Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.882355
Write A Review
October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

Idfy has been a part of my life since I was in the 7th grade. Since then they have slowly worked hundreds of other wonderful people into my life. All of whom have impacted my life in someway. I am now a freshman in college and am still a big part of IDFY. They have helped so many young lives live healthy drug free lives and have helped me in such a way I wouldnt know how to thank them. They have helped me grow into the bright young leader I am today. If it werent for them, I may have ended up an alcoholic or drug addict because of family issues, but because of IDFY I am a healty 18 year old college student working toward my teaching degree to help better more of our youths lives. IDFY is not all about being drug free. Its much more. Its life-changing, impactful, and probieds a promising, positive safe-haven for any youth of Idaho. IDFY helps youth be themselves, also become better leaders of their future, and to shine! Everybody has their own story, and IDFY gives us a place to share them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I started with IDFY on their board of directors back in 2007 and find this organization to be the single most inspiring and beneficial group for young people. The Idaho Drug Free Youth Summit is a must-attend and so worth it to expose middle school and high school kids at every level and walk of life. I have two siblings who struggled with substance abuse most of their lives and this program was instrumental in helping me reflect, learn and grow from that impact. I defy!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my every day life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it nationwide!

September 24, 2011

more

September 24, 2011

I have been both a participant and a volunteer for IDFY for a total of 9 years. I am currently a graduate student of Social Work, and IDFY prepared me for this program in so many ways. It taught me leadership skills, within both large and small groups, as well as creative thinking for activities and group planning and facilitating.

IDFY is a powerful program that impacts both the teenagers that it works with and the adults who give their time to be a volunteer. It teaches connectivity and compassion towards others; IDFY also celebrates our differences.

IDFY is a great program for promoting drug and alcohol free practices within teenagers. But this program doesn't stop there. It seeks to reach not only teenagers, but teachers, parents, and other adults in the community to help with the mission of eradicating drug and alcohol use and abuse among teenagers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my own life. I have gained leadership skills, attentive listening skills, and skills for connecting with teenagers and clients in general, all which have helped me in my studies of Social Work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see it be able to reach more communities. It is often limited by funding, and I believe it could do so much more good if it were able to reach farther into more communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have literally watched and experience the life-saving and life-changing experience that Idaho Drug Free Youth offers so graciously. I have done work with countless non-profits; none are as successful, organized, fun, or genuine as IDFY.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...every aspect of happiness in this gift of life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger and fund it much better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The greatest motivator for continued altruism I have ever experienced.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

As though I honestly have never had it so good.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 22, 2011

more

September 22, 2011

IDFY helps develop leadership, friendships and positive peer influence! I know this first hand as a mother of two IDFY students. I was so impressed with the program and positive impact IDFY has on the youth that particpate, that three years ago I volunteered to become a chaper advisor..

IDFY is the best! If you are a youth, get connected with your local chapter. If you are an adult that works with youth and/or are a parent, find your local chapter. If you don't have a local chapter, START ONE at your school!

Thank you IDFY for making a difference for the youth in Idaho!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen first-hand how this program transforms youth. Many youth that join IDFY are not in sports or other clubs. They are students that choose to be drug free. The IDFY program gives all students a chance to develop leadership skills, build confidence, create positive relationships and guides them in making good choices around the topic of substance abuse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure every school in Idaho had a chapter!

September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I went to IDFY for the first time 5 years ago as a shy, scared little 7th grader. I had very little self confidence and was scared to death of large people or making a fool of myself. IDFY has helped me become more concrete in my decision to stay drug and substance free and has also made me a more self confident young woman. IDFY has helped me realize that people love me for who I am, and that I, even though I am just one person, that I have the potential to change the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My club is more active; there are more students who are willing to make the decision to be drug and substance free and we have a support group to help it stay this way. I am more self confident, and I know I can make a difference in this life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to make money the least of our concerns.

September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Idaho Drug Free youth does a ton to build self esteem in young people around being drug and alcohol free, and promotes healthy living, and unity in communities. IDFY is the most amazing nonprofit in Idaho that serves youth and can do the most good with every dollar donated.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Every time I attend I learn new facts about drugs and alcohol and get inspired to be a community leader and help others to stay drug and alcohol free.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a ton of money so they can do more conferences and be able to serve more people, and hire more full time professionals to make the work spread across the state.

September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Idaho Drug Free Youth. This organization is a miracle in and of itself. It provides an open road to opportunity for everyone who reaches their hand out for help or who looks deeper into the program. On top of the outstanding leadership development and networking opportunities that everyone is exposed to everyday.

IDFY has without a doubt, changed my life forever. When I was in Junior High (the teenage transition)...I was literally the most shy person in my entire school; most likely one of the top hermits in the community/county as a matter of fact. Basically 'zero' friends. Yet, one of my only friends at the time insisted that I attend this meeting for a substance-free living group called 'insomnia outbreak.'

Upon attending the first official meeting, I was struck with fascination. My curiosity was radiant and I had this little voice telling me, "There's more Andrew, there's actually more to this life!" That meeting alone prevented my thoughts at the time. Suicide. Now, I don't mean to write that to freak anyone out, because there's a light at the end of this dark tunnel.

Long story short, I was later invited to attend this event called the "Idaho Youth Summit." Now, I had no idea what to make of it...frankly, I had no intent on attending, but at the beginning of being a member for this group, my benefit was to get to attend events for free. Therefore, I went...not knowing what was in store for me. I'll save you the emotional rambling and tell you this...because of this spectacular organization, I'm alive.

This program has saved my life and saved the lives of SO many others. I no longer focus on the benefit of getting free admission to events/activities; I focus on the benefit of helping others, making a difference in the world, changing lives one idea at a time. I believe that there's a potential for everyone...an extraordinary potential that we can all tap into and evoke the most sincere compassion, the most meaningful acts of kindness...I believe that we can change the world.

"Be the change you have been waiting for." ~ Well my friends...Idaho Drug Free Youth IS the change we have been waiting for.

With much love and warm regards,
Andrew Charles (aka Super Cow)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have experienced what this organization can do first hand. I have had the honor of meeting some of the most unique youth and adults in the state of Idaho and I can promise you, some of the most passionate in this country or on the globe. I've had the pleasure to witness others transform from shelled up teens into passionate, exuberant, expressive youth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Publicize this program on a higher level. TV advertisements, billboards, more statewide events, more participation in national events (even taking it international). Creating a talk show or short series on MTV much like The Buried Life or If You Really Knew Me.

September 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The culture of IDFY is one of education, empowerment, and fun! From the week to week chapter meetings in the schools, to the annual Idaho Youth Summit they hold, youth are experiencing an environment where they know they can be themselves, they can share their joys and worries, and they are encouraged on the path of healthy maturity.

Research proves that connectedness is essential to good health, good choices, and good behaviors. IDFY provides quality connectedness for thousands of youth across our great state!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing life changing - life saving - perspectives of kids in a matter of four days at camp. A safe, nuturing environment is cruicial to positive growth and for some of the kiddos who attend IYS, this is their only such experience. Participating in this environment opens their world to know better how they want their life to be, that they have the power to make their life as such, and that they deserve a good life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to secure long term funding so that the fantastic staff could focus even more energy and attention on developing and spreading IDFY programming to every corner of Idaho.

September 20, 2011

more

September 20, 2011

I would like to introduce myself, my name is Isabelle Messica, and I work with the Dr. Waismann. His work is remarkable, he has been treated over 16.000 patients worldwide.
If you could advise families that there is a light after the
tunnel.

http://youtu.be/QcX9vPHvYe8



Dr Waismann's Mission
In this age of violence, when death is often viewed as a legitimate commodity, when policies on management of famine, terror, diseases and ignorance are determined by political lobbies, when one person’s tragedy becomes another’s evening of entertainment, we must seek grace and find a place where each one of us can still make a difference.
Millions of people worldwide suffer from Opiate Dependency. Too often society condemns them for crimes they are not responsible for, and moral prejudice together with theories about addictive personalities prevent these people from obtaining the medical care they urgently need.
Opiate abuse is widespread with no effective available treatment. Its victims are not viewed as patients, but more usually - as outlaws. Society has pushed them to the gutters and the dark alleys of life, in an attempt to protect itself from them. The solution has been addictive opiate replacements and long term isolation from society. Rehabilitation centers around the world offer sufferers of opiate dependency a treatment that involves a long tormenting withdrawal syndrome which is bad enough but to make it worse, this withdrawal syndrome is followed by biologically-rooted craving.
Failing to provide a better solution, the suffering is justified for its so-called "therapeutic value". This process prevents patients from seeking treatment, and among those who do seek treatment, many drop out. Worse of all, is that the minority that does complete the treatment is likely to relapse and as a result is more reluctant to seek treatment again.
Opiate Dependency requires professional medical care. Unfortunately, it has been treated by social workers, psychologists, psychiatrists, and law enforcement personnel. However, times have changed, and Opiate Dependency has finally been recognized as a central nervous system disorder caused by continuous opiate intake. Therefore, we must not judge, punish, or morally confront those with Opiate Dependency, but provide them with the appropriate medical attention, they urgently need to reverse the withdrawal and its cravings.
Join us in the fight against human suffering, and witness the birth of a new era.

Angie,

I will be more than happy to assist you for more details.
Best Regards,

Isabelle Messica
isabelle@anrclinic.info
www.anrclinic.info

Tel: + 972-546960748

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen over thousand of patient's recovery and get back to live and freedom, families and friends should be aware that there is a light at the end of the tunnel

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

go over the world to help all those families

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers