Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.991945
Write A Review
October 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2013

ICAN has been a wonderful organization to work with. It truly celebrates diversity by bringing together people of different cultures, backgrounds and professions at crux of passion : of helping others... more

October 13, 2014

My association with ICAN started five years ago when I joined as Web Research Intern, transitioned to Research Team Leader and now working as member of International Physicians Council. During my time at ICAN, I've been extremely impressed by the program's commitment towards health care and cancer research excellence. Personally, I feel so blessed and grateful to have known and worked with such fantastic team without whose dedication and commitment, the gargantuan task of cancer projects can't be completed.

Not only have I enjoy working with Regina (Director Research Services), I learnt the dynamics of effective team management. She has always stood by me and my team whenever we need her and smoothed many hitches by her unconditional hand of cooperation at all times. Her strong work ethic, uplifting spirit, and wonderful attitude makes her an asset for ICAN.

Another person whom I've really enjoy working is Michèle . She is a brilliant Citation Editor who painstakingly corrects every assignment that is sent her way . She has a remarkable ability to oversee a large project without losing sight of the little things.

Last but not the least, The dynamic and passionate leadership of Marcia makes this Non Profit stand out amongst others. I feel that Marcia is an exceptional leader and a genuinely good person. Not only she brings a keen intellect to all quarters of ICAN, she enhances the ICAN community with her worldliness and humanism.

Because though I have branched out higher, the roots have grown a bit more deeper .
As they say " Even the smallest act of caring for another person is like a drop of water -it will make ripples throughout the entire pond...”
I sincerely hope that our ICAN family ripples reach far and wide and make difference in lives of those in need.
September 30, 2013

ICAN has been a wonderful organization to work with. It truly celebrates diversity by bringing together people of different cultures, backgrounds and professions at crux of passion : of helping others. My journey with has been amazing as well as rewarding for ICAN helped me grow as a professional as well as person. Being a Research Team Leader,I had an opportunity to work closely with CEO, Marcia K Horn and Director Research Services, Regina Marie Klopfer. Found them thoroughly professional and always there to smooth the glitches for the team members. ICAN's deep commitment towards empowering late stage cancer patients with latest treatments and approaches speaks volumes for the kind of inspiring organization it is. Outstanding Patient care, high volunteer satisfaction and high professionalism makes ICAN a class apart

I strongly recommend and urge to support ICAN in any way you can. It definitely needs more funding so that even more patients can be helped!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I have been fortunate to work with so many dedicated volunteers over the last two years as part of ICAN’s Research Administration team. I think the most important attribute of ICAN is our quest to always have the timeliest up to date knowledge for doctors, medicines and procedures / trials matched to the patients and families we serve. Most all virtual volunteers rapidly adapt to their assignments from the instructional information we provide and become productive contributors within days of coming on board. The information collected from volunteers goes through a multi-tier process to ensure accuracy and relevance before ever reaching final output for dissemination.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see more people with financial resources contribute towards patient causes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I've been working with ICAN volunteers for about a year and been blown away by the level of commitment of not only the volunteers but the staff as well. All the volunteers questions are quickly resolved allowing the volunteers to focus on their work to help as many patients as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increased funding would allow the org to reach many more patients.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have volunteered for ICAN for almost a year. I considered it to be one of the most serious, well organized and truly devoted to patient care cancer organizations I have had the pleasure to work with. As an MD., I consider my time to be valuable, therefore I'm really thorough about where I spend my free time at. ICAN provides volunteering options for all kinds of professionals as well as accommodating to all types of schedules.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work on the public relations area, since I know there are a lot of serious committed professionals that are willing to dedicate part of their free time to volunteer, however they are worried about the responsibilities and the time that it may take.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have been volunteering for ICAN for about three years now. This is my first volunteering experience and it is an excellent one. I work on the Cancer Literature project, collecting and organizing material for other teams to use. I feel like I am helping others but at the same time I am learning a lot. All contact is by email but I believe I am beginning to know the people I am woking with. The work atmosphere is very pleasant. I believe ICAN fills a unique niche in the way they support patients with advanced cancer. I wish they had more funding so they could help more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leverage Internet tools like wikis so our volunteers have more of a sense of community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have referred several cases to ICAN all of which have been handled with immediate care and prompt response! They make sure all areas and issues are addressed and dealt with in a professional and caring manner. I have worked with them for many years and will continue to do so for many more!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ICAN needs more funding to keep handling all the patient cases that it receives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2013

I have had the immense pleasure of working with ICAN for 3 years as both an intern and a Research Team Leader. The commitment of ICAN's leadership to serving cancer patients, caregivers, and families ... more

October 13, 2014

I began volunteering with ICAN 4 years ago and have been a Research Team Leader for 3 of those years. The organization is comprised of dedicated, passionate people at all levels, particularly Regina Marie Klopfer and Marcia Horn who provide strong, compassionate leadership. Every ICAN volunteer, regardless of his or her background, is a valued member of the team. It has been such a privilege to be part of an organization that is a driving force for oncology patient advocacy at every level. ICAN is a truly special organization doing phenomenal work.
September 30, 2013

I have had the immense pleasure of working with ICAN for 3 years as both an intern and a Research Team Leader. The commitment of ICAN's leadership to serving cancer patients, caregivers, and families is unmistakable and results in a deeply-embedded service ethic that permeates the entire organization. Volunteers at every level are given honest feedback and a network of support that enables them to fully develop and contribute their skills while working within a very diverse team. ICAN strives to ensure cancer patients have access to cutting-edge, evidence-based medicine, and every patient served by ICAN is provided with individualized support to navigate the patient journey. Having cultivated a culture of compassion and an extensive network of experts, Marcia Horn has built an organization with a special capacity to make a profound difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. ICAN simply needs further funding to help reach a greater number of patients.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN has some of the most talented, dedicated people I have had the pleasure to work with. ICAN has extremely motivated and dedicated staff passionate about their work, provides truly supportive and selfless service to their patients and has an autonomous work environment.I have had the chance to work with several non profits in the past but ICAN stands out among all of them because of its true leaders like Marcia Horn, president and CEO and Regina Kolpfer,Director of Research Services and other dedicated staff continuously putting their effort to make ICAN better so that their patient would get one of the most outstanding service.My time at ICAN as a Research Team Leader has been extremely rewarding as I learned some of the qualities like motivation, perseverance, hardwork, selflessness,extremely service driven and so on. There is not enough word to explain my appreciation for ICAN. Being associated with such an organization with great mentors is one of the best experience I have had ever.I would recommend volunteering at ICAN because of its greater cause towards the society as well as the support, advice and encouragement you will receive while you are there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing as it definitely meets the expectation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

ICAN is a unique nonprofit that has never relied on media to tell a story. It has solely grown on the strength of word-of-mouth. Marcia, CEO and President, and ICAN’s all-volunteer teams give so much individualized attention that the patients and their families have been inspired to join ICAN as volunteers themselves.
I first learned about ICAN around the Christmas holidays of 2010 via volunteermatch.org when I was looking for a cancer charity where I could use my background in cancer drug discovery and interests in cancer biology. When I finally talked to Marcia in February of 2011, I was impressed by the way things are done at ICAN and I immediately knew that this is one cause (and place) that I can identify with and where I WANT to put all my energy in.
At ICAN, my role is to provide tools supporting the physician teams that handle patients’ therapy decisions. Whenever I am called in to help on a case, I help by identifying possible therapeutic interventions based on published data or scientific logic; identify potential clinical trials; or, sometimes locate relevant experts. I’m not an oncologist. The oncologists/physicians/surgeons on ICAN’s board may use some of the information that experts like me are able to collect and guide the care of patients. I don’t hear much about the patients or the outcome which is a good thing because it also reinforces the sensitivity and need for patient privacy in the current environment.
I also manage ICAN’s group on LinkedIn and post updates on cancer drug trials and cancer biology. I urge you to join and add to the discussions on this group.
I have found so much joy spending time on ICAN’s cause that I wouldn’t be surprised if the last one-and-half years extend to decades of volunteerism for this one-of-a-kind nonprofit.
-- Ajay Malik, Ph.D., San Francisco, Calif.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Individual attention to the patients and their families, and great respect for the time all volunteers spend towards ICAN.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer