Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

iEARN began with a simple idea, years before the Web was created: With telecommunications, people could reach out across the world and work together with other people, regardless of their governments' official stances. For 25 years, this network has flourished with trust. This network was and still is a chain of friends and friends of friends.

Not only are some of my closest friends members of this chain and not only have these friendships enrich and transformed my personal life, but iEARN members' technological savvy in building community strengthened my own professional expertise as co-founder and editor of the National Geographic's Intranet. Together, we -- my iEARN friends and I -- have found joy in using using pre-Web bulletin boards, the Web, email, snail mail, e-newletters and print publications, art, photos and video to make the world a better place. We have been doing this for decades.

I am a volunteer, a donor, a board member, and this year, I am a teacher who is using iEARN projects at César Chavez Prep, a public charter school for 6-th - 9th grades in Washington, DC. If you could have watched my 6th graders in the Holiday Card Exchange project today, you would experience something precious and such a proof of why iEARN is important and why it's motto: Learn with the World, is so accurate.

In the beginning of the year, each of the seven children in my enrichment class selected one school from our assigned group of eight schools. Earlier this week, we sealed our boxes and mailed them (we had to get boxes, the children decided, so we could include Halloween candy along with our cards for the multitude of holidays between now and New Year's.)

You have to understand, the children have remembered their city since the very first day they chose their partner. And finally, today, we started to visualize ourselves in our cities as we get ready to to write to our partners on the forum. As the students looked up the temperatures for tomorrow and decided what they'd wear to school (40 degrees in Russia; 88 degrees in Taiwan), they kept finding photos of their cities. They'd exclaim in delight: "Look how beautiful Minsk is!" "Look, there is snow on the mountains in Slovenia!" "OH! LOOK" The latter was a video of an extraordinary festival of lights in Krasnoyarsk, Russia.

We stopped what we were doing to watch the Russian video and we studied it carefully, trying to figure out when the festival is held. There was snow, so later then now, we decided, and then we saw a decorated Christmas tree. We think this must be a Christmas festival. But we don't. know. Rosa, the student who has Krasnoyarsk, can't wait to write and ask for more details on Monday when we meet again. Rosa wants to make a powerpoint about Krasnoyarsk, and the others are excited now to show off their cities and schools. They'll have so much to write about and to ask. I can't wait to see what will unfold next.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out how to involve more teachers in an experience that can transform their lives as well as their students. [See "Ali and Me," a short video I made about one such iEARN experience in my life. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4mexVZKS50

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome organization that give youth the skills and opportunity to make a difference in their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic organization. The children
benefit greatly from our communication with each other!!
The conference in Doha was so inspiring.
I am a teacher in Texas , HPISD.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am the country coordinator and representative of iEARN in Algeria.
I have been working with iEARN since 2009.
I teach English to teens and being engaged with iEARN makes my job different and more interesting.
I no more teach in the classroom but the global community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would work hard to involve more and more students and teachers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I said everything about iEARN in my article on this page
http://eltalgeria-ime.webs.com/my-global-family-in-qatar

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a master, veteran teacher who has traveled extensively, taught all science subjects to all levels of students and been involved with the scouting program for 28 years. So, you can see, I have been involved in all aspects of life that iEARN offers. I embrace globalism among my students and iEARN offers a wide range of student driven, student active and student interest projects that are shared all over the world. I cannot express my satisfaction with the projects available, the staff and the global environment that is iEARN. If you only have one choice for a resource site , this is it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none at this time

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with iEARN as a teacher for the past year. They have provided me professional development, connected me with educators around the world virtually and in person, and hosted projects between classes. I attended their international conference in Doha, Qatar and had the chance to meet many teachers who have worked with iEARN for upwards of 10-15 years. Many of them said, "I could not do my job without this organization." They are doing amazing work and the people I have worked with in the organization truly believe in education for all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money so they could do more of what they already do-- especially bringing people together face to face to develop projects that can be sustaining.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently worked with this terrific organization as a trainer for two workshops teaching digital storytelling skills to international students, and I would be more than thrilled to work with iEarn again. I truly believe that iEarn has made it possible for these students to learn skills that will change their lives and enable them to share what they have learned with the world. All the iEarn personnel were immensely professional and deeply caring people who I am proud and grateful to have had the privilege to work with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

For more than a decade I have partnered with iEarn-USA on a number of international collaborations: launching Adobe Youth Voices, producing short documentaries, and most recently co-producing a series of digital storytelling workshops. While some of the faces change over the years, the energy and focus of their work has never wavered. iEarn has somehow established an internal culture of good spirit and collaboration that is so easy to see in the hundreds of students, teachers and partners I've met over the years. I am an admiring outsider who is very proud to have the chance to collaborate with such fantastic, hard-working people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 13, 2011

As a 5th grade teacher in the USA, I am committed to incorporating global, problem based learning into my instruction. iEARN is a leader in providing collaborative opportunities to learn about the wor... more

November 30, 2012

What a wonderful organization. The work iEARN does with teachers and students round the globe is life changing, and in these turbulent times, it is organizations like iEARN that can truly make a difference in our ever-smaller world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

As a 5th grade teacher in the USA, I am committed to incorporating global, problem based learning into my instruction. iEARN is a leader in providing collaborative opportunities to learn about the world along side students from around the globe. Their curriculum based selection tool is an amazing way for teachers to tailor projects to fit their country or state curriculum. The opportunity to work with students and teachers in Taiwan, Dubai, Jordan, Russia, Sierra Leone, Canada, Morocco, Czech Republic, Slovenia, and Pakistan just in this school year has been a life changing experience for not only my students, but for myself as an educator as well. The professional iEARN staff is incredibly helpful and supportive, which is invaluable to a busy teacher.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers