Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.966675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

iEARN is an excellent organization that operates efficiently and effectively. It uses technology in a wonderful creating great experiences for students and teachers. It is helping connecting youth around the globe.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

My first involvment with IEARN was in 2006 in which teachers and kids from my school start collaborating in projects with schools from other countries. Our school is in a city in Peru and it is very hard to get contact with other countries. The projects we did it were the Teddy Bear Project, Water Sampling Project , The Spirit of the Trees. I can remember one project of the Teddy Bear made with a school in Argentina. One of the kids doing the project travel years after the project was done with his parents to Argentina, and they were very fond that he had some friends there, and all of thar thanks to a travelling Teddy Bear. On the other side I remember how proud was a teacher of our school, as she finished her project on the Water Sampling and typing at Google her name just to find that she was the first in the list.
I do think IEARN projects made a diference with the pupils and teachers.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

As an English teacher I feel responsible to give my students a real learning opportunity in an actual situation, so learning circles are very helpful. Since cooperation is global, they feel a lot more motivated to learn and to work.
October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 14, 2011

While we are new to the iEARN family, we are not new to the wonderful world of not-for -profit organizations. Both of us come from the corporate world and about 25 years ago decided to shift gears an... more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Twenty years ago we founded Kids Can Make A Difference (KIDS) and spent 17 years as a program of WhyHunger. Both of us come from the corporate world and devote our efforts to making our community, country and world a better place for all. Jane had recently received her Doctorate in Nutrition Education from Columbia University. Her overriding interest was in hunger in the world. Since there is enough food in the world to feed everyone, she wanted to find out why hunger and poverty continue to persist.

At the time, Larry decided to bring his knowledge of marketing to address this problem, and we joined WhyHunger to aid in their efforts to alleviate hunger and poverty. We started as volunteer fund raisers for the organization and shortly thereafter became members of the board.

We came to the conclusion that if any real change was going to happen, it would have to be brought about by people younger than the members of the WhyHunger Board. This lead to the establishment of Kids Can Make A Difference (KIDS) 20 years ago.

This relationship with WhyHunger continued until three years ago, when we felt that the time had come for a change. We no longer felt that being an education program embedded in a hunger program was the direction that would carry KIDS into the 21 Century.

KIDS needed to be allied with an education program that desired a strong hunger and poverty component. We did our home work and found that there was only one candidate that we felt would be a perfect fit for us.

That program was the International Education and Resource Network (iEARN).

We were impressed with iEARN’s mission and most of all with the management and staff of the organization. In our three years as a program of iEARN, Kids has been nurtured and has flourished. While we still are on a learning curve, with the establishment of the Finding Solutions Project we now have students in many schools and countries learning about the root causes of hunger and poverty and working together to develop solutions where they can make a difference.

We look forward to continued growth within the iEarn network.

Peace,

Larry & Jane Levine
December 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

While we are new to the iEARN family, we are not new to the wonderful world of not-for -profit organizations.

Both of us come from the corporate world and about 25 years ago decided to shift gears and devote our efforts to making our community, country and world a better place for all.
Jane had recently received her Doctorate in Nutrition Education from Columbia University. Her overriding interest was in hunger in the world. Since there is enough food in the world to feed everyone, she wanted to find out why hunger and poverty continue to persist.

At the time, Larry decided to bring his knowledge of marketing to address this problem, and we joined WhyHunger to aid in their efforts to alleviate hunger and poverty. We started as volunteer fund raisers for the organization and shortly thereafter became members of the board.

We came to the conclusion that if any real change was going to happen, it would have to be brought about by people younger than the members of the WhyHunger Board. This lead to the establishment of Kids Can Make A Difference (KIDS) 18 years ago. While we were a registered 501 (c)3 not-for-profit, we chose not to become a “free standing” non-profit; instead we became a self-funded program of WhyHunger.

This relationship continued until two years ago, when we felt that the time had come for a change. We no longer felt that being an education program embedded in a hunger program was the direction that would carry KIDS into the 21 Century.

KIDS needed to be allied with an education program that desired a strong hunger and poverty component. We did our home work and found that there was only one candidate that we felt would be a perfect fit for us.

That program was the International Education and Resource Network (iEARN).

We were impressed with iEARN’s mission and most of all with the management of the organization. In our two years as a program of iEARN, Kids has been nurtured and has flourished. While we still are on a learning curve, with the establishment of the Finding Solutions Project we now have students in many schools and countries learning about the root causes of hunger and poverty and working together to develop solutions where they can make a difference.

We look forward to continued growth within the iEarn network.

Peace,

Larry & Jane Levine

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2013

I am Samah AlJundi, iEARN Syria Coordinator...When I started working 10 years ago, I was speaking a different language and my community was stunt! iEARN is the vital stage to help peace to prevail and... more

October 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

140 Countries
30 Languages
50,000 Educators
2 Million Youth

iEARN (International Education and Resource Network) is the world's largest non-profit global network that enables teachers and youth to use the Internet and other technologies to collaborate on projects that enhance
learning and make a difference in the world.
I joind iEARN in 2003 and learned a lot and my learning venture is ongoing. iEARN is the window to see the world and to be seen by the world as the PBL grants you to learn with the world not just about it
November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am Samah AlJundi, iEARN Syria Coordinator...When I started working 10 years ago, I was speaking a different language and my community was stunt! iEARN is the vital stage to help peace to prevail and to erase misleading and misinformation. It is the youth voice to be a global citizen and to learn how to gain the 21st century skills

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would focus more on youth workers to support schools

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

iEARN began with a simple idea, years before the Web was created: With telecommunications, people could reach out across the world and work together with other people, regardless of their governments' official stances. For 25 years, this network has flourished with trust. This network was and still is a chain of friends and friends of friends.

Not only are some of my closest friends members of this chain and not only have these friendships enrich and transformed my personal life, but iEARN members' technological savvy in building community strengthened my own professional expertise as co-founder and editor of the National Geographic's Intranet. Together, we -- my iEARN friends and I -- have found joy in using using pre-Web bulletin boards, the Web, email, snail mail, e-newletters and print publications, art, photos and video to make the world a better place. We have been doing this for decades.

I am a volunteer, a donor, a board member, and this year, I am a teacher who is using iEARN projects at César Chavez Prep, a public charter school for 6-th - 9th grades in Washington, DC. If you could have watched my 6th graders in the Holiday Card Exchange project today, you would experience something precious and such a proof of why iEARN is important and why it's motto: Learn with the World, is so accurate.

In the beginning of the year, each of the seven children in my enrichment class selected one school from our assigned group of eight schools. Earlier this week, we sealed our boxes and mailed them (we had to get boxes, the children decided, so we could include Halloween candy along with our cards for the multitude of holidays between now and New Year's.)

You have to understand, the children have remembered their city since the very first day they chose their partner. And finally, today, we started to visualize ourselves in our cities as we get ready to to write to our partners on the forum. As the students looked up the temperatures for tomorrow and decided what they'd wear to school (40 degrees in Russia; 88 degrees in Taiwan), they kept finding photos of their cities. They'd exclaim in delight: "Look how beautiful Minsk is!" "Look, there is snow on the mountains in Slovenia!" "OH! LOOK" The latter was a video of an extraordinary festival of lights in Krasnoyarsk, Russia.

We stopped what we were doing to watch the Russian video and we studied it carefully, trying to figure out when the festival is held. There was snow, so later then now, we decided, and then we saw a decorated Christmas tree. We think this must be a Christmas festival. But we don't. know. Rosa, the student who has Krasnoyarsk, can't wait to write and ask for more details on Monday when we meet again. Rosa wants to make a powerpoint about Krasnoyarsk, and the others are excited now to show off their cities and schools. They'll have so much to write about and to ask. I can't wait to see what will unfold next.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out how to involve more teachers in an experience that can transform their lives as well as their students. [See "Ali and Me," a short video I made about one such iEARN experience in my life. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4mexVZKS50

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome organization that give youth the skills and opportunity to make a difference in their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 14, 2011

Since 2002 I have been part of iEARN. I have participated in iEARN as a student, educator, online course facilitator and program administrator so iEARN has been part of my life since childhood and mos... more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined iEARN in 2002 as a High School student and since then my life changed. Working on iEARN projects on the interactive online forums gave me an experience to learn and share my life and world with the rest of students and teachers around the world. One really instrumental iEARN project in my life has been the Adobe Youth Voices Project, through learning and teaching other youth on how to create media with purpose I have been able to establish myself as a top class media artist here in Uganda even without having ever gone to a multimedia school. In 2010, I interned at the iEARN USA office and this enabled me get a more global perspective of iEARN and also get hands on experience on how to run and manage global projects. iEARN has been transformational in my personal life and changed my entire view of the internet and the world at large.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Since 2002 I have been part of iEARN. I have participated in iEARN as a student, educator, online course facilitator and program administrator so iEARN has been part of my life since childhood and most of my ICT knowledge and skills have been obtained through being part of iEARN projects. Through my continuous participation in several iEARN projects I have come to learn more with the world, get friends from various parts of the world and also travel to different parts of the world to share experiences and what I have learnt through being part of iEARN projects. I am forever grateful and would certain recommend iEARN projects to anyone interested in Global Education and ensuring their students learn with the world and not just about it. - Allan Kakinda

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

it was in 2002, when I got involved with iEARN and with the next conference met all the dedicated people of iEARN USA. That has changed not only my life, but also that of my family, and of so many people and students, we could help ever since

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm Magda Fouad From Egypt .My Best year was 2003 When i participated in iEARN and became one of this great family . It's my great luck and happiness to be one of iEARN community .I'm now an Inspector of English and i was till last May a Teacher , Also I'm a trainer and iEARN Master Teacher . I had the pleasure to train a large number of Students and teachers on iearn programs and on collaborative projects. I was one of organizers in annual 2007 international iEARN conference in EGYPT, It's a very great mission to build youth 'minds , personalities ,lives in iEARN . It's very wonderful to teach students to be independent ,work in team to be respected from everyone when he knows that they are iEARN Students . I attended Master Trainer and the international Conference in Taiwan Last Year . I also represented EGYPT in The ARABIAN TESOL Conference last March in DUBAI . I'm very pleased to join the first iearn online conference to meet again some of the i Earners that I had the pleasure to meet face to face in previous conferences ,and at the same time know new teachers and students from many countries

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers