Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.991945
Write A Review
February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

Since 2001 I cannot think of a more important organization doing the work they are doing on an international based right here in Arizona. I lost my first wife to Stage IV colon cancer, and Marcia Horn and her team were all over it trying to help and advise as to weather we were getting the right drugs for the treatment, and if we had the right docs and the right facility to begin with. Sadly, she died because her cancer was so bad, and spread so fast, yet ICAN was always there. My second wife was diagnosed with Stage I colon cancer in early 2011, so of course the first call we made was to ICAN to get advice as to where might be the best docs for her to see, as what what be going on with feedback we first had per the diagnosis. Five minutes later Marcia was on it, and we were on our way with sound support and advice. Science is science, and drugs are drugs which means somtimes things don't get as one would like; however, when you need an advocate-one that happens to be local for us since we live in Arizona-ICAN has been there ---G. Seitts, Scottsdale, AZ

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2012

more

January 21, 2012

I am a Research Team Leader. I supervise (via email) all the work that several research interns do and review the end product before it is posted to the ICAN website.
I know that ICAN truly appreciates all of its volunteers! They are very kind and responsive to all their volunteers and they
care deeply for the cancer patients they support and help. I have volunteered at numerous organizations over the years and this is one of the most integrity-filled and best-run nonprofit organizations that I have every worked with.
I am a certified project management professional and a CPA who has worked at top notch organizations in the business world so my expectations about quality and integrity are very high -- and I can say that ICAN meets and exceed all my expectations.
A few hours a week can make a big difference in the lives of the cancer patients that ICAN helps. All your efforts provide support to so many all over the world. The work can be done when it is convenient for you and ICAN works with you to provide the type of volunteer work that you desire. I would recommend this organization to anybody looking for a rewarding volunteer experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2011

more

July 15, 2011

I am a member of the public and a sometime volunteer.
I was first introduced to ICAN through their musical events at which the great pianist, Ronald Jacobowitz, entranced and educated the audience. He not only played beautiful classical piano music but gave us background information on the
composers their times and the musical developments i.e. early to late Beethoven. Through the people I met at these musical events I learned about the important and wonderful work ICAN is doing.
I have been able to give ICAN and Marcia Horn- ICAN's CEO- contacts to people in Phoenix and elsewhere in the world who have had need of a cancer advocate. They have all reported to me how helpful Marcia Horn has been to them and their families. In some cases they just felt full of despair and hopeless before they contacted ICAN. Marcia helped them see what they could do to help the cancer patient and find the best current medical care. ICAn is there locally and globally.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Calls thanking me for Marcia's help

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get it better known and raise more money for ICAN

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I don't know.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Through the musical events we met intelligent, warm and fun people. I also felt good that by putting people in touch with ICAN I helped ease theri suffering.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

that I had done something useful.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 15, 2011

more

July 15, 2011

I found out about ICAN through their salon music programs.
I enjoyed listening to pianist, Ronald Jacobowitz, talk about the composers and their music and then play the best piano music I have heard.
While at the concerts I met other people interested in ICAN.
I volunteered for some
office work working with delightful people .
In addition to my selfish pleasure of hearing the music I got a wonderful sense of satisfation when I was able to tell people with cancer about ICAN.
They always called back to tell me how wonderful , knowledgeable and empathetic Marcia Horn, the CEO of ICAN , was. She helped them through very trying times with sensitiviy and expertise.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The reports of people who have been helped by ICAN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise more money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

Through the classical piano concerts that they sponsor.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 15, 2011

more

July 15, 2011

Ican facilitates cancer patients , who are under stress, to find the treatment center that is doing the the most advanced work in their area of caner.
A friend in Boston called me. She was understandably very tense and stressed. Her grandson had just been diagnosed with cancer.

Her
husband was an eye doctor but they were looking for cancer treatment expertise. ICAN , she later told me, was able to talk to them knowledgeably , with sympathy, empathy and care.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In reports from several friends wo have told me how they wee helped by ICAN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their fnding

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

can;t think of anything

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Gave me a sense of satisfavction for I heard how my friends and others were helped.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Very good

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 3, 2011

more

July 3, 2011

ICAN has been very supportive to both patients and their families. A case that I personally witnessed was with a fellow T.B. who came to ICAN in his final days! Both he and his wife were in severely depressed. A friend told me that his wife was furious with the world and would not cooperate. Her husband T.B. was very impressed Marcia Horn and thankful for the help he received..Marcia met with the wife and after a few meetings she became very supportive. After T.B. died Marcia and his wife continued to meet and she has beome a volunteer! There just is not enough time in the day for Marcia, she even recruited me to participate in an ICAN project for which I need to make the time! With her example, I will. Eugene B. Shapiro.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Help extended to family and friends. Just amazing what is possible. If only ICAN had more funding or financial support!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

introduce them to wealthy, foundations, phamaceutical companies and the NIH. Somehow, if the got a major grant they could develop their computor engine for everyone to use.

July 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I fit many chairs as I am a retired physician who, in the course of volunteering for ICAN (International Cancer Advocacy Network), has also served on the Board and as Chairperson of its Medical Advisory Council.

Over the past 10 or so years I have developed great respect for the
organization, especially its CEO, Marcia Horn. Her knowledge of the intricate, complicated aspects of cancer and dedication to assisting laste stage cancer patients acheiving the best hope of survival is unmatched. The one-on-one personal contact with cancer patients or family, and the review of their medical records and treatment is not dupicated anywhere that I know.

What ICAN needs is more money and more staffing so that it can expand serving more patients in great need of this vital service.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Cancer strikes everyone's family. My daughter developed Ovarian Cancer. Consultation with ICAN - Marcia Horn and Dr. Pettit (ICAN's scientific advisor) - directed my daughter to the best of medical care. My daughter is now 9 years post-diagnosis alive, well, and cancer free - a remarkable achievement with a disease that kills over 90% within 5 years. I was horror-stricken when my wife developed a rare cancer. It was ICAn that was able to expedite entry into medical care when I myself could not.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase the staff to 100 people so that ICAN could serve the huge case load that is out there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I cannot think of a thing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I developed a tremendous knowledge of cancer, the treatments and difficulty that patients and family go through.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

wonderful

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 1, 2011

more

July 1, 2011

My time as a Web Research Intern has been incredibly fulfilling. I've learned so much about cancer advocacy and even medical/scientific aspects of cancer simply by compiling research and literature for ICAN's resource project. Also, the communication between volunteers and the supervisors and executives is extremely efficient and quick. It's impressive!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None really!

July 1, 2011

more

July 1, 2011

Volunteering for ICAN has been one of the richest and most rewarding experiences in my long career as a cancer researcher. I was searching for an organization that would allow me to give back to the cancer community in a meaningful manner. What can I say! Volunteering for ICAN has surpassed even my wildest imagination. Their passion, enthusiasm, and total commitment to helping people with cancer just encourages one to want to do more. The team leaders and off course, Marcia are some of the most dedicated people around. Communicating with them all has been such a pleasure. There is no stress, just encouragement and a willingness to listen to ideas. I endorse this organization wholeheartedly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

ICAN is my way to help and support patients and families dealing with a cancer diagnosis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find more volunteers and get more funding to help all the people in need of their services

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2011

more

June 30, 2011

I came across ICAN's website when I was looking for meaningful volunteer work to do before starting my graduate program. It has been amazing ever since and I can't imagine ever leaving! The assignments are fulfilling and the entire team is incredibly friendly and cooperative. Marcia (CEO+President) works day and night and is always willing to lend a hand. It's good to know that the effort I put into this role helps people who have no hope in finding help: late-stage cancer patients. I highly recommend volunteering for ICAN.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the number of visitors who benefit from the information and dealing with patients and patient families who have nowhere else to turn to for help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything. I love it as it is.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer