Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Mental Health, Mental Health & Crisis Intervention

Mission: Idaho Drug Free Youth’s mission is to eliminate alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use among Idaho’s youth.

Target demographics: Idaho Students in grades 6-12

Geographic areas served: Idaho

Programs: Idaho Drug Free Youth Chapters Idaho Youth Summit IDFY Leadership Retreat i2i Underage Drinking Prevention Program VOICE: Student to Student Mentoring Program

Community Stories

10 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Alyssa6

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Idfy has been a part of my life since I was in the 7th grade. Since then they have slowly worked hundreds of other wonderful people into my life. All of whom have impacted my life in someway. I am now a freshman in college and am still a big part of IDFY. They have helped so many young lives live healthy drug free lives and have helped me in such a way I wouldnt know how to thank them. They have helped me grow into the bright young leader I am today. If it werent for them, I may have ended up an alcoholic or drug addict because of family issues, but because of IDFY I am a healty 18 year old college student working toward my teaching degree to help better more of our youths lives. IDFY is not all about being drug free. Its much more. Its life-changing, impactful, and probieds a promising, positive safe-haven for any youth of Idaho. IDFY helps youth be themselves, also become better leaders of their future, and to shine! Everybody has their own story, and IDFY gives us a place to share them.

1 Rebecca23456

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I started with IDFY on their board of directors back in 2007 and find this organization to be the single most inspiring and beneficial group for young people. The Idaho Drug Free Youth Summit is a must-attend and so worth it to expose middle school and high school kids at every level and walk of life. I have two siblings who struggled with substance abuse most of their lives and this program was instrumental in helping me reflect, learn and grow from that impact. I defy!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

idahodrugfreeyouth 09/27/2011

Thanks Rebecca for your great feedback and your service to IDFY. You are key player to the success of the program.

Kristin23

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been both a participant and a volunteer for IDFY for a total of 9 years. I am currently a graduate student of Social Work, and IDFY prepared me for this program in so many ways. It taught me leadership skills, within both large and small groups, as well as creative thinking for activities and group planning and facilitating.

IDFY is a powerful program that impacts both the teenagers that it works with and the adults who give their time to be a volunteer. It teaches connectivity and compassion towards others; IDFY also celebrates our differences.

IDFY is a great program for promoting drug and alcohol free practices within teenagers. But this program doesn't stop there. It seeks to reach not only teenagers, but teachers, parents, and other adults in the community to help with the mission of eradicating drug and alcohol use and abuse among teenagers.

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have literally watched and experience the life-saving and life-changing experience that Idaho Drug Free Youth offers so graciously. I have done work with countless non-profits; none are as successful, organized, fun, or genuine as IDFY.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

idahodrugfreeyouth 09/23/2011

Thank you Chris for your time, dedication, and passion for our mission. We are so thankful for people like you and the feedback you provide.

Kelly2345678910

Volunteer

Rating: 5

IDFY helps develop leadership, friendships and positive peer influence! I know this first hand as a mother of two IDFY students. I was so impressed with the program and positive impact IDFY has on the youth that particpate, that three years ago I volunteered to become a chaper advisor..

IDFY is the best! If you are a youth, get connected with your local chapter. If you are an adult that works with youth and/or are a parent, find your local chapter. If you don't have a local chapter, START ONE at your school!

Thank you IDFY for making a difference for the youth in Idaho!

1 Mahrika W.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I went to IDFY for the first time 5 years ago as a shy, scared little 7th grader. I had very little self confidence and was scared to death of large people or making a fool of myself. IDFY has helped me become more concrete in my decision to stay drug and substance free and has also made me a more self confident young woman. IDFY has helped me realize that people love me for who I am, and that I, even though I am just one person, that I have the potential to change the world.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

idahodrugfreeyouth 09/22/2011

Thank you Mahrika for your excellent feedback! Your time and dedication to the program is what makes it so extraordinary.

1 Marco E.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Idaho Drug Free youth does a ton to build self esteem in young people around being drug and alcohol free, and promotes healthy living, and unity in communities. IDFY is the most amazing nonprofit in Idaho that serves youth and can do the most good with every dollar donated.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

idahodrugfreeyouth 09/22/2011

Thank You Marco for your feedback! We are so appreciative of your support and dedication to the program! It would not be as impactful without volunteers like you!

1 Andrew Charles

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Idaho Drug Free Youth. This organization is a miracle in and of itself. It provides an open road to opportunity for everyone who reaches their hand out for help or who looks deeper into the program. On top of the outstanding leadership development and networking opportunities that everyone is exposed to everyday.

IDFY has without a doubt, changed my life forever. When I was in Junior High (the teenage transition)...I was literally the most shy person in my entire school; most likely one of the top hermits in the community/county as a matter of fact. Basically 'zero' friends. Yet, one of my only friends at the time insisted that I attend this meeting for a substance-free living group called 'insomnia outbreak.'

Upon attending the first official meeting, I was struck with fascination. My curiosity was radiant and I had this little voice telling me, "There's more Andrew, there's actually more to this life!" That meeting alone prevented my thoughts at the time. Suicide. Now, I don't mean to write that to freak anyone out, because there's a light at the end of this dark tunnel.

Long story short, I was later invited to attend this event called the "Idaho Youth Summit." Now, I had no idea what to make of it...frankly, I had no intent on attending, but at the beginning of being a member for this group, my benefit was to get to attend events for free. Therefore, I went...not knowing what was in store for me. I'll save you the emotional rambling and tell you this...because of this spectacular organization, I'm alive.

This program has saved my life and saved the lives of SO many others. I no longer focus on the benefit of getting free admission to events/activities; I focus on the benefit of helping others, making a difference in the world, changing lives one idea at a time. I believe that there's a potential for everyone...an extraordinary potential that we can all tap into and evoke the most sincere compassion, the most meaningful acts of kindness...I believe that we can change the world.

"Be the change you have been waiting for." ~ Well my friends...Idaho Drug Free Youth IS the change we have been waiting for.

With much love and warm regards,
Andrew Charles (aka Super Cow)

Comments ( 1 )

profile

idahodrugfreeyouth 09/22/2011

Thank You Andrew for all that you have done for IDFY--including writing this excellent review! Your support is appreciated!

1 Kerri W.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

The culture of IDFY is one of education, empowerment, and fun! From the week to week chapter meetings in the schools, to the annual Idaho Youth Summit they hold, youth are experiencing an environment where they know they can be themselves, they can share their joys and worries, and they are encouraged on the path of healthy maturity.

Research proves that connectedness is essential to good health, good choices, and good behaviors. IDFY provides quality connectedness for thousands of youth across our great state!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

idahodrugfreeyouth 09/20/2011

Thank You, Kerri, for your valuable feedback!

Isabelle M.

Volunteer

Rating: 3

I would like to introduce myself, my name is Isabelle Messica, and I work with the Dr. Waismann. His work is remarkable, he has been treated over 16.000 patients worldwide.
If you could advise families that there is a light after the tunnel.

http://youtu.be/QcX9vPHvYe8



Dr Waismann's Mission
In this age of violence, when death is often viewed as a legitimate commodity, when policies on management of famine, terror, diseases and ignorance are determined by political lobbies, when one person’s tragedy becomes another’s evening of entertainment, we must seek grace and find a place where each one of us can still make a difference.
Millions of people worldwide suffer from Opiate Dependency. Too often society condemns them for crimes they are not responsible for, and moral prejudice together with theories about addictive personalities prevent these people from obtaining the medical care they urgently need.
Opiate abuse is widespread with no effective available treatment. Its victims are not viewed as patients, but more usually - as outlaws. Society has pushed them to the gutters and the dark alleys of life, in an attempt to protect itself from them. The solution has been addictive opiate replacements and long term isolation from society. Rehabilitation centers around the world offer sufferers of opiate dependency a treatment that involves a long tormenting withdrawal syndrome which is bad enough but to make it worse, this withdrawal syndrome is followed by biologically-rooted craving.
Failing to provide a better solution, the suffering is justified for its so-called "therapeutic value". This process prevents patients from seeking treatment, and among those who do seek treatment, many drop out. Worse of all, is that the minority that does complete the treatment is likely to relapse and as a result is more reluctant to seek treatment again.
Opiate Dependency requires professional medical care. Unfortunately, it has been treated by social workers, psychologists, psychiatrists, and law enforcement personnel. However, times have changed, and Opiate Dependency has finally been recognized as a central nervous system disorder caused by continuous opiate intake. Therefore, we must not judge, punish, or morally confront those with Opiate Dependency, but provide them with the appropriate medical attention, they urgently need to reverse the withdrawal and its cravings.
Join us in the fight against human suffering, and witness the birth of a new era.

Angie,

I will be more than happy to assist you for more details.
Best Regards,

Isabelle Messica
isabelle@anrclinic.info
www.anrclinic.info

Tel: + 972-546960748

Comments ( 1 )

profile

idahodrugfreeyouth 09/20/2011

Thank you for sharing your information, however, we do not feel your review accurately portrays our mission nor applies to our audience in Idaho.