Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

Icing Smiles is a wonderful organization! I've been an official member for a little over a year now and have answered two calls to action. The first was for a delivery of two cakes for a baker in another city who had sick children of her own and couldn't make the delivery. It was at that moment I knew I was in the right place! The look on the mom's face was priceless--and I didn't even make the cakes! I couldn't wait to get the actual call for me to do one!

My first "real" call for cake came in March 2014 for a pirate ship cake! I was so excited but it seemed at that moment, God had other plans for me as He delivered a pretty serious ice storm to my town that knocked out my power for many hours when I was to be decorating this cake! It broke my heart to turn it down at the last minute and ask for another baker to take it over.

The next call I received was for a birthday cake for a young man who was having a transplant. I was so excited and then the call came that it was going to have to wait a bit because they had decided to wait til David's 100th day after his transplant to have a celebration. So I waited again.... and as the day was approaching, I got the dreaded message that David had passed away! Tracey asked me in that email if I would consider doing a Celebration of Life cake for David should his family want one. Of course I said YES!! That event was scheduled for August 9th, 2014 and I was able to present David's momma with an ocean themed two tier red velvet cake with a giant Ocean Sunfish on top of the cake. It was a challenge to do as I had never formed a fish out of gumpaste before but his mom loved it as it looked just like the pillow that David used for comfort during his early childhood and during his battle with his illness. Now it became a comfort for his family and to have the fish on top of the cake was extremely fitting.

I look forward to the day that I can do another cake for this wonderful organization and I'm very proud to be a part of something that brings joy to so many others!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing! These folks are super caring, very organized and are all around great people doing a great thing for kids and families that have been through some horrific experiences!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

Being the first time that I created a cake for a little boy, I really did not know what to expect. He requested a bobcat tractor cake. I had such a great time decorating and then delivering the cake to his birthday party. Make a Wish volunteers were so welcoming and the little boy enjoyed everything that was going on for him. I would volunteer again for Icing Smiles....seeing the happiness and joy on the face of those children who are sick, is the greatest gift.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I recently had the please of working with icing smiles to donate a Mine Craft cake to a young boy with autism, who had twin brothers a terminal condition. They were so wonderful to work with and I hope I am contacted again soon to work with another family and this beautiful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I have had the pleasure of doing 4 cakes for Icing Smiles, three of them have been for a sick child and one was for a sibling. Each experience has been wonderful and the families have been so great to work with. They can't think you enough for doing something for them but I feel it is me who has been given a great experience in providing smiles for these kids and families who are going through so much. The last one I did a couple weeks ago was for a little girl who was turning 1 and in Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh receiving chemo for leukemia. I got the chance to meet the little girl and she just smiled the whole time even with what she was going through herself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 27, 2014

more

July 27, 2014

I was honored to be asked to bake the Ronald McDonald house of Pittsburgh 35th anniversary cake. It was a wonderful experience to work with icing smiles and the rmh . I can't wait to get my next call to action. I'm so glad to be able to share my work with others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 26, 2014

more

July 26, 2014

I am so thankful for the opportunity Icing Smiles gave me. I made a Elmo theme cake for a little girl Hannah. I am so grateful for meeting Hannah and her family. Hannah is one special little girl and has touched the hearts of so many homes, including mine. It is amazing to see and follow her story everyday. She is such a fighter. #hopeforhannah forever in my heart

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 26, 2014

more

July 26, 2014

I am so thankful for the wonderful opportunity that Icing Smiles gave me to create a smile for a wonderful little boy and his family. I baked and decorated a two tiered cake themed in one of the little boy's favorite characters. I so much enjoyed meeting the family and presenting my cake in person. I am thankful to Icing Smiles for having the confidence in me to offer this assignment. This is a great, heart-warming organization that makes a difference in people's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

We had a great time making a cake for Jacob. It was our first time making a cake for Icing Smiles. We realy appreciate the opportunity to help. Look forward to helping again. This is why I started making cakes in the first place. It does my heart good to see a smile on a childs face.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 18, 2014

more

July 18, 2014

We had the honor of working with Eric from Denny's 5th Street Bakery in Bloomington, MN. The cake he made for our son Tyler is AMAZING! It is so obvious that Eric spent a lot of time on this cake and my son just loves it. It is beautiful! We have never had a birthday cake in our household of that magnitude and I am so impressed with the friendliness and professionalism I encountered at the bakery. Thank you Icing Smiles for getting us in touch with this bakery! This was a fantastic experience and it made my sons day!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe just a little clearer communication and easier website. Otherwise it was great!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014

more

July 10, 2014

I have had the priveledge of making two "fun" cakes for Icing Smiles, Inc. and words can't even describe the incredible feeling I have gotten knowing that I have made the two children's life just a little bit brighter. These cakes are non tiered but that doesn't mean that I don't have the ability to create a fun cake with the theme that they choose. The look on their faces when they saw the cakes that I made was priceless! It gave me such a good feeling to know that for just a short while, they can forget about all the pain and suffering they have had to endure with their illness. I am so honored to be a part of this amazing organization and I can't wait to get my next call.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers