Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.990295
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

Marcia Horn and ICAN were invaluable in helping me find the right health care provider for my case. To have someone advocate for you - especially with stage IV cases - is so heartening and validating. Thank you ICAN for all you do to help those of us on this often confusing journey to find some light at the end of the tunnel!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

Nonprofit organizations in general are a great way to gather community service volunteer hours. However, ICAN is much more than your typical Nonprofit organization. Working with all the members of ICAN for over two years now, I can personally say that this organization, from top to bottom, is filled dedicated, compassionate individuals who share a common goal - improving cancer treatments worldwide.

Marcia, Regina and all the other members of ICAN have spent countless hours helping a tremendous amount of people battle and beat their cancers, and I could not give this company a stronger recommendation.

Cancer can be considered the disease of our new generation, and when I first started working for ICAN I was fascinated by it. Moreover, I was interested in the amount of research going into the discovery of new treatments and cures for this terrible illness. However, what was lost was the step in between research and the implementation of new treatments. While new breakthroughs are coming in at an enormously high rate, there is only so much that oncologists can keep up with and keep their patients informed about. This is what ICAN does, as we serve to educated both patients and physicians on the newest research in every field of cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more known.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I am living in the United States, and after learning about them, ICAN helped a friend of mine who is located in Shanghai, China. He has a recurrence of abdominal cancer that has challenged his oncologists in Shanghai. The support that ICAN has provided is so much more than I expected. They arranged to review my friend's case. Because the documents for his medical history were in Chinese, they had an expert here in the United States go over the documents and translate them. After going through his documents and learning about his cancer and previous history, ICAN suggested that my friend have molecular profiling done. They arranged for my friend to discuss this with a Chinese expert who was visiting Shanghai from the United States. My friend understands much better what questions to discuss with his oncologists in Shanghai and how to talk to them about molecular profiling. We hope that he will recover from his cancer. The support that Ms. Horn and ICAN give to my friend and his family is priceless we are so fortunate to have found them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

The international cancer advocacy network is in need of more funding to continue to help more patients as that continues to be ICAN's top priority.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more funding to help them continue with their research.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I have been fortunate to work with so many dedicated volunteers over the last two years as part of ICAN’s Research Administration team. I think the most important attribute of ICAN is our quest to always have the timeliest up to date knowledge for doctors, medicines and procedures / trials matched to the patients and families we serve. Most all virtual volunteers rapidly adapt to their assignments from the instructional information we provide and become productive contributors within days of coming on board. The information collected from volunteers goes through a multi-tier process to ensure accuracy and relevance before ever reaching final output for dissemination.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see more people with financial resources contribute towards patient causes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I've been working with ICAN volunteers for about a year and been blown away by the level of commitment of not only the volunteers but the staff as well. All the volunteers questions are quickly resolved allowing the volunteers to focus on their work to help as many patients as possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increased funding would allow the org to reach many more patients.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN is a fabulous organization to volunteer for. They are very caring and work hard for the patients. Everyone with ICAN is very organized and helpful and a pleasure to work with!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Ican is a fabulous organization, with great people involved that TRULY care about every person that comes to them. I have referred them to a few friends, and all have been extremely satisfied with the help they received. I love volunteering for this amazing organization, as I know my help will truly help Ican, help others! I look forward to volunteering at their golf fundraiser in just a couple weeks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN is a great organization that prides itself on taking absolute care of every cancer patient who needs the information and help with treatment of this disease. Not only are they so caring and amazing, they truly seem to take interest in every person and it shows.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

ICAN IS A WONDERFUL Non-profit that is truly an advocate for the patient and its family(s). ICAN is exhaustive in their quest to get doctors, trials, support and information to those in need. I believe they are more out of the box thinkers and believe people / patients should not be sent home to die; all avenues must be explored, conventionally and in non-conventional ways. The people I have sent to ICAN have be very appreciative of the respect ICAN gives to each individual knowing that everyone has a unique case and story to tell. This would be a well deserved recognition for this extraordinary non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer