Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
December 26, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

We at Oroville High School became involved with iEARN two years ago and with their guidance and assistance have been able to implement and grow our international education component in our school. Before iEARN it was "Where is _______ (Name our country)," and the response would be "Huh?" Now the response is immediate and excited, "What are we doing with them and can I get involved?" To say the attitude has been transformed is a grand understatement. iEARN has been helpful to an extreme, involved and professional in our dealings. They have come to understand our needs and situation and have opened doors and opportunities that match our school. We can't say enough. Thank you. Two photos included: One our our students making paper in a project to learn about entrepreneurship with schools in Turkey (YIEP), and the second learning about comparable interactions with forests and the environment with the Dominican Republic (Tres Bosques, un Mundo). Both amazing programs run by iEARN that Oroville has participated.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my classroom, educational and in personal contacts. iEARN has been extremely communicative and helpful in their dealings with us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

All seems well. They have a variety of experiences and opportunities that we continue to explore and look into to fit what we can into our needs and abilities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Long ago when the internet was just text I dabbled but most recently Oroville HS, my classrooms, have been involved in global education and iEARN is one of several actively involved in that arena. They came forward with an opportunity and we have expanded and grown in the activities and programs that iEARN has offered. We particularly enjoy the teacher education programs that combine international cooperation and communication.

December 23, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 23, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

About a decade ago, I was the global studies chair of an international studies magnet school. My school was searching for partners for online learning and exchanges. I learned about IEARN at a conference and my professional life was transformed. Recently Project Based Learning, 21st Century Skills, and global citizenship is all the rage. IEARN has been a pioneer in these endeavors for more than 20 years. I have stood under a tree in the rain with young social studies teachers from Iran who travel with male chapersones. I have stood in the sunshine with colleagues from Israel, Taiwan, Pakistan, Netherlands, Turkey, and Senegal. I have collaborated with and learned from educators and students from almost every continent. Such is the IEARN world. When a school or organization joins with IEARN, the students and teachers communicate with and do Project Based Learning with classrooms in any of 130 countries. Students of all ages engage in reading and writing for authentic audiences, tackle real world issues, express their work creatively, and use technology to research and communicate. IEARN projects cross all of the core and elective subjects and can be used within the required curriculum or in an extracurricular setting. Member teachers and students can join ongoing projects or propose new projects and seek partners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 21, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 21, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Our office has worked with IEARN for 10+years. Working wtih the Staff of IEARN has been a wonderful experience both professional and personal. The employees of IEARN are dedicated and the experiences and knowledge they bring to others is enormous. Our organization looks forward to a continued relationship with IEARN.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 20, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 20, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Having been involved with IEARN since 1997, This is my absolutely favorite organization that supports and propels Global learning projects and initiatives. It continues to be on the forefront of social action projects and is extremely beneficial to my graduate students as they embark on global learning in their classrooms and seek to create meaningful projects themselves. I still consider this the premiere organization that supports global learning. The network is an invaluable resource! Thank you IEARN for an incredible and supportive organization in our endeavor to connect classrooms around the world in meaningful experiences! Dr. K. Bacer, Azusa Pacific University

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Taiwan, Morocco, Russia, and Canada are only a few of the places our California school collaborates thanks to iEARN. iEARN connects my students and me to memorable events and to passionate people everywhere. iEARN is the inspiration for our most meaningful and memorable work. Our K-12 classes have met standards in art and language by writing descriptions of self portraits; in math by charting growth of tulips; and science by flying homemade kites with schoolmates on every continent. We see history and current events and literature through learning circles, choosing our own topics and sharing research and experience. Thanks to iEARN our classroom is truly the world, and we explore it with new friends and old ones each year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

While we are new to the iEARN family, we are not new to the wonderful world of not-for -profit organizations.

Both of us come from the corporate world and about 25 years ago decided to shift gears and devote our efforts to making our community, country and world a better place for all.
Jane had recently received her Doctorate in Nutrition Education from Columbia University. Her overriding interest was in hunger in the world. Since there is enough food in the world to feed everyone, she wanted to find out why hunger and poverty continue to persist.

At the time, Larry decided to bring his knowledge of marketing to address this problem, and we joined WhyHunger to aid in their efforts to alleviate hunger and poverty. We started as volunteer fund raisers for the organization and shortly thereafter became members of the board.

We came to the conclusion that if any real change was going to happen, it would have to be brought about by people younger than the members of the WhyHunger Board. This lead to the establishment of Kids Can Make A Difference (KIDS) 18 years ago. While we were a registered 501 (c)3 not-for-profit, we chose not to become a “free standing” non-profit; instead we became a self-funded program of WhyHunger.

This relationship continued until two years ago, when we felt that the time had come for a change. We no longer felt that being an education program embedded in a hunger program was the direction that would carry KIDS into the 21 Century.

KIDS needed to be allied with an education program that desired a strong hunger and poverty component. We did our home work and found that there was only one candidate that we felt would be a perfect fit for us.

That program was the International Education and Resource Network (iEARN).

We were impressed with iEARN’s mission and most of all with the management of the organization. In our two years as a program of iEARN, Kids has been nurtured and has flourished. While we still are on a learning curve, with the establishment of the Finding Solutions Project we now have students in many schools and countries learning about the root causes of hunger and poverty and working together to develop solutions where they can make a difference.

We look forward to continued growth within the iEarn network.

Peace,

Larry & Jane Levine

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Ever since I was introduced to iEARN in 2001, I've been learning something valuable in my life . iEARN has given the perspective to think globally and act locally . I have been involving many students in the iREAN projects which facilitate them to improve their thinking as well as communication skills . They developed :Communication skills, creative Expression, Technical skills, emailing skills, Confidence ,responsibility, general knowledge on global issues and personal attitudes. I was professionally benefited by the Online Professional development courses offered by iEARN_USA. Many schools and NGOs in my country , India received technology aids by being involved in Adobe Youth Voices project. The resources shared by the teachers around the world have been very useful to enhance our own teaching and learning processes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have been working with IEARN since 2000,first as a participant teacher thes as trainer and now as proffissional and coordinator for the country.Commitment towards all the members of iearn family distinguishes iearn US greatly.IEARN US has been the support for students and teachers in palestine for many years.All the staff is cooperative and committed.I always find then when I feel that we are stuck with any obstackle.I have many stories to tell about iearn US and our difficult journey in Palestine.They were there when we were in areal need for their help.Despite our complicated situation they determined to let our students be engaged in the projects through their support and facilitation

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

In 1989 I was invited to work with an international team to plan a program to bring teachers and students together to work on projects that would grow concrete classroom experiences in the practice of peace. The passion grew as each new teacher, student, and country signed on to contribute to a growing body of projects designed to fit classroom curricular demands and to give all of us a chance for international collaboration. Each one of us who has been fortunate enough to participate have made lifelong friends from every corner of our dear planet. That iEARN has had such longevity is proof of its relevance for curricula, its organizational strategies, and the comfort and hope teachers and students feel in its community. I am so lucky to be a part of iEARN. Betsy Frederick, Guilford CT and Albuquerque, NM.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

NGO work is all about passion, trust, and contributing to the welfare of the people. iEARN USA is not only a leader in online project based learning but also in ethical practices, professional standards, and eagerness to learn with the world. I have worked with iEARN USA since 2002 through many projects and under different capacities. Trust and passion have always characterized their delivery. Their understanding and support to regional iEARN offices and contacts has been amazing. I have enjoyed working with all their staff members and learnt from their process and procedures. There are many stories to be told about our fruitful cooperation that this space may not be enough for. I thank them for all the positive changes they caused in my life and thousands of lives in Egypt of students and teachers who have been involved in iEARN projects. Change was not only limited to the direct beneficiaries of the program but the community at large.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers