Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.991945
Write A Review
July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

Hands down, this is the place to go if you are suffering from confusion, lack of knowledge, or just someone to show kindness, during your battle with cancer. No other organization came close to what ICAN has done to help me. They are the most committed and kind people that I have ever had the pleasure of talking to. Thank you Marcia Horn and the rest of your team! I love you all!
Cathy Larson

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

My dear friend has multiple myeloma. In her calls to ICAN, she always got more helpful information than she did from her doctor. For that reason and others, she asked her advocate at ICAN to refer her to a new oncologist and is thrilled with the one they referred her to. She really feels that having ICAN at her side has helped her tremendously both medically and emotionally, in her fight against her disease. I am so impressed with what ICAN has done for her that I'm asking for friends and family to make donations to ICAN instead of buying me Christmas gifts this year!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012

more

July 29, 2012

In January of 2003 my sister's daughter Claire was diagnosed with Glioma a type of Brain Cancer. It was a huge tragedy and everyone in the family was deeply concerned. Claire was only 14 at the time. Over the next year many things were tried to help her. I was introduced to Marcia Horn (CEO of ICAN) from Ted Rogers (president of the National Speakers Association in Arizona at the time). When I first talked with Marcia she said to me "We never give up on children!" We became immediate close friends.

ICAN was not involved in Claire's initial treatment, however when all else had not worked, (My sister is a nurse and her ex husband is a doctor and they had many resources). Anyway, Claire was getting treatments for her Cancer but nothing was working. When the time for the Hail Mary move came, ICAN stepped up to the plate and helped get Claire into an experimental program. Unfortunately, Claire passed away just after her 16th Birthday on March 23, 2004. She was a wonderful child with a great future ahead, but it wasn't meant to be.

I have been involved with ICAN ever since then and am on their leadership development council. Helpings others like Claire it is well worth the time.

Recent Activity:
Since I have been involved in Tango for several years, and have a bit of a creative brain, it somehow made sense to do a show. Currently I am the producer/director of a show called ICAN Tango and will be held on October 20th in Tucson Arizona. http://www.facebook.com/events/385522744843432/

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012

more

July 29, 2012

My sister was diagnosed with lung cancer and kidney cancer. I didn’t know where to turn for answers. Another organization was nice, but they just gave me pat answers that sounded like they were reading them from a book. I felt like the person on the phone wanted to get rid of me. That was not the case with ASKICAN.ORG. They were, and still are, my most important resource to deal with my sisters terrible diagnosis. They are like angles sent from GOD!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2012

more

July 29, 2012

I have a dear friend who unfortunately has been diagnosed with recurrent colon cancer. I have been desperately trying to get information on where she can go for a second opinion. I happen to be a biotechnology recruiter so sent out a “Can you help” note on some of the life science groups for which I am a member on LinkedIn. Within a few hours I was contacted by a wonderful research scientist by the name of Scott Kahn, who immediately started networking with the many specialists that he knows in the NYC area. Shortly after, I was contacted by the CEO of AskICAN.Org, Marcia Horn, who spent at least an hour with me on the phone to get the facts of the situation so she could find me the resources needed. I now have a clear plan of action, thanks to this wonderful nonprofit that is filled with great people like Scott Kahn and Marcia Horn. I contacted another well known nonprofit here in NYC, and never received an answer. They deserve 10 stars!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

When I was diagnosed with breast cancer I immediately contacted ican and they have helped me every step of the way! I truly would not have known what to do if it wasn't for ican!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

When we found out that my sister had breast cancer, we started researching different organizations to find answers and help. ICAN was at the top of the list after speaking with a few people about their service! It was a relief to have someone explain the different types of breast cancer, the stage and what to expect. They provided resources, questions to ask the doctor and the best advice was to create a binder with all the patient information to have at all times. Especially when you're at the doctor. They took their time, never hurried us and made us feel very comfortable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

My husband read about ICAN in the December 2011 Newsweek article and encouraged me to contact them. We had just emerged from several months of intense treatment for metastatic Stage IV breast cancer (my original diagnosis and treatment was in 2006), including emergency spine surgery, and almost eight weeks of radiation treatment. When a Pet scan revealed there was no improvement but actually progression in my disease on hormone therapy, we were both stunned, scared and very disappointed. After a few days of processing this bad news, I pulled up the ICAN website and sent off an email immediately. Within a few days I was speaking to Marcia Horn, President and CEO of ICAN. Our conversation took almost an hour of Marcia's time, while I feverishly scribbled down notes. Before speaking to Marcia that morning, I was feeling terribly anxious and pessimistic. Marcia urged me to join the percentage of breast cancer patients who have survived their odds, suggesting names of exciting new treatments and specialists who would consult with me. Marcia urged me to consider taking a closer, more comprehensive look at my individual pathology and gave me information to follow up with Caris Life Sciences, a state of the art lab in Dallas doing some very exciting work. We are still waiting to determine if chemotherapy is next in line for me, but at Marcia's insistence we are now in the position to determine what might be the most effective step for me. And one that might save my life. I am only 48 years old and have two young daughters and a loving husband and family to live for. The next time I saw my doctor I came with a stack of notes and questions, and now the data of the Caris lab results. I am so grateful for Marcia and her team of volunteers at ICAN for giving me a sense of empowerment at this most critical time of my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I consider ICAN to be a very helpful breast cancer support network. They have taken the time to find information for me concerning a vaccine trial, as well they are looking into oncology services in my area which might fit my situation. I appreciate the assistance of Marcia Horn and ICAN.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

After hearing the diagnosis of breast cancer and words/phrases that I did not understand, I called Marcia Horn, ICAN's Pres/CEO. Here brother urged me to call her and I am so glad I did. It was a couple of days before Christmas 2011. I do not remember much about Christmas and New Year's 2011. However, I remember every single conversation I had with her between December 23 and January 10 (and we continue to talk). Marcia's calm and reassuring willingness to share her expertise was our rock until we finally spoke to the team of doctors that are taking care of our daughter. I will forever be grateful to have Marcia explain every step of the way - what to expect good/bad/ugly. Because of Marcia and ICAN I am stronger through this "pink journey," as our granddaughter Nikki calls her mom's breast cancer diagnosis/prognosis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer