Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.99025
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

ICAN, the International Cancer Advocacy Network is at the vanguard of cancer patient care. Led by its amazing President and CEO, Marcia Horn, and steered by outstanding board members and scientific advisors, ICAN works tirelessly with cancer patients to ensure that they get the best care possible. ICAN was an early advocate for personalized medicine well before the current paradigm shift towards individualized molecular profiling became an integral part of patient care. ICAN's work with late stage cancer patients is extraordinary, serving each patient on an individual basis, hand holding as they address tough clinical decisions. I have volunteered with ICAN over the past three years as a member of the Biomarkers Council, where we provide scientific expertise in the area of molecular profiling. ICAN also works to implement and advocate for changes in public policy that benefit cancer patients. Please support ICAN today in any way that you can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I was an advisor on healthcare financing issues for the International Cancer Advocacy Network as well as a Director of research team leaders. Not only is ICAN a great place to volunteer, but they work tirelessly to serve the public. They are experienced, providing creative direct patient navigation and information services with the goal of extending life with the highest achievable quality of life. If you have a diagnosis of cancer they will help you to navigate the rapidly expanding diagnostic and personalized treatment options available to you. ICAN is a great place to start a career and and as always a great place to find specialized options for those diagnosed with cancer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

My dear friend Valorie, did research for me on recurrance colorectal cancer and found ICAN and Marcia Horn. My spirit was lifted to great heights after speaking with Ms. Horn about ICAN and my particular cancer. She actually was on the phone with V and myself for almost a half and hour, explaining in great detail, the various companies (such as Caris) that can assist in helping find the correct chemotherapies for colorrectal cancer, especially recurrance. She helped me have Caris compare my 2004 cancer cells with that of my current case. Caris stated I was getting the exact chemo that I needed from Memorial Sloan Cancer Center in NY. What a relief. I am truly in debted to Marcia Horn and ICAN >>> I will never forget her words to me... We will never leave you alone, we will be with you all the way. How wonderful is that? I am forever greatful. Cathy Larsen

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

ICAN is great in everything they do with cancer patients, oncologists, biomarker experts, drug-discovery scientists. They are amazing. Thank you, ICAN, for all you do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

ICAN Phoenix, AZ is excellent. I was terrified and overwhelmed. I went to the experts at ICAN and they helped me with complete commitment, deep compassion and comprehensive knowledge that helped me get through my decision-making process, surgery, and treatments. I recommend them without reservation. ICAN is excellent, professional and fully prepared to help anyone and everyone lucky enough to find them. I thank God for ICAN. Contact them immediately if you need help, you will be in safe, caring hands.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

Hands down, this is the place to go if you are suffering from confusion, lack of knowledge, or just someone to show kindness, during your battle with cancer. No other organization came close to what ICAN has done to help me. They are the most committed and kind people that I have ever had the pleasure of talking to. Thank you Marcia Horn and the rest of your team! I love you all!
Cathy Larson

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

ICAN is a unique nonprofit that has never relied on media to tell a story. It has solely grown on the strength of word-of-mouth. Marcia, CEO and President, and ICAN’s all-volunteer teams give so much individualized attention that the patients and their families have been inspired to join ICAN as volunteers themselves.
I first learned about ICAN around the Christmas holidays of 2010 via volunteermatch.org when I was looking for a cancer charity where I could use my background in cancer drug discovery and interests in cancer biology. When I finally talked to Marcia in February of 2011, I was impressed by the way things are done at ICAN and I immediately knew that this is one cause (and place) that I can identify with and where I WANT to put all my energy in.
At ICAN, my role is to provide tools supporting the physician teams that handle patients’ therapy decisions. Whenever I am called in to help on a case, I help by identifying possible therapeutic interventions based on published data or scientific logic; identify potential clinical trials; or, sometimes locate relevant experts. I’m not an oncologist. The oncologists/physicians/surgeons on ICAN’s board may use some of the information that experts like me are able to collect and guide the care of patients. I don’t hear much about the patients or the outcome which is a good thing because it also reinforces the sensitivity and need for patient privacy in the current environment.
I also manage ICAN’s group on LinkedIn and post updates on cancer drug trials and cancer biology. I urge you to join and add to the discussions on this group.
I have found so much joy spending time on ICAN’s cause that I wouldn’t be surprised if the last one-and-half years extend to decades of volunteerism for this one-of-a-kind nonprofit.
-- Ajay Malik, Ph.D., San Francisco, Calif.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Individual attention to the patients and their families, and great respect for the time all volunteers spend towards ICAN.

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

I have several friends with different types of cancer. My first call on behalf of each friend goes to ICAN. Marcia Horn, executive director and co-founder, has an outstanding knowledge of worldwide resources and medical care to help with each particular type of cancer. She has surrounded herself with the best of the best and has steered me in the right direction each time. My friends can't believe the depth of understanding and specific information that ICAN provides. I have seen first-hand how ICAN has extended lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

ICAN is truly an incredible organization. The services it provides are unparalleled by any organization of its kind, and the level of involvement, investment, and caring for individual patients has exceeded my greatest expectations for what I had hoped to become involved with. The services that ICAN provides for patients, in what is undoubtedly the most difficult time in their lives, and at no cost, provides such hope. Marcia Horn, CEO,tirelessly works all hours of the day, 8 days a week, to ensure that ICAN patients receive the best possible care to maximize their chances of survival. The volunteer experience is of equal match, as Marcia takes the time to ensure that the volunteers are engaged to their best potential and provides unique opportunities to gain involvement and experience. I can't recommend ICAN highly enough...if advocacy were an Olympic sport, ICAN would win the gold.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

I have continued gratitude to ICAN for its role in my late mother's battle with Ovarian Cancer. Although this terrible disease did take her life in May 2010, she outlived her expected prognosis and lived well and happily until just weeks before she died. ICAN CEO Marcia Horn did so much for Mom - from fielding her calls in a sensitive way to helping refer her to specialists. I believe Marcia truly cares. I have been in the presence of other families who feel the same. ICAN is worthy of accolades, grants, and more. I am proud to be volunteer member of its Board and I also consider Marcia a dear friend.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer