Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 11, 2012

more

December 11, 2012

I went to my first Hygeia meeting 1 week after my son was stillborn Feb 2008. I had lots of family and friends support. But still felt alone. Hygeia helped me find my new normal. They helped me thru the darkest time in my life and then thru a subsequent pregnancy which we were blessed with a beautiful healthy girl in March of 2011. I will always be greatful to Hygeia for all they have done for me. And for the wonderful friendships I have made.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I discovered The Hygeia Foundation after I delivered a stillborn baby girl on December 31, 2010. It was truly the most horrible time in my life. Even though I had support of friends and family, I felt completely alone and isolated. How could anyone even possibly understand what I was going through? With The Hygeia Foundation, I found a place where I could eventually find my new normal. Where I could talk to other women and families who have gone through tragedies like mine – people who I could relate to. Women who know about sheer anguish, and fear, and anger, and desperation. I now volunteer my time to this outstanding organization, and I encourage you to visit www.hygeiafoundation.org for more information about all of the services they offer. You do not have to go through this alone. The Hygiea Foundation is here to help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Prior to giving birth to my beautiful twins, I lost four babies. The Hygeia Foundation helped me to move through the grieving process, find the best way to tell the twins about their brothers and sisters in Heaven, and find ways to honor my babies by helping others in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I experienced a miscarriage during my first pregnancy several years ago. The days, weeks, and months after my loss I struggled to find any comfort from friends and family that were doing their best to offer me support. I felt very alone and confused. A few years later I heard about a local support group with Hygeia in Guilford. I was so thankful to learn that there was a place families could go to talk freely about how this ordeal had affected their lives. Nobody understands like somebody that has been through it. I have since become a volunteer and help to facilitate the monthly support meetings. I have seen first-hand the incredible difference it makes to these families to come each month to ask advice, cry, vent, listen to others, and sometimes to just not feel so alone. I am so thankful that this wonderful organization exists.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found the Hygeia Foundation through a friend of mine who had become part of the organization after she had lost her son just days after birth. Once we had a stillborn daughter (at 38 weeks) 7 years ago, I turned to this same friend for comfort and support and in turn met the amazing group of women who were a part of Hygeia along with Dr. Berman. Without this support network of families who have also lost babies I don't know how we would have gotten through those darkest days. When you experience a loss so sudden, tragic and life changing there are only those who have gone through the same experience that can really understand your pain. My bond with the Hygeia Foundation has continued all these years now that I am able to give back and help provide support to others who have lost by volunteering my time as a support group facilitator.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about Dr. Berman and the Hygeia Foundation when we had a stillborn daughter, Emily, almost 9 years ago. It was horrific, unexpected and the worst experience I've ever had--me and my family still think about her every day. At the time, the absolute only way I knew I'd ever feel better about this tragedy, would be to take action in her honor and help others who had lost a child to miscarriage or stillbirth. Hygeia has grown significantly since then and offers support groups, assistance to the medical community and a facility in Woodbridge, CT. Hygeia's community and web of support saw me through my grief and continues to support us and others today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found Hygeia after I lost my son in December 2009. I started attending support groups for my loss and hte facilitators were great as they have also experienced a loss. They helped me get through the first year on top of a subsequent pregnancy during that year. I was proud to walk in memory of my son at their Footprints to Remember Walk for the last two years. I also went through training to become a facilitator this year to help those suffering a loss. They were there for me and I want to be there for others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found Hygeia when putting together a walk for pregnancy loss in my area of CT. I was so impressed with their executive director and her plans for their first walk for pregnancy loss (Walk To Remember - Footprints on the Heart) that I decided to let go of my plans and join them with theirs. I never regretted it. I eventually joined their parenting board and and in training to be a facilitator for their support group meetings. Having had two pregnancy losses myself - one at 11 weeks and one at 38 weeks - I have always found Hygeia to be supportive and helpful to those in need. They are an amazing organization with so much heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

You can read our story here: http://www.nhregister.com/articles/2009/01/05/news/metro/b1-wohygeialoss.txt

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for the Hygeia Foundation for many years, since my twin sons were stillborn. Hygeia supports families who grieve the loss of a pregnancy or newborn. I have found so much comfort and hope through my work with Hygeia. I don't think I could have survived the loss of my twins (and my two miscarriages) without them. They provide online support, hold support groups in three locations in Connecticut, and provide phone and email support. They also have a lending library and a burial fund for families who cannot afford to bury or cremate their child. Hygeia holds the "Footprints On Our Hearts Walk To Remember" in October every year. More information about Hygeia can be found at www.hygeiafoundation.org

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers