Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.990485
| 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN is a great organization that prides itself on taking absolute care of every cancer patient who needs the information and help with treatment of this disease. Not only are they so caring and amazing, they truly seem to take interest in every person and it shows.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN IS A WONDERFUL Non-profit that is truly an advocate for the patient and its family(s). ICAN is exhaustive in their quest to get doctors, trials, support and information to those in need. I believe they are more out of the box thinkers and believe people / patients should not be sent home to die; all avenues must be explored, conventionally and in non-conventional ways. The people I have sent to ICAN have be very appreciative of the respect ICAN gives to each individual knowing that everyone has a unique case and story to tell. This would be a well deserved recognition for this extraordinary non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have volunteered for this organization for at least 10 events they have out on. One thing that is so great about this nonprofit is that they help someone no matter what kind of sickness they have. They can get you in touch with the greatest doctors around the country. They have helped countless people with sicknesses. I have referred two cancer patients, and they couldn't have been happier with their experience with ICAN. They are amazing!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing. This is a wonderful group of people and volunteers. And they all love to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Both my wife and daughter developed cancer. Fortunately, my daughter - who had Ovarian Cancer over 11 years ago - is still alive and well. During her early cancer treatments ICAN was deeply involved and I believe helped save her life. My wife, unfortunately, did not survive her cancer, and though I had tried to have her see the physicians ICAN had suggested, and to follow a chemotherapy course strongly recommended by both ICAN and consultants, she refused.

I have been working with ICAN for over 10 years and believe that it is the most effective and well run cancer advocacy organization one will find in this country. The work they do is phenomenal

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise a million dollars so they could help more people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have volunteered for ICAN for almost a year. I considered it to be one of the most serious, well organized and truly devoted to patient care cancer organizations I have had the pleasure to work with. As an MD., I consider my time to be valuable, therefore I'm really thorough about where I spend my free time at. ICAN provides volunteering options for all kinds of professionals as well as accommodating to all types of schedules.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work on the public relations area, since I know there are a lot of serious committed professionals that are willing to dedicate part of their free time to volunteer, however they are worried about the responsibilities and the time that it may take.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have been volunteering for ICAN for about three years now. This is my first volunteering experience and it is an excellent one. I work on the Cancer Literature project, collecting and organizing material for other teams to use. I feel like I am helping others but at the same time I am learning a lot. All contact is by email but I believe I am beginning to know the people I am woking with. The work atmosphere is very pleasant. I believe ICAN fills a unique niche in the way they support patients with advanced cancer. I wish they had more funding so they could help more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leverage Internet tools like wikis so our volunteers have more of a sense of community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN has been a wonderful organization to work with. It truly celebrates diversity by bringing together people of different cultures, backgrounds and professions at crux of passion : of helping others. My journey with has been amazing as well as rewarding for ICAN helped me grow as a professional as well as person. Being a Research Team Leader,I had an opportunity to work closely with CEO, Marcia K Horn and Director Research Services, Regina Marie Klopfer. Found them thoroughly professional and always there to smooth the glitches for the team members. ICAN's deep commitment towards empowering late stage cancer patients with latest treatments and approaches speaks volumes for the kind of inspiring organization it is. Outstanding Patient care, high volunteer satisfaction and high professionalism makes ICAN a class apart

I strongly recommend and urge to support ICAN in any way you can. It definitely needs more funding so that even more patients can be helped!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have referred several cases to ICAN all of which have been handled with immediate care and prompt response! They make sure all areas and issues are addressed and dealt with in a professional and caring manner. I have worked with them for many years and will continue to do so for many more!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ICAN needs more funding to keep handling all the patient cases that it receives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I have had the immense pleasure of working with ICAN for 3 years as both an intern and a Research Team Leader. The commitment of ICAN's leadership to serving cancer patients, caregivers, and families is unmistakable and results in a deeply-embedded service ethic that permeates the entire organization. Volunteers at every level are given honest feedback and a network of support that enables them to fully develop and contribute their skills while working within a very diverse team. ICAN strives to ensure cancer patients have access to cutting-edge, evidence-based medicine, and every patient served by ICAN is provided with individualized support to navigate the patient journey. Having cultivated a culture of compassion and an extensive network of experts, Marcia Horn has built an organization with a special capacity to make a profound difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. ICAN simply needs further funding to help reach a greater number of patients.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN has some of the most talented, dedicated people I have had the pleasure to work with. ICAN has extremely motivated and dedicated staff passionate about their work, provides truly supportive and selfless service to their patients and has an autonomous work environment.I have had the chance to work with several non profits in the past but ICAN stands out among all of them because of its true leaders like Marcia Horn, president and CEO and Regina Kolpfer,Director of Research Services and other dedicated staff continuously putting their effort to make ICAN better so that their patient would get one of the most outstanding service.My time at ICAN as a Research Team Leader has been extremely rewarding as I learned some of the qualities like motivation, perseverance, hardwork, selflessness,extremely service driven and so on. There is not enough word to explain my appreciation for ICAN. Being associated with such an organization with great mentors is one of the best experience I have had ever.I would recommend volunteering at ICAN because of its greater cause towards the society as well as the support, advice and encouragement you will receive while you are there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing as it definitely meets the expectation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer