Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 24, 2015

more

February 24, 2015

What a blessing and a joy for me to be able to create Connor Benjamin's Red Power Ranger cake for his 4th birthday. He is fighting leukemia and is going to win his battle, like the Power Ranger he is. This was my first cake with Icing Smiles. I run a Home Cottage bakery, Austintatious Cakes, LLC, in McKinney, Tx, and I hope Austintatious Cakes is able to help this extraordinary charitable institution again and again. Thank you! You made my heart full!
February 11, 2015

more

February 11, 2015

As a new volunteer, I just delivered my first cake for the 8th birthday of a little girl battling osteogenesis imperfecta (aka broken bone disease). I can't tell you how much it meant to see first-hand the joy it brought to her and her loving family! The hours it took to make her "snowflake" dream cake were a small price to pay to make such a dear little girl's day special. I would like to encourage the many other bakers out there, both home and professional , to volunteer for this wonderful experience. It is something I will never forget, and I look forward to being called upon again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

February 9, 2015

more

February 9, 2015

I cannot express what an honor it was for Jan's Sugarland of Cakes to be able to make Jannine's dream cake for her 5th birthday! Such a beautiful little girl with eyes so blue, it was hard to imagine all that she has endured in her young life. I can assure you that while she received the Frozen Themed Cake that she wanted, it was I that received the blessing ! Thank you everyone at Icing Smiles for all that you do and thank you for giving me such a beautiful memory to carry with me the rest of my life.
November 30, 2014

more

November 30, 2014

This was my first time baking for icing smiles and it was by far the most rewarding experience of my baking career. I was able to donate a cake to a lovely young lady and I gained so much from the experience. Tracey and the entire organization support the volunteers and families throughout the process to make it magical. Thank you Icing Smiles for being such a wonderful organization!
November 28, 2014

more

November 28, 2014

This was my first time baking for an Icing Smiles recipient. I had a wonderful experience meeting the child and the family who received the cake. The child was only a year old but his family was so appreciative! I was truly moved by this family's story. Really made my week to bring smiles to such a wonderful family that had been through so much!
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

today i delivered my third cake for Icing Smiles. a little background--i am a home baker and pretty much self taught in cake decorating. when i see the cakes being donated on various posts i never feel as though my cakes would be as great. i know, i know, it's about the children but you know what i mean! i guess i always worried that a child would be disappointed. Anyway, when i received pictures of the little boy with his cake--and i saw that smile--true, genuine happiness--all of my self doubt went out the window.

i love this organization and i'm so proud to be a part of it. My rep in NC is such a delight to work with. She is so nice in addition to being super professional. Keep up the good work Icing Smiles!!
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

Can i just say this is my second opportunity to bake for a child from this group of great bakers. Every time is just as exciting as the first. My first one was a year ago for a 16 years old boy who loved Miami Heat and yesterday I got to bake for a precious 2 year old who loves Mickey and got to meet TJ. The smile on each child's face and the reaction from parents who are forever grateful is payment enough and makes what I love to do so easy! I count it an honor and a privilege every time I get chosen to do what I do by baking and being a part of these families life and memories. It brings me great joy to relieve a parents worries about their child who has health issues and give them a few hours of happiness. what a BLESSING! Thank you Icing Smiles for allowing me to be a part of a great orginizations!
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I volunteered to be a baker for Icing Smiles, and I got the privilege of making a cake for 16 year old Ashlynn, who has two younger brothers who are affected by a childhood illness called mitochondrial disease. This wonderful experience not only allowed me to do what I love, baking and decorating a cake, but also allowed me to meet an incredible family, and made me aware of the mito disease which I had never heard about. It felt amazing to provide this cake for this family, and being it was my first call to action for Icing Smiles, I know I will never forget this particular cake or the family. And also as for Icing Smiles, my NC State Representative was very helpful and involved with the entire process & was in contact from start to finish. I so hope I get the opportunity to do this again.
September 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 14, 2014

I had the honor of creating a "fun" cake and cupcakes for an amazing young boy named Ben, Ben was celebrating his 7th birthday amid his treatments, the SMILE on Ben's face when he first saw his cake a... more

September 29, 2014

Icing Smiles is an amazing organization that I am very proud to be a part of. I just had the honor to answer my second call to action and it was just as great of an experience as the first. This organization provides such a great service to children in need! What a wonderful way to be able to give back even
if it is in such a small way. I would highly recommend this organization, everyone I have had contact with have been professional and courteous!
April 14, 2014

I had the honor of creating a "fun" cake and cupcakes for an amazing young boy named Ben, Ben was
celebrating his 7th birthday amid his treatments, the SMILE on Ben's face when he first saw his cake and cupcakes was priceless. This was such a positive experience for me as a baker and as a
person. This
organization is a blessing for these children and their families. I hope to be a part of Icing Smiles for a long time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

It was a HUGE honor for me to be able to be a sugar angel. But i HAD to come and write about the experience from the volunteer side. i absolutely LOVED the fact that my icing smiles rep was super considerate of my time. They gave me a quite a bit of notice, and it was nice that they put a serving size limit on the cake. We all want to go above and beyond for these families, but it was nice for it to be acknowledged that we are donating. Everyone was really appreciative. I cant wait for the next cake!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers