Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.990295
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The International Cancer Advocacy Network (ICAN) is at the forefront of cancer patient care. Led by its extraordinary President/CEO, Marcia Horn, and guided by outstanding board members and scientific advisors, ICAN works tirelessly with cancer patients to ensure that they get the best care possible. ICAN was an early advocate for personalized medicine, well before the current paradigm shift towards molecular profiling became an integral part of patient care. ICAN's work with late stage cancer patients is remarkable, helping each patient on an individual basis, holding their hands as they address difficult clinical decisions. I have volunteered with ICAN as a member of the biomarkers council, where we provide scientific expertise in the areas of molecular profiling. ICAN also works to implement and advocate for changes in public policy that benefit cancer patients. ICAN helped a friend of mine with melanoma, guiding him through international roadblocks and helping him to access top clinicians, and for that I am most grateful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

ICAN is a wonderful organization to volunteer with. I learned a great deal and felt like I made a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer with ICAN for almost 3 years. I started out in one our research positions and gradually worked my way from that into Research Team Leader position and finally into my current role as Director of Strategic Planning and Operations for Research Services. I have never volunteered with an organization where each and every one of the volunteers were so committed, so dedicated and so wonderful. I am definitely feel honored that I can be part of organization with such a worthy cause and truly wonderful volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I joined ICAN with hopes of giving my time to something that really matters, and it definitely lived up to my expectations! Everyone that I came in contact with was enthusiastic about her/his work, and being a part of such a helpful and experienced team gave me great confidence. My Research Team Leader, Aniko, had everything one can possibly ask for in a team leader, and I am happy to have had the chance to work with her! Being with ICAN helped me to gain insight into the world of research and taught me a lot of useful skills for my future. Each member of ICAN is extremely knowledgeable about his/her area of expertise, and I am proud to say that I was a part of this!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I am a Research Team Lead volunteer with ICAN's Lobular Breast Cancer Research Team. I really enjoy being able to contribute to a great cause like ICAN. It feels good to be able to donate a little time with an organization that has such a great impact. It has been one of the most rewarding volunteer experiences I have been engaged with!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first contact with the International Cancer Advocacy Network (ICAN) occurred in late December, 2011 in conjunction with a diagnosis of Stage 1 Breast Cancer. I needed information to make informed decisions about treatment options. Speaking with ICAN's resident angel, President and CEO Marcia Horn, I encountered someone who was professional, knowledgeable, dedicated, and compassionate. By the end of our phone call, I had a plan of action and hope for the future. I couldn't have asked for a better Christmas gift!

I am a Communications, Marketing, and Design professional who is very selective about the organizations with whom I volunteer because it is important to me to live my values in all aspects of my life. No one at ICAN asked me to volunteer. I offered my skills and time about a week after my initial contact with the organization because a follow-up call with Marcia made it exceeding clear that ICAN is a patient advocacy organization steeped in integrity and totally focused on helping each individual patient win his or her personal battle with cancer. The organization places a premium on providing each patient with the most up-to-date and accurate treatment and resource information for his or her particular cancer. They are sensitive to each patient's situation while also being supportive and encouraging.

So what's it like to be an ICAN volunteer? After two months and literally tons of hours, I can honestly state that being an ICAN volunteer is a totally positive experience! The organization has high standards and expectations as it strives for excellence in every aspect of its operations. Praise and encouragement are abundant. The staff, leadership, and even other volunteers go out of their way to let you know that you and your work are valued. Moreover, you have the satisfaction of knowing that your contributions are making a difference, not just in your particular area of service, but to the well-being and effectiveness of the entire organization and, by extension, to cancer patients residing all over the globe. Awesome responsibility and equally awesome personal rewards

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2012

more

January 21, 2012

I am a Research Team Leader. I supervise (via email) all the work that several research interns do and review the end product before it is posted to the ICAN website.
I know that ICAN truly appreciates all of its volunteers! They are very kind and responsive to all their volunteers and they
care deeply for the cancer patients they support and help. I have volunteered at numerous organizations over the years and this is one of the most integrity-filled and best-run nonprofit organizations that I have every worked with.
I am a certified project management professional and a CPA who has worked at top notch organizations in the business world so my expectations about quality and integrity are very high -- and I can say that ICAN meets and exceed all my expectations.
A few hours a week can make a big difference in the lives of the cancer patients that ICAN helps. All your efforts provide support to so many all over the world. The work can be done when it is convenient for you and ICAN works with you to provide the type of volunteer work that you desire. I would recommend this organization to anybody looking for a rewarding volunteer experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2011

more

July 15, 2011

I am a member of the public and a sometime volunteer.
I was first introduced to ICAN through their musical events at which the great pianist, Ronald Jacobowitz, entranced and educated the audience. He not only played beautiful classical piano music but gave us background information on the
composers their times and the musical developments i.e. early to late Beethoven. Through the people I met at these musical events I learned about the important and wonderful work ICAN is doing.
I have been able to give ICAN and Marcia Horn- ICAN's CEO- contacts to people in Phoenix and elsewhere in the world who have had need of a cancer advocate. They have all reported to me how helpful Marcia Horn has been to them and their families. In some cases they just felt full of despair and hopeless before they contacted ICAN. Marcia helped them see what they could do to help the cancer patient and find the best current medical care. ICAn is there locally and globally.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Calls thanking me for Marcia's help

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get it better known and raise more money for ICAN

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I don't know.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Through the musical events we met intelligent, warm and fun people. I also felt good that by putting people in touch with ICAN I helped ease theri suffering.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

that I had done something useful.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 15, 2011

more

July 15, 2011

Ican facilitates cancer patients , who are under stress, to find the treatment center that is doing the the most advanced work in their area of caner.
A friend in Boston called me. She was understandably very tense and stressed. Her grandson had just been diagnosed with cancer.

Her
husband was an eye doctor but they were looking for cancer treatment expertise. ICAN , she later told me, was able to talk to them knowledgeably , with sympathy, empathy and care.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In reports from several friends wo have told me how they wee helped by ICAN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their fnding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

can;t think of anything

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Gave me a sense of satisfavction for I heard how my friends and others were helped.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Very good

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 3, 2011

more

July 3, 2011

ICAN has been very supportive to both patients and their families. A case that I personally witnessed was with a fellow T.B. who came to ICAN in his final days! Both he and his wife were in severely depressed. A friend told me that his wife was furious with the world and would not cooperate. Her husband T.B. was very impressed Marcia Horn and thankful for the help he received..Marcia met with the wife and after a few meetings she became very supportive. After T.B. died Marcia and his wife continued to meet and she has beome a volunteer! There just is not enough time in the day for Marcia, she even recruited me to participate in an ICAN project for which I need to make the time! With her example, I will. Eugene B. Shapiro.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Help extended to family and friends. Just amazing what is possible. If only ICAN had more funding or financial support!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

introduce them to wealthy, foundations, phamaceutical companies and the NIH. Somehow, if the got a major grant they could develop their computor engine for everyone to use.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer