Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
123 Reviews
1234.991875
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

When our mother was stricken with ovarian cancer our family did not know where to turn. We heard about ICAN and Marcia Horn. When we contacted Marcia she was more then happy to meet with my family and help guild us through what was happening and what to expect along with some options. Even being over 3000 miles away it was nice to know there was someone great in our corner. I can't thank Marcia & ICAN enough for all her help and leadership.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

This is an amazing organization! I have volunteered and worked with Marcia Horn and ICAN for a number of years and enjoyed raising money and making great friends. Suddenly a few months ago ICAN took on a different meeting in my life when I was informed that a close friend was diagnosed with Ovarian cancer. As soon as I received the information, I called Marcia and she went to work and spoke personally with my friend. Never mind that it was 9:45pm on a Friday night. Marcia took the bull by the horns and gave specific step by step instructions and phone numbers. As a result, and due to our fast acting, my friend is now 94% cancer free. The entire process from diagnosis to final results was 3 weeks. Without Marcia Horn and the ICAN organization, my friend would never have received the level of care that she did. Thank you!
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

There are angels on this earth!!!


I landed on the ICAN website by way of a recommendation from a friend and I had a mortal angel fly in and land on my doorstep. Her name is Marcia Horn of ICAN and she turned our world from Black and White to Technicolor! From out first meeting she
went out of her way to make some great suggestions and recommend state of the art ways of dealing with my mom (Pearl) Ovarian Cancer. She helped us line up some good doctors and was always around to help our family to answer any questions we had on the labyrinth of cancer therapies.

ICAN is a great resource and I recommend it to anyone who must face a cancer therapy and is unsure where to turn, to consult with ICAN.
October 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2013

ICAN has been a wonderful organization to work with. It truly celebrates diversity by bringing together people of different cultures, backgrounds and professions at crux of passion : of helping others... more

October 13, 2014

My association with ICAN started five years ago when I joined as Web Research Intern, transitioned to Research Team Leader and now working as member of International Physicians Council. During my time at ICAN, I've been extremely impressed by the program's commitment towards health care and cancer research excellence. Personally, I feel so blessed and grateful to have known and worked with such fantastic team without whose dedication and commitment, the gargantuan task of cancer projects can't be completed.

Not only have I enjoy working with Regina (Director Research Services), I learnt the dynamics of effective team management. She has always stood by me and my team whenever we need her and smoothed many hitches by her unconditional hand of cooperation at all times. Her strong work ethic, uplifting spirit, and wonderful attitude makes her an asset for ICAN.

Another person whom I've really enjoy working is Michèle . She is a brilliant Citation Editor who painstakingly corrects every assignment that is sent her way . She has a remarkable ability to oversee a large project without losing sight of the little things.

Last but not the least, The dynamic and passionate leadership of Marcia makes this Non Profit stand out amongst others. I feel that Marcia is an exceptional leader and a genuinely good person. Not only she brings a keen intellect to all quarters of ICAN, she enhances the ICAN community with her worldliness and humanism.

Because though I have branched out higher, the roots have grown a bit more deeper .
As they say " Even the smallest act of caring for another person is like a drop of water -it will make ripples throughout the entire pond...”
I sincerely hope that our ICAN family ripples reach far and wide and make difference in lives of those in need.
September 30, 2013

ICAN has been a wonderful organization to work with. It truly celebrates diversity by bringing together people of different cultures, backgrounds and professions at crux of passion : of helping others. My journey with has been amazing as well as rewarding for ICAN helped me grow as a professional as well as person. Being a Research Team Leader,I had an opportunity to work closely with CEO, Marcia K Horn and Director Research Services, Regina Marie Klopfer. Found them thoroughly professional and always there to smooth the glitches for the team members. ICAN's deep commitment towards empowering late stage cancer patients with latest treatments and approaches speaks volumes for the kind of inspiring organization it is. Outstanding Patient care, high volunteer satisfaction and high professionalism makes ICAN a class apart

I strongly recommend and urge to support ICAN in any way you can. It definitely needs more funding so that even more patients can be helped!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 22, 2012

As Chairman of the Board of ICAN, I am the organization's lead volunteer and cheering squad for our very small staff and hundreds of volunteers around the world! In the thirteen plus years during whic... more

October 13, 2014

I've said it before and I'll happily say it again: in my sixteen years volunteering for ICAN (including about eight years serving as Chairman of the Board), I continue to see miracles happen ... lives being extended with the best possible quality of life. Because of the extremely worthy work done by all those on Team ICAN, I become recommitted - every day - to that team and to those patients who count on us. With day-to-day eyewitnessing of ICAN's small but mighty staff and its more than 1000-strong volunteer base working around the world and around the clock, I am convinced that ICAN is THE most patient-friendly and helpful cancer organization on the planet. With more funding dollars, we would be able to help that many more desperate patients, and if I were to win the lottery, I would put a little away to take care of my family and then donate the rest to ICAN.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find 'angel' donors whose financial support would allow this organization to help all those who come to our doors, without ever having to put any patient on a waitlist.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 22, 2012

As Chairman of the Board of ICAN, I am the organization's lead volunteer and cheering squad for our very small staff and hundreds of volunteers around the world! In the thirteen plus years during which I have volunteered for ICAN, I have witnessed the amazing work done by this organization, along with the gratitude of countless patients and their families. I truly believe that of all the cancer organizations on the face of the planet, ICAN is the only one that actually “goes to bat” for patients and their families … extending lives and improving patient quality of life along the way. Every day, I am reminded by grateful patients that all volunteer efforts and donor support for ICAN could not go to a more worthy organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing from grateful patients and their families, many of whom had not been helped by some of the more high profile cancer organizations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find some wealthy people who could give us the support we need to help even more patients around the U.S. and around the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

In 1998, my cousin's 29-yr-old daughter was dying of melanoma. At that time, I read an article in Phoenix Magazine about an anticancer drug developer (Dr. George Pettit), who went into the rainforests and the oceans around the world, looking for anticancer compounds, which he would then try to replicate in the lab. The article mentioned that if readers wanted more information, they should contact Marcia Horn at IFADD (International Foundation for Anticancer Drug Discovery, which was the organization's name until several years ago when we changed it to ICAN). At that time, I called Marcia who immediately did research for this cousin of mine and was able to provide the family with some critical information (that none of us could find elsewhere). I was so grateful to Marcia and inspired by the help and resources that she and the organization provided to us that I offered my help. And now, more than thirteen years later, I am more inspired than ever.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

For cancer patients, our most critical priority today is molecular profiling, which will give doctors the most complete information on exactly what might best fight that patient's particular cancer, bringing about THE most effective "personalized medicine" treatment for every cancer patient. For ICAN, our most critical priority is to have the funds that will allow us to act as an advocate for every patient who might benefit from our services.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Exactly the same priorities as short-term (above).

December 27, 2010

Speaking as an ICAN (International Cancer Advocacy Network) insider, I can personally vouch for the fact that whatever donors and volunteers put in to this organization, be it donations and or time, they get back twice as much in satisfaction and gratification that their efforts are truly helping cancer patients fight for their lives. How do I know? I’ve been a very active ICAN (formerly IFADD) volunteer since 1998. At that time, Marcia Horn - ICAN's heroic leader - researched my cousin's cancer at my behest and was able to present some critical information (that we could not find elsewhere) to the family. I was so grateful to Marcia and inspired by the help and resources that she and the organization provided to my cousin that I offered my help. And now, more than twelve years of just about full time pro bono work for ICAN, I am more inspired than ever.

Of all the cancer organizations on the face of the planet, I believe that ICAN is the only one that is truly "in the trenches" with patients and their families … extending lives and improving patient quality of life along the way. It’s become sort of “legend” around ICAN circles that if I were to win the lottery tomorrow, I’d reserve a little for my family and then give the lion’s share to ICAN, as it could not go to a more worthy organization that literally works 24/7 to be a virtual lifeline for proactive cancer patients.
Sherry Weinstein, Chairman
ICAN Board of Trustees

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having met - in person, on the phone, or via email - many grateful cancer patients (or their families) who say that ICAN is greatly responsible for the "extra years" they've gotten, or for enhancing their quality of life. That's all the proof I need to keep me motivated to continue my work with ICAN for the next twelve years!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I'd make is to try and find more "angel donors" so that ICAN would be able to provide its unique services to an ever-greater number of patients around the world.

October 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2013

I have had the immense pleasure of working with ICAN for 3 years as both an intern and a Research Team Leader. The commitment of ICAN's leadership to serving cancer patients, caregivers, and families ... more

October 13, 2014

I began volunteering with ICAN 4 years ago and have been a Research Team Leader for 3 of those years. The organization is comprised of dedicated, passionate people at all levels, particularly Regina Marie Klopfer and Marcia Horn who provide strong, compassionate leadership. Every ICAN volunteer, regardless of his or her background, is a valued member of the team. It has been such a privilege to be part of an organization that is a driving force for oncology patient advocacy at every level. ICAN is a truly special organization doing phenomenal work.
September 30, 2013

I have had the immense pleasure of working with ICAN for 3 years as both an intern and a Research Team Leader. The commitment of ICAN's leadership to serving cancer patients, caregivers, and families is unmistakable and results in a deeply-embedded service ethic that permeates the entire organization. Volunteers at every level are given honest feedback and a network of support that enables them to fully develop and contribute their skills while working within a very diverse team. ICAN strives to ensure cancer patients have access to cutting-edge, evidence-based medicine, and every patient served by ICAN is provided with individualized support to navigate the patient journey. Having cultivated a culture of compassion and an extensive network of experts, Marcia Horn has built an organization with a special capacity to make a profound difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. ICAN simply needs further funding to help reach a greater number of patients.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I started out at ICAN as Web Research Intern. In this position, I searched online for articles related to Esophageal Cancer. I enjoyed this position because it gave me an opportunity to learn about cancer. Searching for and reviewing articles helped me earn about how cancer develops, methods used to detect and diagnose, how cancer drugs work, causes of cancer and actions a person can take to reduce their risk of cancers. Volunteering for ICAN is also good position for someone who doesn't have the time to learn about cancers, the causes of it, and how to prevent it because it exposes you to the resources you need to learn about it and forces you to devote the time to learn for yourself. The effort you make benefits you and others. Finally, I like the position because it gives me an opportunity to help another person and rebuild their hope. I like the work ICAN does and how it strives to encourage a person at the late stage of their life to hold on, keep trying, and stands with them till the end. It's an organization with excellent values. In my new position, I get to review abstracts collected by other volunteers. The position has helped me improve in my organization skills. I have to keep track of topics assigned, whom topics are assigned, when topics are due, maintain contact with volunteers to check on status of assignments, review, and provide feedback. It helps both volunteers develop transferrable skills that are valuable in the workforce and in school.

I think ICAN is a great organization to volunteer for. They provided beneficial and needed services to people who otherwise may not be aware or have access to free of charge. It helps patients stay aware, become better and informed decision makers so they can become more involved in healthcare they receive or team players with their physicians in treating their conditions. Doctors do not always have the time to do the extra legwork to research a patients’ condition or look at the latest in treatment for their condition. ICAN does the legwork for them so they can also be a better resource for their patients. For the staff and volunteers, it gives them an opportunity to develop transferable skills that help them in the workforce and school. ICAN services and work benefit everyone around the world. It being on the web gives doctors and cancer patients from around the world access to a library of resources in one location that they otherwise may not be able to have access to due to poverty or other factors.

To be able to continue doing their great work, ICAN needs more funding. I hope you can see that your money will not be wasted after reading this and the other reviews.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

Amazing organization with amazing people. This organization truly did help me when I needed advice and I needed guidance with a family member who was struggling with the cancer battle. I've been volunteering for this now for over 3 years, and I cannot stress enough how awesome this place is. We collect the most up to date literature on cancers and distribute the information to oncologists, patients, and families so that way they can have the most up to date resources when fighting this ugly disease. With more information available, patients are able to make the best, most informed decisions regarding their patient care, and thus, get better results.

Thank you ICAN!
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I've been volunteering for ICAN for about 6 years now (since I was a Junior in college) and it has been an amazing experience. Not only has it been a rewarding experience volunteering my time, but it has been an absolute privilege and joy working for people who are so compassionate and understanding about the cause. Marcia Horn and Regina Marie Klopfer are exemplary leaders and an honor to work for. They make sure you are comfortable in your volunteering role and are very appreciative of the time you put into ICAN. All in all, it's been a wonderful six years and I look forward to dedicating many more years to come.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I've been volunteering with ICAN for the last 2 years and never felt lost! The management is awesome and the tasks are rewarding.
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Join one of our literature updating teams if you like Web research OR join our Trash and Treasures (garage sales) project and help recruit items for our next sale. Volunteer