Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
123 Reviews
1234.991875
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

When our mother was stricken with ovarian cancer our family did not know where to turn. We heard about ICAN and Marcia Horn. When we contacted Marcia she was more then happy to meet with my family and help guild us through what was happening and what to expect along with some options. Even being over 3000 miles away it was nice to know there was someone great in our corner. I can't thank Marcia & ICAN enough for all her help and leadership.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

There are angels on this earth!!!


I landed on the ICAN website by way of a recommendation from a friend and I had a mortal angel fly in and land on my doorstep. Her name is Marcia Horn of ICAN and she turned our world from Black and White to Technicolor! From out first meeting she
went out of her way to make some great suggestions and recommend state of the art ways of dealing with my mom (Pearl) Ovarian Cancer. She helped us line up some good doctors and was always around to help our family to answer any questions we had on the labyrinth of cancer therapies.

ICAN is a great resource and I recommend it to anyone who must face a cancer therapy and is unsure where to turn, to consult with ICAN.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

When I received my diagnosis of Ovarian Cancer, I was completely stunned and had no idea of what to do next. Luckily a dear friend told me about Marcia Horn and ICAN and at 9pm on a Friday night I received a call from Marcia. After spending an hour on the phone with me she told me the top three Gynecologic Oncologists and exactly the steps I needed to take. I had an appointment with the number one doctor within a week and was in surgery in less than 2 weeks. Marcia reviewed the pathology reports with me and has been invaluable in my care. Marcia Horn and ICAN are beacons of light at the darkest time in a cancer patients life.
May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

Marcia Horn and ICAN were invaluable in helping me find the right health care provider for my case. To have someone advocate for you - especially with stage IV cases - is so heartening and validating. Thank you ICAN for all you do to help those of us on this often confusing journey to find some light at the end of the tunnel!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I am living in the United States, and after learning about them, ICAN helped a friend of mine who is located in Shanghai, China. He has a recurrence of abdominal cancer that has challenged his oncologists in Shanghai. The support that ICAN has provided is so much more than I expected. They arranged to review my friend's case. Because the documents for his medical history were in Chinese, they had an expert here in the United States go over the documents and translate them. After going through his documents and learning about his cancer and previous history, ICAN suggested that my friend have molecular profiling done. They arranged for my friend to discuss this with a Chinese expert who was visiting Shanghai from the United States. My friend understands much better what questions to discuss with his oncologists in Shanghai and how to talk to them about molecular profiling. We hope that he will recover from his cancer. The support that Ms. Horn and ICAN give to my friend and his family is priceless we are so fortunate to have found them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2013

What a refreshing and helpful organization ICAN has turned out to be for me as care giver to my wife who was diagnosed with a malignancy in her breast this summer. Without knowing anything about this... more

September 15, 2014

Marcia Horn, and ICAN, have been, probably my number one crutch in helping my wife and I make decisions while fighting this horrible disease. My wife was diagnosed in July of 2013 with a breast malignancy, and Marcia has always been there for me, as the care taker. Even after office hours she has always answered my emails and been so amazing with her information and help. Especially in the beginning she was so informative at a time when we were scared to death, not that we aren't still, but I was so lucky finding her and ICAN.
September 27, 2013

What a refreshing and helpful organization ICAN has turned out to be for me as care giver to my wife who was diagnosed with a malignancy in her breast this summer. Without knowing anything about this horrific disease, my wife and I didn't have a choice but to set out on a journey to fight and try to win each day in order to get her health back on track. ICAN has been like a beacon in the wilderness providing information, direction, and most of all positive energy to help us and give us hope as we
are now into the third month of what has been successful treatments. They came at a time when we needed friendship as well as knowledge about what we were facing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

ICAN's adeptness, discernment, knowledge, time, expertise, integrity, care, and ability to truly support with sincerity, adeptness, and unwavering, and inexhaustible dedication, selfless service, and pure hearted spirit to advocate for the most vulnerable, is valued beyond words as a patient. There are not enough positive words to express appreciation for International Cancer Advocacy Network (ICAN)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

My dear friend Valorie, did research for me on recurrance colorectal cancer and found ICAN and Marcia Horn. My spirit was lifted to great heights after speaking with Ms. Horn about ICAN and my particular cancer. She actually was on the phone with V and myself for almost a half and hour, explaining in great detail, the various companies (such as Caris) that can assist in helping find the correct chemotherapies for colorrectal cancer, especially recurrance. She helped me have Caris compare my 2004 cancer cells with that of my current case. Caris stated I was getting the exact chemo that I needed from Memorial Sloan Cancer Center in NY. What a relief. I am truly in debted to Marcia Horn and ICAN >>> I will never forget her words to me... We will never leave you alone, we will be with you all the way. How wonderful is that? I am forever greatful. Cathy Larsen

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

ICAN Phoenix, AZ is excellent. I was terrified and overwhelmed. I went to the experts at ICAN and they helped me with complete commitment, deep compassion and comprehensive knowledge that helped me get through my decision-making process, surgery, and treatments. I recommend them without reservation. ICAN is excellent, professional and fully prepared to help anyone and everyone lucky enough to find them. I thank God for ICAN. Contact them immediately if you need help, you will be in safe, caring hands.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

Hands down, this is the place to go if you are suffering from confusion, lack of knowledge, or just someone to show kindness, during your battle with cancer. No other organization came close to what ICAN has done to help me. They are the most committed and kind people that I have ever had the pleasure of talking to. Thank you Marcia Horn and the rest of your team! I love you all!
Cathy Larson

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer