale of worldwide, but better then just crying and do nothing. I am proud of all of your volunteers and activists. Keep on doing it with God's help and guidance, and maybe this brutal world will be getting better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would not waste money on presents such as calendars, stuffed toys.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

If there is something I love in this worl are animals and what better wait to donate to a charity that helps them. I truly enjoy being part of IFAW, they always leep me informed in what animals they are helping next and that is something that makes me truly happy. Just sharing of the little I have gives me joy everyday because I know it is for something I love and care for.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

All over the world the activities of humans affect the lives of animals. So much of those affects are tragic, sometimes cruel, and heart-breaking. It is wonderful to be part of a human activity that helps rescue and protect animals. It helps me remember that we are not always the problem. Sometimes we can be the solution.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

endow them with lots more resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

It makes me feel good to donate to IFAW as I feel the organization is really trying to make a difference in the lives of animals around the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

I appreciate very much the work that the International Fund for Animal Welfare does. In all of the stories about people and their tragedies, we sometimes forget the animal that are neglected and abused. Thank you for your work to help them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work for as much coordination as possible with other nonprofits benefitting wildlife

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

I believe this organization supports some of the most critically endangered animals and their habitats and I can feel good about being a part of that.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I found out about IFAW by reading about their organization through material and information supplied in a of box of a brand named tea- a supporter of their organization. The tea company happens to be Red Rose. I decided to donate to IFAW in order to help animals in need, They happened to have another supporter who would match any funds given at the time so I decided to give so the dollars would go further in helping their cause. IFAW then sent me and online magazine to read about the work they are doing not only for wild animals but also domesticated animals and pets who needed help. I find they are very informative and show video clips of the work they are doing for animals who are in desperate need of love and care. I highly recommend them to any one interested who wants to help and know what a fantastic job they are doing to make life for animals as natural or at least comfortable for them to survive and even thrive! Bill T.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it richer for them to do even more good works.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

IFAW is a wonderful organization and I am happy to donate to them whenever possible so they can continue helping animals in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I do love the fact that this organization actually lets you know the results of the donations and also cares about all animals...not just cats and dogs!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers