Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
124 Reviews
1234.991945
Write A Review
February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I joined ICAN with hopes of giving my time to something that really matters, and it definitely lived up to my expectations! Everyone that I came in contact with was enthusiastic about her/his work, and being a part of such a helpful and experienced team gave me great confidence. My Research Team Leader, Aniko, had everything one can possibly ask for in a team leader, and I am happy to have had the chance to work with her! Being with ICAN helped me to gain insight into the world of research and taught me a lot of useful skills for my future. Each member of ICAN is extremely knowledgeable about his/her area of expertise, and I am proud to say that I was a part of this!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I consider ICAN to be a very helpful breast cancer support network. They have taken the time to find information for me concerning a vaccine trial, as well they are looking into oncology services in my area which might fit my situation. I appreciate the assistance of Marcia Horn and ICAN.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

After hearing the diagnosis of breast cancer and words/phrases that I did not understand, I called Marcia Horn, ICAN's Pres/CEO. Here brother urged me to call her and I am so glad I did. It was a couple of days before Christmas 2011. I do not remember much about Christmas and New Year's 2011. However, I remember every single conversation I had with her between December 23 and January 10 (and we continue to talk). Marcia's calm and reassuring willingness to share her expertise was our rock until we finally spoke to the team of doctors that are taking care of our daughter. I will forever be grateful to have Marcia explain every step of the way - what to expect good/bad/ugly. Because of Marcia and ICAN I am stronger through this "pink journey," as our granddaughter Nikki calls her mom's breast cancer diagnosis/prognosis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I am a Research Team Lead volunteer with ICAN's Lobular Breast Cancer Research Team. I really enjoy being able to contribute to a great cause like ICAN. It feels good to be able to donate a little time with an organization that has such a great impact. It has been one of the most rewarding volunteer experiences I have been engaged with!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

Because of my niece's involvement with this organization over the last decade or more, I looked into who they are and what they do years ago and have been a donor ever since. I only wish I were wealthy so I could donate more. As a breast cancer survivor myself, I am always attuned to other cases of breat cancer and have referred several breast cancer patients to ICAN over the past few years. I could not be more happy about the effectiveness of ICAN's Breast Cancer Advocacy Programs in extending lives and helping patients to have the best quality of life possible. ICAN makes sure that all options are considered and that no stones are left unturned
in each patient's battle. Bravo to ICAN's patient advocates who make such a big difference to breast cancer patient lives!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2011

When I was diagnosed with breast cancer for the second time I did not know where to turn for advice and referrals. I am new to the state of Arizona and was told about ICAN through a relative. I contac... more

February 29, 2012

I moved to Phoenix in 2007 after being diagnosed with breat cancer & treated in New York back in 2005. In 2010 the cancer returned and not knowing many physicians here I turned to family for referrals. I was told to contact ICAN & spoke with a wonderful person who guided me with a plan of attack with many different doctors. If it were not for the generous help of great people I could not get through this.I am grateful to ICAN for all their assistance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Physicians supplied for second opinions.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Family member

June 30, 2011

When I was diagnosed with breast cancer for the second time I did not know where to turn for advice and referrals. I am new to the state of Arizona and was told about ICAN through a relative. I contacted Marcia Horn & she took hours on the phone & follow up e-mails helpiing me.
I am from New
York and did not have the good fortune of having such a great service as ICAN; of course there were avenues to explore through the hospitals and breast cancer centers. It was left up to the individual to find good doctors.
What we need is a better recognition of ICAN nationwide to enhance the tools needed for helping people diagnosed with cancer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Knowing I had someone to turn to for answers to ALL my questions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand ICAN nationwide as a go to service for cancer patients.

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

My wife has Stage IV Metastatic Breast Cancer. It can be quite a challenge to figure out the best approach to take in dealing with it. Marcia at ICAN has been very helpful. We informed her with what procedures, drugs and doctors we were using, then advised and encourage us on what we could do further.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

My experience with ICAN has kept me sane about a diagnosis that can send one spinning down a black hole because you are totally ignorant when you are first given such diagnosis. You do not think of breast cancer as coming to live with you and when it happens, it is a 24 hour nightmare from which you cannot wake up. Thanks to ICAN I was able to focus on what had to be done. The kind tone of an understanding voice that had answer after answer for me and my family has made the breast cancer diagnosis be what it is. We have faced it, we are working through it, and thanks to ICAN and its guidence, we have our lives back under control. Thank you, Marcia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 28, 2012

more

February 28, 2012

ICAN advocates do great work for breast cancer patients! Helpful in all fields, caring, encouraging and information.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first contact with the International Cancer Advocacy Network (ICAN) occurred in late December, 2011 in conjunction with a diagnosis of Stage 1 Breast Cancer. I needed information to make informed decisions about treatment options. Speaking with ICAN's resident angel, President and CEO Marcia Horn, I encountered someone who was professional, knowledgeable, dedicated, and compassionate. By the end of our phone call, I had a plan of action and hope for the future. I couldn't have asked for a better Christmas gift!

I am a Communications, Marketing, and Design professional who is very selective about the organizations with whom I volunteer because it is important to me to live my values in all aspects of my life. No one at ICAN asked me to volunteer. I offered my skills and time about a week after my initial contact with the organization because a follow-up call with Marcia made it exceeding clear that ICAN is a patient advocacy organization steeped in integrity and totally focused on helping each individual patient win his or her personal battle with cancer. The organization places a premium on providing each patient with the most up-to-date and accurate treatment and resource information for his or her particular cancer. They are sensitive to each patient's situation while also being supportive and encouraging.

So what's it like to be an ICAN volunteer? After two months and literally tons of hours, I can honestly state that being an ICAN volunteer is a totally positive experience! The organization has high standards and expectations as it strives for excellence in every aspect of its operations. Praise and encouragement are abundant. The staff, leadership, and even other volunteers go out of their way to let you know that you and your work are valued. Moreover, you have the satisfaction of knowing that your contributions are making a difference, not just in your particular area of service, but to the well-being and effectiveness of the entire organization and, by extension, to cancer patients residing all over the globe. Awesome responsibility and equally awesome personal rewards

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer