Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

it was in 2002, when I got involved with iEARN and with the next conference met all the dedicated people of iEARN USA. That has changed not only my life, but also that of my family, and of so many people and students, we could help ever since

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It is hard for me to choose my role for this. I started as a client with the international School Partnerships through Technology project of the North Carolina Center for International Understanding. There I became involved helping with face to face and online professional development. I was also asked to help develop the Teachers Guide to Online Collaboration. I love how iEARN empowers and respects its teachers. I am now thinking about retirement but am not ready to give up the work I love with iEARN.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm Magda Fouad From Egypt .My Best year was 2003 When i participated in iEARN and became one of this great family . It's my great luck and happiness to be one of iEARN community .I'm now an Inspector of English and i was till last May a Teacher , Also I'm a trainer and iEARN Master Teacher . I had the pleasure to train a large number of Students and teachers on iearn programs and on collaborative projects. I was one of organizers in annual 2007 international iEARN conference in EGYPT, It's a very great mission to build youth 'minds , personalities ,lives in iEARN . It's very wonderful to teach students to be independent ,work in team to be respected from everyone when he knows that they are iEARN Students . I attended Master Trainer and the international Conference in Taiwan Last Year . I also represented EGYPT in The ARABIAN TESOL Conference last March in DUBAI . I'm very pleased to join the first iearn online conference to meet again some of the i Earners that I had the pleasure to meet face to face in previous conferences ,and at the same time know new teachers and students from many countries

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Back to 2001, I was first introduced to iEARN world. Through iEARN, I helped to connect to the world. There were only 5 teachers and about 100 students involving in iEARN projects. Now it is 2012, now 552 teachers and 10000 students have involved in iEARN projects. The number is on the increase for we see how iEARN makes a difference in Taiwan Global education in K-12 schools. In iEARN Big community, Taiwan teachers and students learn to work with their international partners by sharing their cultures and thinking via iEARN projects. They learn that it takes actions altogether to have a better world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

iEARN truly is non profit organization. It share educatin and awareness through collaborative projects. It is one of best org in the world. Long live iEARN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 9, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 15, 2011

Our foundation has been funding iEARN since 1988. I consider it to be the best investment we have made. When we started investing there were 9 countries and about 90 teachers impacting about 400 chi... more

October 9, 2012

I have seen this organization grow from 10 schools in Moscow and 10 schools in NY State to over 40,000 schools in about 120 countries; and do it with no loss of integrity and sense of mission. It is a testimony to the philosophy and the thousands of mostly volunteers, teachers and students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

Our foundation has been funding iEARN since 1988. I consider it to be the best investment we have made. When we started investing there were 9 countries and about 90 teachers impacting about 400 children. Today there are 130 countries, an estimated 36,000 teachers impacting over 3,000,000 children. When we provided seed money, we were donating about $150,000/year and iEARN's budget was about $400,000/yr. Now, because of their success, we provide funding in the two digits and their budget has increased to over $4,000,000/yr.! I would call that money well spent!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

visiting many countries of the world where iEARN lives including interviewing teachers and students in those countries. For many it is a life-changing experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase revenues from foundations and other non profits.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The need to have teachers and children communicate in an effective way so that they can experience their common humanity; and as a result of that reduce the potential for conflicts and wars and practice cooperation for a peaceful future for our children and the planet.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I am convinced of the results produced over 23 years, and organizations like this need donations for overhead that are not covered in grants.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is the largest, most effective, K-12 global education network in the world, with proven results of 23 years of service.

August 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My journey with iEARN started since 2006 and officially when I joined iEARN Pakistan in 2007. Attending a couple of workshops and then joining iEARN, opened up a new horizon to me. It helped me to discover a new world of friendship and collaboration. Being a computer professional, I was keen to learn how to apply my knowledge and skills in the field of education. With great support from iEARN Pakistan and iEARN USA, I developed skills to work with teachers and students, and help them using technology in classrooms by involving them in different iEARN Online collaborative projects. At iEARN Pakistan, we are running a number of projects in partnership with iEARN USA, to successfully engage teachers and students in using tecnology and Web 2.0 tools in classrooms. The online courses for teachers provided by iEARN USA, also help in the professional development of teachers improving their teaching and learning practices. Above all, it has helped to connect people in a meaningful way and develop a global community without any cultural boundaries.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

The 1998 was an unforgettable year when as a newly appointed head teacher I was looking for innovative teaching and learning strategies to implement in the school and hit iEARN USA. Everything else become a history with those few emails from iEARN USA registering us as iEARN member and explaining how to begin with iEARN projects. 1998 was still early to bring technology into classrooms and integrate in curriculum, professionals and trainers from iEARN USA have provided exceptional support, lesson plans, helped us with grants and trained a group of us to begin successfully with the Online PBL. We in Pakistan started iEARN ONline PBL with one school and one classroom which is now an initiative at national level with 1500 member school, 3000+ students participating in the projects annually and 3 iEARN Centre facility in Karachi, Quetta and Islamabad. Over the years iEARN US and iEARN Pakistan have worked on a range of collaborative projects developed ties for capacity building of teachers, supporting young people in underserved communities of Pakistan by providing them educational opportunities and uplifting the schools providing them cutting edge technological tools for teaching and learning. Thankyou iEARN USA

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

PERSONAL EXPERIENCE WITH IEARN: I started volunteering for iEARN, the International Education and Resource Network, in January 1993 -- which is when my ongoing relationship with, and lifetime commitment to, iEARN's ideals and life- and world-changing work began. I have been honored to form close and lasting ties with iEARN's US and worldwide staff and volunteers -- and the participating teachers and students around the world. Most of my volunteer work in 1993 was for one project and, despite having a salaried part-time position with a nonprofit organization in Michigan that required frequent travel from my home in rural Virginia (my residence at the time), plus extra hours of work, beyond the 20 hours for which I was paid from my home office, I volunteered at least 50 hours per week in 1993 for iEARN. iEARN's exciting and compelling projects, professional and dedicated staff, and growing, dedicated, and embracing on-line international community left me energized by those 50+ volunteer hours/week in 1993 -- and I am still as excited about iEARN in 2012 as I was in January 1993.

(NOTE: I am an ordinary person who is neither noble nor especially selfless, but iEARN's important work is so captivating. iEARN has paid me for some consulting work, but Dr. Ed Gragert and the iEARN-USA staff know that I will do any project as a volunteer, if iEARN needs me and if I am qualified to do the work.)

BRIEF OVERVIEW OF IEARN: The introductory paragraphy at iEARN.org states that "iEARN (International Education and Resource Network) is [literally] the largest nonprofit global network in the world that enables teachers and young people to use the Internet and other technologies [and to help educators and students with no -- or minimal -- access to various technolgies] to access technologies, regardless of their location and financial limitations] to collaborate on projects that enhance learning and make a difference in the world." (The text in brackets is mine.]

Although the number of participating students and teachers -- and new, exciting, unique projects -- worldwide increases with awareness and time, as of now (January 2012) an estimated 2 million students and 40,000 teachers in 130 countries, speaking 30 different languages (with English, translated or as a second language, being the common language for on-line collaboration) are participating in iEARN's projects. Please note that I have not viewed these participation statistics since some time last year -- 2011.

Please, I invite you to visit the iEARN-USA Web site at US.iEARN.org and/or the iEARN worldwide site at iEARN.org to learn about the current status of iEARN's impressive number of ongoing projects. To learn about iEARN's projects and programs in your country -- and abou iEARN's dedicated country coordinators and language resources -- I recommend that you visit the countries section of iEARN's Web site (iEARN.org/countries); you can select your country from a drop-down list or by selecting a region on the small world map on the main countries Web page; if you cannot locate your country on this Web page, new projects may just be starting (or be in the planning stages) and your help and support would be invaluable and gratefully accepted: Please send an e-mail message to 'ec AT iearn.org' if you cannot find your country.

iEARN offers both face-to-face workshops and on-line professional development courses for teachers who want to integrate on-line global project work into their classrooms. If you are not an educator, however (which is my situation), and wish to help iEARN in any way, I can tell you from personal experience that getting involved with iEARN will change your life and you will truly help to make a difference in the world; you *will* have an impact -- and iEARN will have an impact on you!

Cordially,

David

P.S. -- NOTE ON IEARN'S BEGINNINGS: Since 1988* iEARN has equipped more than 100,000 teachers all over the world with the technical, collaborative, and organizational skills they need to participate fully in a global, extremely interactive, and collaborative Internet-based learning environment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the worldwide, personal and professional, impact that iEARN continues to have -- and that its teachers are able to make beyond their own classrooms. Alumni of iEARN's projects stay in touch with their former teachers, and often remain involved in the projects, even after they have graduated from high school. I personally know students who have made career choices because of the impact of their participation in iEARN projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

discover an untapped resource to provide iEARN with more donations and other resources. I currently am exploring some nascent ideas of ways to use Linux and free and open-source software. I am also finding out what technical skils iEARN needs so that I can enhance my IT skills so that I am qualified to help iEARN in those areas. I do not have any desire to change iEARN: Peter Copen's original idea and project, and the sound pedagogy and international-community-based collaboration of iEARN "simply work."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wish I had funds to make a major donation, as well as more advanced skills and more time to volunteer/

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

As my ongoing involvement with iEARN continues, I learn just how deeply iEARN has changed -- and continues to change -- my life for the better. I also have friends that will last a lifetime (regardless of their location in the world and native language).

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I cannot describe the professional, personal, and even philosophical and spiritual benefits I gain as an ongoing volunteer for iEARN.

December 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

CIEE started working with iEARN on administering the YES Program 5 years ago. We have enjoyed a strong and positive working relationship over the years and share a fantastic group of YES Program Alumni that are bringing change to their countries every day. We have found our colleagues at iEARN to be responsive, professional and a pleasure to work with. CIEE and iEARN share a common mission to help young people gain understanding, acquire knowledge, and develop skills for living in a globally interdependent and culturally diverse world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers