Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The International Education and Research Network (iEARN) is an invaluable resource for educators and youth workers, alike. The collaborative projects engage students on issues ranging from the environment to peace-building through civic action. As a social science educator of secondary students with special needs, iEARN offers a variety of projects in which students of all abilities can participate and contribute to the international community through dialogue. The exchange of ideas, traditions and cultures that occurs in iEARN forums, online courses and projects utilizing instructional technology is vital to the development of 21st Century skills among students. This non-profit organization is inclusive and supports the needs of individuals in a warm, caring way. My students feel empowered and hopeful about their future after having participated in an iEARN project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see it advertised more.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

This is a fantastic organization. The children benefit greatly from our communication with each other!! The conference in Doha was so inspiring. I am a teacher in Texas , HPISD. more

October 21, 2014

This organization, International Education and Research Network, reaches far and wide. I have participated each semester for five years with third and fourth graders.
The children are so excited when they hear from other countries. I have experienced the Teddy Bear Project, Learning Circles
for five semesters, an online course, the daffodil project, and presented at the iEARN conference in Argentina in 2014. Other teachers from our district, HPISD, located in Texas are
on the band wagon, too.
I have always tried to bring the world into my classroom and this is a wonderful and safe way to expose them to other cultures. Log on and see what you are missing.
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic organization. The children
benefit greatly from our communication with each other!!
The conference in Doha was so inspiring.
I am a teacher in Texas , HPISD.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

IEARN has been a great partner with www.myhero.com for more than a decade. The first time I went to an IEARN global conference was in Slovakia in 2012 representing The MY HERO Project. The amazing teachers and students gathered there from all over the world participating in workshops, sharing their cultures, communities and passion for learning made my husband and 12 year old daughter and myself believe that the world would indeed be ok.
I facilitate The MY HERO Global Learning Circles with Barry Kramer from IEARN. I always say we bring the world into your classroom and your class into the world. It always proves to be an uplifting, inspiring experience for all concerned and gives the next generations a better understanding of the world beyond their border. Thanks IEARN for all you do and for all those you reach.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

As an English teacher I feel responsible to give my students a real learning opportunity in an actual situation, so learning circles are very helpful. Since cooperation is global, they feel a lot more motivated to learn and to work.
October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 14, 2011

While we are new to the iEARN family, we are not new to the wonderful world of not-for -profit organizations. Both of us come from the corporate world and about 25 years ago decided to shift gears an... more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Twenty years ago we founded Kids Can Make A Difference (KIDS) and spent 17 years as a program of WhyHunger. Both of us come from the corporate world and devote our efforts to making our community, country and world a better place for all. Jane had recently received her Doctorate in Nutrition Education from Columbia University. Her overriding interest was in hunger in the world. Since there is enough food in the world to feed everyone, she wanted to find out why hunger and poverty continue to persist.

At the time, Larry decided to bring his knowledge of marketing to address this problem, and we joined WhyHunger to aid in their efforts to alleviate hunger and poverty. We started as volunteer fund raisers for the organization and shortly thereafter became members of the board.

We came to the conclusion that if any real change was going to happen, it would have to be brought about by people younger than the members of the WhyHunger Board. This lead to the establishment of Kids Can Make A Difference (KIDS) 20 years ago.

This relationship with WhyHunger continued until three years ago, when we felt that the time had come for a change. We no longer felt that being an education program embedded in a hunger program was the direction that would carry KIDS into the 21 Century.

KIDS needed to be allied with an education program that desired a strong hunger and poverty component. We did our home work and found that there was only one candidate that we felt would be a perfect fit for us.

That program was the International Education and Resource Network (iEARN).

We were impressed with iEARN’s mission and most of all with the management and staff of the organization. In our three years as a program of iEARN, Kids has been nurtured and has flourished. While we still are on a learning curve, with the establishment of the Finding Solutions Project we now have students in many schools and countries learning about the root causes of hunger and poverty and working together to develop solutions where they can make a difference.

We look forward to continued growth within the iEarn network.

Peace,

Larry & Jane Levine
December 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

While we are new to the iEARN family, we are not new to the wonderful world of not-for -profit organizations.

Both of us come from the corporate world and about 25 years ago decided to shift gears and devote our efforts to making our community, country and world a better place for all.
Jane had recently received her Doctorate in Nutrition Education from Columbia University. Her overriding interest was in hunger in the world. Since there is enough food in the world to feed everyone, she wanted to find out why hunger and poverty continue to persist.

At the time, Larry decided to bring his knowledge of marketing to address this problem, and we joined WhyHunger to aid in their efforts to alleviate hunger and poverty. We started as volunteer fund raisers for the organization and shortly thereafter became members of the board.

We came to the conclusion that if any real change was going to happen, it would have to be brought about by people younger than the members of the WhyHunger Board. This lead to the establishment of Kids Can Make A Difference (KIDS) 18 years ago. While we were a registered 501 (c)3 not-for-profit, we chose not to become a “free standing” non-profit; instead we became a self-funded program of WhyHunger.

This relationship continued until two years ago, when we felt that the time had come for a change. We no longer felt that being an education program embedded in a hunger program was the direction that would carry KIDS into the 21 Century.

KIDS needed to be allied with an education program that desired a strong hunger and poverty component. We did our home work and found that there was only one candidate that we felt would be a perfect fit for us.

That program was the International Education and Resource Network (iEARN).

We were impressed with iEARN’s mission and most of all with the management of the organization. In our two years as a program of iEARN, Kids has been nurtured and has flourished. While we still are on a learning curve, with the establishment of the Finding Solutions Project we now have students in many schools and countries learning about the root causes of hunger and poverty and working together to develop solutions where they can make a difference.

We look forward to continued growth within the iEarn network.

Peace,

Larry & Jane Levine

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

iEARN is a wonderful window to the world for US students and teachers. It is a networking organization that connects classrooms from over 100 countries in project-based, online learning experiences. Kids learn about others and themselves as they engage in thought-provoking interactions online. The true potential of this organization is helping develop graduates who are prepared to be citizens of the world, able to interact intelligently and in a culturally sensitive manner with their counterparts from throughout the globe.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I first learned about iEARN in 1990. I admired its goal to enhance teaching and learning and to create global citizens by engaging young people in online collaborative educational project work. Over all these years, the organization has kept true to its goals and created a global community of educators and students who interact and collaborate internationally to enable students to both learn their school courses better because they're working with peers, but also to become global citizens.

I wholeheartedly endorse the work that the program and technical staff at iEARN-USA do and encourage others to support the organization.

Regards,

Ed Gragert
October 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2013

I am Samah AlJundi, iEARN Syria Coordinator...When I started working 10 years ago, I was speaking a different language and my community was stunt! iEARN is the vital stage to help peace to prevail and... more

October 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

140 Countries
30 Languages
50,000 Educators
2 Million Youth

iEARN (International Education and Resource Network) is the world's largest non-profit global network that enables teachers and youth to use the Internet and other technologies to collaborate on projects that enhance
learning and make a difference in the world.
I joind iEARN in 2003 and learned a lot and my learning venture is ongoing. iEARN is the window to see the world and to be seen by the world as the PBL grants you to learn with the world not just about it
November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am Samah AlJundi, iEARN Syria Coordinator...When I started working 10 years ago, I was speaking a different language and my community was stunt! iEARN is the vital stage to help peace to prevail and to erase misleading and misinformation. It is the youth voice to be a global citizen and to learn how to gain the 21st century skills

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would focus more on youth workers to support schools

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I joined iEARN only last year as a teacher. After the Doha conference in July, I immediately put information I gained from the conferences and workshops into my lesson plans this year. I am facilitating an iEARN project with 7 other teachers and their classrooms in Nepal, Belarus, Portugal, Dominican Republic, Peru, Guatemala, and California. I'm also looking forward to presenting my students' collaborative projects at another teaching conference this Feb in Mumbai on using technology for social entrepreneurial students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

..make the iEARN interface more like edmodo.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

iEARN is playing a pivotal role in teaching 21st century skills to teachers and students of this era. In the past 25 years, it has achieved milestones and has actually made a difference in the lives of many individuals. I have been associated with iEARN for the past 3 years now and yes, I have seen iEARN contributing to their maximum capacity in bridging cross-cultural differences and bringing people closer digitally.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers