Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2013

I am Samah AlJundi, iEARN Syria Coordinator...When I started working 10 years ago, I was speaking a different language and my community was stunt! iEARN is the vital stage to help peace to prevail and... more

October 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

140 Countries
30 Languages
50,000 Educators
2 Million Youth

iEARN (International Education and Resource Network) is the world's largest non-profit global network that enables teachers and youth to use the Internet and other technologies to collaborate on projects that enhance
learning and make a difference in the world.
I joind iEARN in 2003 and learned a lot and my learning venture is ongoing. iEARN is the window to see the world and to be seen by the world as the PBL grants you to learn with the world not just about it
November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am Samah AlJundi, iEARN Syria Coordinator...When I started working 10 years ago, I was speaking a different language and my community was stunt! iEARN is the vital stage to help peace to prevail and to erase misleading and misinformation. It is the youth voice to be a global citizen and to learn how to gain the 21st century skills

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would focus more on youth workers to support schools

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

iEARN began with a simple idea, years before the Web was created: With telecommunications, people could reach out across the world and work together with other people, regardless of their governments' official stances. For 25 years, this network has flourished with trust. This network was and still is a chain of friends and friends of friends.

Not only are some of my closest friends members of this chain and not only have these friendships enrich and transformed my personal life, but iEARN members' technological savvy in building community strengthened my own professional expertise as co-founder and editor of the National Geographic's Intranet. Together, we -- my iEARN friends and I -- have found joy in using using pre-Web bulletin boards, the Web, email, snail mail, e-newletters and print publications, art, photos and video to make the world a better place. We have been doing this for decades.

I am a volunteer, a donor, a board member, and this year, I am a teacher who is using iEARN projects at C├ęsar Chavez Prep, a public charter school for 6-th - 9th grades in Washington, DC. If you could have watched my 6th graders in the Holiday Card Exchange project today, you would experience something precious and such a proof of why iEARN is important and why it's motto: Learn with the World, is so accurate.

In the beginning of the year, each of the seven children in my enrichment class selected one school from our assigned group of eight schools. Earlier this week, we sealed our boxes and mailed them (we had to get boxes, the children decided, so we could include Halloween candy along with our cards for the multitude of holidays between now and New Year's.)

You have to understand, the children have remembered their city since the very first day they chose their partner. And finally, today, we started to visualize ourselves in our cities as we get ready to to write to our partners on the forum. As the students looked up the temperatures for tomorrow and decided what they'd wear to school (40 degrees in Russia; 88 degrees in Taiwan), they kept finding photos of their cities. They'd exclaim in delight: "Look how beautiful Minsk is!" "Look, there is snow on the mountains in Slovenia!" "OH! LOOK" The latter was a video of an extraordinary festival of lights in Krasnoyarsk, Russia.

We stopped what we were doing to watch the Russian video and we studied it carefully, trying to figure out when the festival is held. There was snow, so later then now, we decided, and then we saw a decorated Christmas tree. We think this must be a Christmas festival. But we don't. know. Rosa, the student who has Krasnoyarsk, can't wait to write and ask for more details on Monday when we meet again. Rosa wants to make a powerpoint about Krasnoyarsk, and the others are excited now to show off their cities and schools. They'll have so much to write about and to ask. I can't wait to see what will unfold next.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out how to involve more teachers in an experience that can transform their lives as well as their students. [See "Ali and Me," a short video I made about one such iEARN experience in my life. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4mexVZKS50

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome organization that give youth the skills and opportunity to make a difference in their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 14, 2011

Since 2002 I have been part of iEARN. I have participated in iEARN as a student, educator, online course facilitator and program administrator so iEARN has been part of my life since childhood and mos... more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined iEARN in 2002 as a High School student and since then my life changed. Working on iEARN projects on the interactive online forums gave me an experience to learn and share my life and world with the rest of students and teachers around the world. One really instrumental iEARN project in my life has been the Adobe Youth Voices Project, through learning and teaching other youth on how to create media with purpose I have been able to establish myself as a top class media artist here in Uganda even without having ever gone to a multimedia school. In 2010, I interned at the iEARN USA office and this enabled me get a more global perspective of iEARN and also get hands on experience on how to run and manage global projects. iEARN has been transformational in my personal life and changed my entire view of the internet and the world at large.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Since 2002 I have been part of iEARN. I have participated in iEARN as a student, educator, online course facilitator and program administrator so iEARN has been part of my life since childhood and most of my ICT knowledge and skills have been obtained through being part of iEARN projects. Through my continuous participation in several iEARN projects I have come to learn more with the world, get friends from various parts of the world and also travel to different parts of the world to share experiences and what I have learnt through being part of iEARN projects. I am forever grateful and would certain recommend iEARN projects to anyone interested in Global Education and ensuring their students learn with the world and not just about it. - Allan Kakinda

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

it was in 2002, when I got involved with iEARN and with the next conference met all the dedicated people of iEARN USA. That has changed not only my life, but also that of my family, and of so many people and students, we could help ever since

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm Magda Fouad From Egypt .My Best year was 2003 When i participated in iEARN and became one of this great family . It's my great luck and happiness to be one of iEARN community .I'm now an Inspector of English and i was till last May a Teacher , Also I'm a trainer and iEARN Master Teacher . I had the pleasure to train a large number of Students and teachers on iearn programs and on collaborative projects. I was one of organizers in annual 2007 international iEARN conference in EGYPT, It's a very great mission to build youth 'minds , personalities ,lives in iEARN . It's very wonderful to teach students to be independent ,work in team to be respected from everyone when he knows that they are iEARN Students . I attended Master Trainer and the international Conference in Taiwan Last Year . I also represented EGYPT in The ARABIAN TESOL Conference last March in DUBAI . I'm very pleased to join the first iearn online conference to meet again some of the i Earners that I had the pleasure to meet face to face in previous conferences ,and at the same time know new teachers and students from many countries

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Back to 2001, I was first introduced to iEARN world. Through iEARN, I helped to connect to the world. There were only 5 teachers and about 100 students involving in iEARN projects. Now it is 2012, now 552 teachers and 10000 students have involved in iEARN projects. The number is on the increase for we see how iEARN makes a difference in Taiwan Global education in K-12 schools. In iEARN Big community, Taiwan teachers and students learn to work with their international partners by sharing their cultures and thinking via iEARN projects. They learn that it takes actions altogether to have a better world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

iEARN truly is non profit organization. It share educatin and awareness through collaborative projects. It is one of best org in the world. Long live iEARN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

January 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE WITH IEARN: I started volunteering for iEARN, the International Education and Resource Network, in January 1993 -- which is when my ongoing relationship with, and lifetime commitment to, iEARN's ideals and life- and world-changing work began. I have been honored to form close and lasting ties with iEARN's US and worldwide staff and volunteers -- and the participating teachers and students around the world. Most of my volunteer work in 1993 was for one project and, despite having a salaried part-time position with a nonprofit organization in Michigan that required frequent travel from my home in rural Virginia (my residence at the time), plus extra hours of work, beyond the 20 hours for which I was paid from my home office, I volunteered at least 50 hours per week in 1993 for iEARN. iEARN's exciting and compelling projects, professional and dedicated staff, and growing, dedicated, and embracing on-line international community left me energized by those 50+ volunteer hours/week in 1993 -- and I am still as excited about iEARN in 2012 as I was in January 1993.

(NOTE: I am an ordinary person who is neither noble nor especially selfless, but iEARN's important work is so captivating. iEARN has paid me for some consulting work, but Dr. Ed Gragert and the iEARN-USA staff know that I will do any project as a volunteer, if iEARN needs me and if I am qualified to do the work.)

BRIEF OVERVIEW OF IEARN: The introductory paragraphy at iEARN.org states that "iEARN (International Education and Resource Network) is [literally] the largest nonprofit global network in the world that enables teachers and young people to use the Internet and other technologies [and to help educators and students with no -- or minimal -- access to various technolgies] to access technologies, regardless of their location and financial limitations] to collaborate on projects that enhance learning and make a difference in the world." (The text in brackets is mine.]

Although the number of participating students and teachers -- and new, exciting, unique projects -- worldwide increases with awareness and time, as of now (January 2012) an estimated 2 million students and 40,000 teachers in 130 countries, speaking 30 different languages (with English, translated or as a second language, being the common language for on-line collaboration) are participating in iEARN's projects. Please note that I have not viewed these participation statistics since some time last year -- 2011.

Please, I invite you to visit the iEARN-USA Web site at US.iEARN.org and/or the iEARN worldwide site at iEARN.org to learn about the current status of iEARN's impressive number of ongoing projects. To learn about iEARN's projects and programs in your country -- and abou iEARN's dedicated country coordinators and language resources -- I recommend that you visit the countries section of iEARN's Web site (iEARN.org/countries); you can select your country from a drop-down list or by selecting a region on the small world map on the main countries Web page; if you cannot locate your country on this Web page, new projects may just be starting (or be in the planning stages) and your help and support would be invaluable and gratefully accepted: Please send an e-mail message to 'ec AT iearn.org' if you cannot find your country.

iEARN offers both face-to-face workshops and on-line professional development courses for teachers who want to integrate on-line global project work into their classrooms. If you are not an educator, however (which is my situation), and wish to help iEARN in any way, I can tell you from personal experience that getting involved with iEARN will change your life and you will truly help to make a difference in the world; you *will* have an impact -- and iEARN will have an impact on you!

Cordially,

David

P.S. -- NOTE ON IEARN'S BEGINNINGS: Since 1988* iEARN has equipped more than 100,000 teachers all over the world with the technical, collaborative, and organizational skills they need to participate fully in a global, extremely interactive, and collaborative Internet-based learning environment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the worldwide, personal and professional, impact that iEARN continues to have -- and that its teachers are able to make beyond their own classrooms. Alumni of iEARN's projects stay in touch with their former teachers, and often remain involved in the projects, even after they have graduated from high school. I personally know students who have made career choices because of the impact of their participation in iEARN projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

discover an untapped resource to provide iEARN with more donations and other resources. I currently am exploring some nascent ideas of ways to use Linux and free and open-source software. I am also finding out what technical skils iEARN needs so that I can enhance my IT skills so that I am qualified to help iEARN in those areas. I do not have any desire to change iEARN: Peter Copen's original idea and project, and the sound pedagogy and international-community-based collaboration of iEARN "simply work."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wish I had funds to make a major donation, as well as more advanced skills and more time to volunteer/

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

As my ongoing involvement with iEARN continues, I learn just how deeply iEARN has changed -- and continues to change -- my life for the better. I also have friends that will last a lifetime (regardless of their location in the world and native language).

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I cannot describe the professional, personal, and even philosophical and spiritual benefits I gain as an ongoing volunteer for iEARN.

December 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Ever since I was introduced to iEARN in 2001, I've been learning something valuable in my life . iEARN has given the perspective to think globally and act locally . I have been involving many students in the iREAN projects which facilitate them to improve their thinking as well as communication skills . They developed :Communication skills, creative Expression, Technical skills, emailing skills, Confidence ,responsibility, general knowledge on global issues and personal attitudes. I was professionally benefited by the Online Professional development courses offered by iEARN_USA. Many schools and NGOs in my country , India received technology aids by being involved in Adobe Youth Voices project. The resources shared by the teachers around the world have been very useful to enhance our own teaching and learning processes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers