Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.991945
Write A Review
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

This is an amazing organization! I have volunteered and worked with Marcia Horn and ICAN for a number of years and enjoyed raising money and making great friends. Suddenly a few months ago ICAN took on a different meeting in my life when I was informed that a close friend was diagnosed with Ovarian cancer. As soon as I received the information, I called Marcia and she went to work and spoke personally with my friend. Never mind that it was 9:45pm on a Friday night. Marcia took the bull by the horns and gave specific step by step instructions and phone numbers. As a result, and due to our fast acting, my friend is now 94% cancer free. The entire process from diagnosis to final results was 3 weeks. Without Marcia Horn and the ICAN organization, my friend would never have received the level of care that she did. Thank you!
October 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2013

I have had the immense pleasure of working with ICAN for 3 years as both an intern and a Research Team Leader. The commitment of ICAN's leadership to serving cancer patients, caregivers, and families ... more

October 13, 2014

I began volunteering with ICAN 4 years ago and have been a Research Team Leader for 3 of those years. The organization is comprised of dedicated, passionate people at all levels, particularly Regina Marie Klopfer and Marcia Horn who provide strong, compassionate leadership. Every ICAN volunteer, regardless of his or her background, is a valued member of the team. It has been such a privilege to be part of an organization that is a driving force for oncology patient advocacy at every level. ICAN is a truly special organization doing phenomenal work.
September 30, 2013

I have had the immense pleasure of working with ICAN for 3 years as both an intern and a Research Team Leader. The commitment of ICAN's leadership to serving cancer patients, caregivers, and families is unmistakable and results in a deeply-embedded service ethic that permeates the entire organization. Volunteers at every level are given honest feedback and a network of support that enables them to fully develop and contribute their skills while working within a very diverse team. ICAN strives to ensure cancer patients have access to cutting-edge, evidence-based medicine, and every patient served by ICAN is provided with individualized support to navigate the patient journey. Having cultivated a culture of compassion and an extensive network of experts, Marcia Horn has built an organization with a special capacity to make a profound difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. ICAN simply needs further funding to help reach a greater number of patients.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I started out at ICAN as Web Research Intern. In this position, I searched online for articles related to Esophageal Cancer. I enjoyed this position because it gave me an opportunity to learn about cancer. Searching for and reviewing articles helped me earn about how cancer develops, methods used to detect and diagnose, how cancer drugs work, causes of cancer and actions a person can take to reduce their risk of cancers. Volunteering for ICAN is also good position for someone who doesn't have the time to learn about cancers, the causes of it, and how to prevent it because it exposes you to the resources you need to learn about it and forces you to devote the time to learn for yourself. The effort you make benefits you and others. Finally, I like the position because it gives me an opportunity to help another person and rebuild their hope. I like the work ICAN does and how it strives to encourage a person at the late stage of their life to hold on, keep trying, and stands with them till the end. It's an organization with excellent values. In my new position, I get to review abstracts collected by other volunteers. The position has helped me improve in my organization skills. I have to keep track of topics assigned, whom topics are assigned, when topics are due, maintain contact with volunteers to check on status of assignments, review, and provide feedback. It helps both volunteers develop transferrable skills that are valuable in the workforce and in school.

I think ICAN is a great organization to volunteer for. They provided beneficial and needed services to people who otherwise may not be aware or have access to free of charge. It helps patients stay aware, become better and informed decision makers so they can become more involved in healthcare they receive or team players with their physicians in treating their conditions. Doctors do not always have the time to do the extra legwork to research a patients’ condition or look at the latest in treatment for their condition. ICAN does the legwork for them so they can also be a better resource for their patients. For the staff and volunteers, it gives them an opportunity to develop transferable skills that help them in the workforce and school. ICAN services and work benefit everyone around the world. It being on the web gives doctors and cancer patients from around the world access to a library of resources in one location that they otherwise may not be able to have access to due to poverty or other factors.

To be able to continue doing their great work, ICAN needs more funding. I hope you can see that your money will not be wasted after reading this and the other reviews.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

Amazing organization with amazing people. This organization truly did help me when I needed advice and I needed guidance with a family member who was struggling with the cancer battle. I've been volunteering for this now for over 3 years, and I cannot stress enough how awesome this place is. We collect the most up to date literature on cancers and distribute the information to oncologists, patients, and families so that way they can have the most up to date resources when fighting this ugly disease. With more information available, patients are able to make the best, most informed decisions regarding their patient care, and thus, get better results.

Thank you ICAN!
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I've been volunteering for ICAN for about 6 years now (since I was a Junior in college) and it has been an amazing experience. Not only has it been a rewarding experience volunteering my time, but it has been an absolute privilege and joy working for people who are so compassionate and understanding about the cause. Marcia Horn and Regina Marie Klopfer are exemplary leaders and an honor to work for. They make sure you are comfortable in your volunteering role and are very appreciative of the time you put into ICAN. All in all, it's been a wonderful six years and I look forward to dedicating many more years to come.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I've been volunteering with ICAN for the last 2 years and never felt lost! The management is awesome and the tasks are rewarding.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

It has been a pleasure volunteering for ICAN, a non for profit organization geared at empowering late stage oncology patients. Having witnessed family members battle cancer and now being in a position to empower such patients is truly a rewarding experience. Many thanks to Marcia Horn and Regina Marie Klopfer tireless efforts in running and managing the organization.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

It is a privilege to work Marcia Horn and the rest of the ICAN volunteer team. The work ICAN does is vital to cancer research and advocacy on a local and global scale, while bringing individualized case care to each patient. I am honored to know this organization exist for patients in need and running with the highest of integrity.
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

It's been two and a half years since I have been working for ICAN as a research team leader. I got chance to work with some of the most talented and dedicated people of this organization, Ms Marcia Horn, the CEO and Ms. Regina Marie Klopfer, Director of Research Services. I communicate often with Ms. Regina for my work and she has been extremely helpful in fulfilling our needs. She is one of the most dedicated, passionate and hardworking staff at ICAN. Working at ICAN has been extremely rewarding as I learned so many qualities from our great mentors. It is a true pleasure to be a part this organization.
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

ICAN is such an AMAZING nonprofit! I started volunteering at ICAN as a Web Research Intern, then transitioned to a Research Team Leader and now I'm volunteering directly with Regina Klopfer. The transitions between my different volunteer roles have been seamless and I feel as though I am truly part of the ICAN family. From the very beginning, Marcia has been so warm and inviting and Regina has helped me grow and succeed in my volunteer positions along the way. I am so appreciative for everything that ICAN does and could not be happier to be a part of this amazing team that is truly making a difference in people's lives!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer