Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.990295
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 29, 2012

more

July 29, 2012

I have a dear friend who unfortunately has been diagnosed with recurrent colon cancer. I have been desperately trying to get information on where she can go for a second opinion. I happen to be a biotechnology recruiter so sent out a “Can you help” note on some of the life science groups for which I am a member on LinkedIn. Within a few hours I was contacted by a wonderful research scientist by the name of Scott Kahn, who immediately started networking with the many specialists that he knows in the NYC area. Shortly after, I was contacted by the CEO of AskICAN.Org, Marcia Horn, who spent at least an hour with me on the phone to get the facts of the situation so she could find me the resources needed. I now have a clear plan of action, thanks to this wonderful nonprofit that is filled with great people like Scott Kahn and Marcia Horn. I contacted another well known nonprofit here in NYC, and never received an answer. They deserve 10 stars!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

When I was diagnosed with breast cancer I immediately contacted ican and they have helped me every step of the way! I truly would not have known what to do if it wasn't for ican!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

When we found out that my sister had breast cancer, we started researching different organizations to find answers and help. ICAN was at the top of the list after speaking with a few people about their service! It was a relief to have someone explain the different types of breast cancer, the stage and what to expect. They provided resources, questions to ask the doctor and the best advice was to create a binder with all the patient information to have at all times. Especially when you're at the doctor. They took their time, never hurried us and made us feel very comfortable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

My husband read about ICAN in the December 2011 Newsweek article and encouraged me to contact them. We had just emerged from several months of intense treatment for metastatic Stage IV breast cancer (my original diagnosis and treatment was in 2006), including emergency spine surgery, and almost eight weeks of radiation treatment. When a Pet scan revealed there was no improvement but actually progression in my disease on hormone therapy, we were both stunned, scared and very disappointed. After a few days of processing this bad news, I pulled up the ICAN website and sent off an email immediately. Within a few days I was speaking to Marcia Horn, President and CEO of ICAN. Our conversation took almost an hour of Marcia's time, while I feverishly scribbled down notes. Before speaking to Marcia that morning, I was feeling terribly anxious and pessimistic. Marcia urged me to join the percentage of breast cancer patients who have survived their odds, suggesting names of exciting new treatments and specialists who would consult with me. Marcia urged me to consider taking a closer, more comprehensive look at my individual pathology and gave me information to follow up with Caris Life Sciences, a state of the art lab in Dallas doing some very exciting work. We are still waiting to determine if chemotherapy is next in line for me, but at Marcia's insistence we are now in the position to determine what might be the most effective step for me. And one that might save my life. I am only 48 years old and have two young daughters and a loving husband and family to live for. The next time I saw my doctor I came with a stack of notes and questions, and now the data of the Caris lab results. I am so grateful for Marcia and her team of volunteers at ICAN for giving me a sense of empowerment at this most critical time of my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I consider ICAN to be a very helpful breast cancer support network. They have taken the time to find information for me concerning a vaccine trial, as well they are looking into oncology services in my area which might fit my situation. I appreciate the assistance of Marcia Horn and ICAN.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

After hearing the diagnosis of breast cancer and words/phrases that I did not understand, I called Marcia Horn, ICAN's Pres/CEO. Here brother urged me to call her and I am so glad I did. It was a couple of days before Christmas 2011. I do not remember much about Christmas and New Year's 2011. However, I remember every single conversation I had with her between December 23 and January 10 (and we continue to talk). Marcia's calm and reassuring willingness to share her expertise was our rock until we finally spoke to the team of doctors that are taking care of our daughter. I will forever be grateful to have Marcia explain every step of the way - what to expect good/bad/ugly. Because of Marcia and ICAN I am stronger through this "pink journey," as our granddaughter Nikki calls her mom's breast cancer diagnosis/prognosis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

My wife has Stage IV Metastatic Breast Cancer. It can be quite a challenge to figure out the best approach to take in dealing with it. Marcia at ICAN has been very helpful. We informed her with what procedures, drugs and doctors we were using, then advised and encourage us on what we could do further.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

My experience with ICAN has kept me sane about a diagnosis that can send one spinning down a black hole because you are totally ignorant when you are first given such diagnosis. You do not think of breast cancer as coming to live with you and when it happens, it is a 24 hour nightmare from which you cannot wake up. Thanks to ICAN I was able to focus on what had to be done. The kind tone of an understanding voice that had answer after answer for me and my family has made the breast cancer diagnosis be what it is. We have faced it, we are working through it, and thanks to ICAN and its guidence, we have our lives back under control. Thank you, Marcia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

ICAN advocates do great work for breast cancer patients! Helpful in all fields, caring, encouraging and information.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2011

more

June 30, 2011

I was diagnosed with Malignant Melanoma in January 2011 and underwent a full node removal under the arm in February. During the recovery period I was faced with many options regarding which clinical trial I could partake in, this is where I was introduced to the ICAN service. From the moment I contacted them I knew I was speaking to a team of people that really did understand what I was going through and the many decisions I was faced with. ICAN provided me with the most up to date research and analysis and we discussed many different options. Their guidance was 1st class and gave me the reassurance that I was so much in need of.

I wouldnt hesitate to recommend the services of ICAN, they really do put the client/patient first with the care an attention that is so greatly needed when dealing with Cancer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes, I received excellent help and advice from ICAN, and receive invaluable medical updates as soon as they become available.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help find a way of raising much needed funds to allow ICAN to help more people deal with their illness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Via a close friend

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

My chosen path of medical treatment

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer