Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.967215
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

iEARN is a wonderful window to the world for US students and teachers. It is a networking organization that connects classrooms from over 100 countries in project-based, online learning experiences. Kids learn about others and themselves as they engage in thought-provoking interactions online. The true potential of this organization is helping develop graduates who are prepared to be citizens of the world, able to interact intelligently and in a culturally sensitive manner with their counterparts from throughout the globe.
November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with IEARN since the beginning and in different ways over the past 25 years of history. Recently I have joined the board but in the past I was a facilitator for Learning Circles on iEARN. What makes iEARN so valuable is the personal connections that are created between students and teachers in classrooms around the world. In learning circles classrooms have the experience of leading a world wide group of students in a project that helps them learn more about themselves as they learn more about others. This reflection and understanding helps students to acquire a sense of global citizenship that will be so valuable in our shared future. Learning how to learn from and with people who are different with respect and curiosity are skills that are vital to world order. THere is no organization that is doing a better job of helping students develop new perspectives and empowering them to solve real problems in their communities and across the world. The stories are rich and varied but all end with a renewed sense of the wonder and power of the human spirit to find ways to get past amazing challenges.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change they they share their name. I would suggest that Internationalearn is a stronger representation of what they do and could be a different way of shortening the International Education and Resource Network.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 15, 2011

Our foundation has been funding iEARN since 1988. I consider it to be the best investment we have made. When we started investing there were 9 countries and about 90 teachers impacting about 400 chi... more

October 9, 2012

I have seen this organization grow from 10 schools in Moscow and 10 schools in NY State to over 40,000 schools in about 120 countries; and do it with no loss of integrity and sense of mission. It is a testimony to the philosophy and the thousands of mostly volunteers, teachers and students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

Our foundation has been funding iEARN since 1988. I consider it to be the best investment we have made. When we started investing there were 9 countries and about 90 teachers impacting about 400 children. Today there are 130 countries, an estimated 36,000 teachers impacting over 3,000,000 children. When we provided seed money, we were donating about $150,000/year and iEARN's budget was about $400,000/yr. Now, because of their success, we provide funding in the two digits and their budget has increased to over $4,000,000/yr.! I would call that money well spent!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visiting many countries of the world where iEARN lives including interviewing teachers and students in those countries. For many it is a life-changing experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase revenues from foundations and other non profits.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The need to have teachers and children communicate in an effective way so that they can experience their common humanity; and as a result of that reduce the potential for conflicts and wars and practice cooperation for a peaceful future for our children and the planet.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I am convinced of the results produced over 23 years, and organizations like this need donations for overhead that are not covered in grants.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is the largest, most effective, K-12 global education network in the world, with proven results of 23 years of service.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers