Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The International Education and Research Network (iEARN) is an invaluable resource for educators and youth workers, alike. The collaborative projects engage students on issues ranging from the environment to peace-building through civic action. As a social science educator of secondary students with special needs, iEARN offers a variety of projects in which students of all abilities can participate and contribute to the international community through dialogue. The exchange of ideas, traditions and cultures that occurs in iEARN forums, online courses and projects utilizing instructional technology is vital to the development of 21st Century skills among students. This non-profit organization is inclusive and supports the needs of individuals in a warm, caring way. My students feel empowered and hopeful about their future after having participated in an iEARN project.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see it advertised more.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I joined iEARN only last year as a teacher. After the Doha conference in July, I immediately put information I gained from the conferences and workshops into my lesson plans this year. I am facilitating an iEARN project with 7 other teachers and their classrooms in Nepal, Belarus, Portugal, Dominican Republic, Peru, Guatemala, and California. I'm also looking forward to presenting my students' collaborative projects at another teaching conference this Feb in Mumbai on using technology for social entrepreneurial students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

..make the iEARN interface more like edmodo.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am Samah AlJundi, iEARN Syria Coordinator...When I started working 10 years ago, I was speaking a different language and my community was stunt! iEARN is the vital stage to help peace to prevail and to erase misleading and misinformation. It is the youth voice to be a global citizen and to learn how to gain the 21st century skills

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would focus more on youth workers to support schools

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

iEARN is playing a pivotal role in teaching 21st century skills to teachers and students of this era. In the past 25 years, it has achieved milestones and has actually made a difference in the lives of many individuals. I have been associated with iEARN for the past 3 years now and yes, I have seen iEARN contributing to their maximum capacity in bridging cross-cultural differences and bringing people closer digitally.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been an iEARN teacher since 2003 and have been coaching teachers as they globalize their classrooms since 2006. iEARN has made it possible for me to connect hundreds of students with their peers in other countries, to learn about real global issues that they will need to face together. This is the crux of it all- students learn by doing, and the essential task of our time is to learn to work together. The many projects and highly invested educators create a rich environment for working together- the kids do the rest and it is magical.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have two conferences each year and thereby double the intimacy of this community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with IEARN since the beginning and in different ways over the past 25 years of history. Recently I have joined the board but in the past I was a facilitator for Learning Circles on iEARN. What makes iEARN so valuable is the personal connections that are created between students and teachers in classrooms around the world. In learning circles classrooms have the experience of leading a world wide group of students in a project that helps them learn more about themselves as they learn more about others. This reflection and understanding helps students to acquire a sense of global citizenship that will be so valuable in our shared future. Learning how to learn from and with people who are different with respect and curiosity are skills that are vital to world order. THere is no organization that is doing a better job of helping students develop new perspectives and empowering them to solve real problems in their communities and across the world. The stories are rich and varied but all end with a renewed sense of the wonder and power of the human spirit to find ways to get past amazing challenges.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change they they share their name. I would suggest that Internationalearn is a stronger representation of what they do and could be a different way of shortening the International Education and Resource Network.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a young creative and energetic English teacher from small town in Sarband in the south of Tajikistan. I heard about IEARN in english teacher conference in 2007 and then I was the first english teacher in my country who benifited from iEARN projects starting from 2007 till now and later i become contact person of iEARN in my country.
Our first project was Folk tales. I gathered 5 english speaking students and later i opened english club and we searched tajik folk tales and translated them and shared it in forum.We read folk tales from other countries and found similarities.Students undestood through folk tales that the world is small we all share the same things but it has different names in all countries. learning moral of the tales students changed and stood out from other students in school. Students drew pictures, acted folk tales for big audience at school and read a folk tale in elementary schools. In one word, this projct chnaged my students at school and me. Later, we gathered all our folk tales and got a grant and published our Tajik folk tales book. Now we have abook from this project. Then in 2010 we took project School uniform we exchanged our school uniform with Taiwan school. It was another life chnaging xperience for my students. All projects of iEARN enhance 21 st century skills which is very important for students all over the wolrd. The georgraphy of my students become good they saw many students from other countries participating and learning about other country at the same time.
I always wanted to do my lessons and projects to keep engageed and motivated my students.I was lucky that only our school in our small town has internet access and I use internet on the right way. Iearn not only changed me as young teacher. I become very motivated, creative and with full ideas and with updated knowledge. I was appointed at school the senior English teacher at methodical union and conducted workshop once in amoth for teachers at school. iEARN become part of me and i involve all students and teachers to use this website as it changed one ordinary teacher from small town.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This website is perfect i just only say to add more more projects.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

iEARN began with a simple idea, years before the Web was created: With telecommunications, people could reach out across the world and work together with other people, regardless of their governments' official stances. For 25 years, this network has flourished with trust. This network was and still is a chain of friends and friends of friends.

Not only are some of my closest friends members of this chain and not only have these friendships enrich and transformed my personal life, but iEARN members' technological savvy in building community strengthened my own professional expertise as co-founder and editor of the National Geographic's Intranet. Together, we -- my iEARN friends and I -- have found joy in using using pre-Web bulletin boards, the Web, email, snail mail, e-newletters and print publications, art, photos and video to make the world a better place. We have been doing this for decades.

I am a volunteer, a donor, a board member, and this year, I am a teacher who is using iEARN projects at C├ęsar Chavez Prep, a public charter school for 6-th - 9th grades in Washington, DC. If you could have watched my 6th graders in the Holiday Card Exchange project today, you would experience something precious and such a proof of why iEARN is important and why it's motto: Learn with the World, is so accurate.

In the beginning of the year, each of the seven children in my enrichment class selected one school from our assigned group of eight schools. Earlier this week, we sealed our boxes and mailed them (we had to get boxes, the children decided, so we could include Halloween candy along with our cards for the multitude of holidays between now and New Year's.)

You have to understand, the children have remembered their city since the very first day they chose their partner. And finally, today, we started to visualize ourselves in our cities as we get ready to to write to our partners on the forum. As the students looked up the temperatures for tomorrow and decided what they'd wear to school (40 degrees in Russia; 88 degrees in Taiwan), they kept finding photos of their cities. They'd exclaim in delight: "Look how beautiful Minsk is!" "Look, there is snow on the mountains in Slovenia!" "OH! LOOK" The latter was a video of an extraordinary festival of lights in Krasnoyarsk, Russia.

We stopped what we were doing to watch the Russian video and we studied it carefully, trying to figure out when the festival is held. There was snow, so later then now, we decided, and then we saw a decorated Christmas tree. We think this must be a Christmas festival. But we don't. know. Rosa, the student who has Krasnoyarsk, can't wait to write and ask for more details on Monday when we meet again. Rosa wants to make a powerpoint about Krasnoyarsk, and the others are excited now to show off their cities and schools. They'll have so much to write about and to ask. I can't wait to see what will unfold next.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out how to involve more teachers in an experience that can transform their lives as well as their students. [See "Ali and Me," a short video I made about one such iEARN experience in my life. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4mexVZKS50

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome organization that give youth the skills and opportunity to make a difference in their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic organization. The children
benefit greatly from our communication with each other!!
The conference in Doha was so inspiring.
I am a teacher in Texas , HPISD.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers