Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.980585
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

Nonprofit organizations in general are a great way to gather community service volunteer hours. However, ICAN is much more than your typical Nonprofit organization. Working with all the members of ICAN for over two years now, I can personally say that this organization, from top to bottom, is filled dedicated, compassionate individuals who share a common goal - improving cancer treatments worldwide.

Marcia, Regina and all the other members of ICAN have spent countless hours helping a tremendous amount of people battle and beat their cancers, and I could not give this company a stronger recommendation.

Cancer can be considered the disease of our new generation, and when I first started working for ICAN I was fascinated by it. Moreover, I was interested in the amount of research going into the discovery of new treatments and cures for this terrible illness. However, what was lost was the step in between research and the implementation of new treatments. While new breakthroughs are coming in at an enormously high rate, there is only so much that oncologists can keep up with and keep their patients informed about. This is what ICAN does, as we serve to educated both patients and physicians on the newest research in every field of cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more known.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

The international cancer advocacy network is in need of more funding to continue to help more patients as that continues to be ICAN's top priority.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more funding to help them continue with their research.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN is a fabulous organization to volunteer for. They are very caring and work hard for the patients. Everyone with ICAN is very organized and helpful and a pleasure to work with!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Ican is a fabulous organization, with great people involved that TRULY care about every person that comes to them. I have referred them to a few friends, and all have been extremely satisfied with the help they received. I love volunteering for this amazing organization, as I know my help will truly help Ican, help others! I look forward to volunteering at their golf fundraiser in just a couple weeks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN is a great organization that prides itself on taking absolute care of every cancer patient who needs the information and help with treatment of this disease. Not only are they so caring and amazing, they truly seem to take interest in every person and it shows.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN IS A WONDERFUL Non-profit that is truly an advocate for the patient and its family(s). ICAN is exhaustive in their quest to get doctors, trials, support and information to those in need. I believe they are more out of the box thinkers and believe people / patients should not be sent home to die; all avenues must be explored, conventionally and in non-conventional ways. The people I have sent to ICAN have be very appreciative of the respect ICAN gives to each individual knowing that everyone has a unique case and story to tell. This would be a well deserved recognition for this extraordinary non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have volunteered for this organization for at least 10 events they have out on. One thing that is so great about this nonprofit is that they help someone no matter what kind of sickness they have. They can get you in touch with the greatest doctors around the country. They have helped countless people with sicknesses. I have referred two cancer patients, and they couldn't have been happier with their experience with ICAN. They are amazing!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing. This is a wonderful group of people and volunteers. And they all love to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Both my wife and daughter developed cancer. Fortunately, my daughter - who had Ovarian Cancer over 11 years ago - is still alive and well. During her early cancer treatments ICAN was deeply involved and I believe helped save her life. My wife, unfortunately, did not survive her cancer, and though I had tried to have her see the physicians ICAN had suggested, and to follow a chemotherapy course strongly recommended by both ICAN and consultants, she refused.

I have been working with ICAN for over 10 years and believe that it is the most effective and well run cancer advocacy organization one will find in this country. The work they do is phenomenal

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise a million dollars so they could help more people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2013

more

January 30, 2013

I began as a Media Relations & Lobbying Volunteer in July 2010 & love it! My most interesting project was a legislative letter writing campaign urging Pennsylvania state legislators to approve equal insurance coverage for oral chemotherapy medicine. The majority of my projects have involved researching cancer articles & collecting media contact information. I studied public relations in college & am trying to get accepted to the Master's program at ASU West. I am in a wheelchair & can't handle a full-time job outside the home. Part-time, paid work in P.R. was too difficult to find. This was the best way to get my start in public relations. I am eternally grateful to Marcia Horn for giving me that chance!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

ICAN is truly an incredible organization. The services it provides are unparalleled by any organization of its kind, and the level of involvement, investment, and caring for individual patients has exceeded my greatest expectations for what I had hoped to become involved with. The services that ICAN provides for patients, in what is undoubtedly the most difficult time in their lives, and at no cost, provides such hope. Marcia Horn, CEO,tirelessly works all hours of the day, 8 days a week, to ensure that ICAN patients receive the best possible care to maximize their chances of survival. The volunteer experience is of equal match, as Marcia takes the time to ensure that the volunteers are engaged to their best potential and provides unique opportunities to gain involvement and experience. I can't recommend ICAN highly enough...if advocacy were an Olympic sport, ICAN would win the gold.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer