Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
Write A Review
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

Everything about the Hydro Angels Over America is amazing! I had the pleasure of meeting some of the most incredible and inspirational people while at the Hydrocephalus conference this year, which was run by HAOA. It was very well organised and was enjoyed by everyone of all ages. Definitely looking forward to the next one! The organisation is always trying to create awareness, but also always there to help families who have someone with the condition. They do incredible work and I feel very honoured to know them and call them family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

Hydro Angels have been like a family to us. My youngest daughter was born with several medical conditions one being Hydrocephalus. I found Hydro Angels after making her page. They were supportive from the start. They provide so much support and information. They also granted Janyia the Christmas angel and bought her a seat she needed, clothes and also $100 for Christmas. I love Hydro Angels, they are a great family to be apart of.
August 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2013

I am currently a Board Member of this organization. Prior to joining the board, I have been an active volunteer and at many different events have witnessed many life changing moments for those that ou... more

August 26, 2014

I have the pleasure of serving on the Board of this Wonderful Organization. Prior to joining the Board, I was a Volunteer and attended most of the events held by HydroAngels. At each event, I meet amazing people all dealing with Hydrocephalus in some way. Whether they personally have it or their loved one does, meeting them and seeing how they appreciate an organization founded in part to help them has truly enriched my life. I know people that are alive today as a direct result of the Founder of this organization's determination. That in itself, is monumental and powerful as it takes someone who is unselfish to give of themselves in the Hope of making a difference. Knowing someone with this kind of determination, is a joy and I am forever grateful to have been asked to serve as a Board Member.
I could list so many instances where HydroAngels has had a positive effect on the lives of others. I continue to be amazed by the people I meet at our events and wonder how different their lives would be without our efforts. You would have a hard time finding and organization that works as hard with every fiber of its being to make a difference and does. When a new program or service is created by HydroAngels, its generally due to a life changing event that we have been made aware of or involved in, and its our intention for that new program or service to provide comfort in one form or another.
We experience sad times when a HydroWarrior passes and it motivates us to keep working hard so that one day people will not perish as result of Hyrdocephalus. I will continue to work hard so we can do more. I am comforted to know that We Do Make a Difference.

Best regards,

Michael Wells
October 29, 2013

I am currently a Board Member of this organization. Prior to joining the board, I have been an active volunteer and at many different events have witnessed many life changing moments for those that our organization has helped. So many struggle with Hydrocephalous and the most common statement I hear made is "we had no idea an organization like you existed and without your support our lives would be much different". To see the faces at events of those who have been helped in some way or have simply found happiness by getting together with others who struggle like they do is the reason I am so motivated to be a part of HAOA. We have big goals for how we would like to help others and are continuing to find ways to promote HAOA. I have witnessed an unselfish Love shared from the Founder who deals with her own Hydro related issues every day but puts on a good face and doesn't let it keep her from hosting successful events. I really have so many stories I could share and look forward to continuing seeing smiles!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope to have more volunteers and reach more people so that we can support them as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

Hydro Angels over America is amazing charity. This organization has been there for my daughter and out family. We have been truly blessed. We're also so thankful we have met the amazing people over HAOM . My daughter was born with congenital hydro she is 19 months old. I would and do recommend this group to others. We love Hydro angels over America#!!#

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them move closer to me and my family. .

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

I met mrs.sheri and Angels over america right before my emergency shunt surgery in May. I spoke to mrs.sheri shortly after my surgery and was feeling depressed because of everything that was going on at the time. I asked her how much the hydro bears were. ..well, about a week and a half later I received a care package with a bear,2 books, a wrist band(which my husband wears every day) and a personal letter from her. It not only touched my heart but my soul as well. I didn't know that people like mrs.Sheri and organizations like hydro angel's over america existed. If it weren't for my husband pushing me to find out more about my hydrocephalusand encouraging me to to find others like me, I never would've found you guys. I am forever grateful in knowing that I'm not alone. Thank you so much
August 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2013

I learned about Hydro Angels in 2011 when I was having my 5th shunt revision and getting my first ever programmable shunt. I am so thankful to have found this organization and gained the support of su... more

August 9, 2014

I have so much respect for Hydro Angels Over America and the founder Sheri Burdine and all of the board members. It is wonderful to know there are people out there who truly care about you and have first hand knowledge of what it's like to be living with Hydrocephalus, yet keep such a positive attitude and always looking after the needs of others. Living in a small town no one else knows about Hydrocephalus and I always felt alone but when I found Sheri and her wonderful organization after my 5th shunt revision in 2011 I finally felt like I had a place to turn to for comfort and support. My favorite thing about HAOA is that it's personable and lets you know you are not alone! I am always excited to attend events and volunteer when I can!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013

I learned about Hydro Angels in 2011 when I was having my 5th shunt revision and getting my first ever programmable shunt. I am so thankful to have found this organization and gained the support of such a wonderful organization! Everyone is so positive and uplifting and you know you can count on them when support is needed. In my case, just others to talk with and learn new information and help me know I'm not the only one out there with Hydro! Hydro Angels has done so many amazing things to help those who truly need it! I have also met "forever" friends that have touched my life more than they will ever know!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2013

I'll never forget the day - May 30th of 2012. My daughter was just shy of 3 months old and I was told she had Hydrocephalus. I could barely hear voices over my own heartbeat and I could barely see th... more

August 8, 2014

I am so proud to be a member of this amazing organization. My daughter was diagnosed with hydrocephalus at 3 months of age. I had no idea what to do and what to expect. Doctors told me the facts, but I had so many more questions and concerns for my baby. I reached out to Hydro Angels Over America and Sheri, the organizations founder and president, answered the phone. After talking me off my ledge of emotion, Sheri provided me with much needed information and answered so many of my questions and concerns. Sheri, herself, has hydrocephalus and knows first hand the struggles and concerns faced by families who are facing this diagnosis. I am so grateful to her and to the organization for providing a community that can help others with this condition. Not only is Hydro Angels Over America there to provide knowledge and support for families with Hydrocephalus, it also provides much needed funding for medical equipment, medical procedures, making many hydro warrior's dreams come true, funding for burial arrangements, funding for Hydro Camp (for children and adults with hydrocephalus) and so much more. This is truly and incredible organization with a Board that has so much heart. This world is a better place because of Hydro Angels Over America!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread more awareness and expand number of board members - we are growing and need more help on the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013

I'll never forget the day - May 30th of 2012. My daughter was just shy of 3 months old and I was told she had Hydrocephalus. I could barely hear voices over my own heartbeat and I could barely see through my tears. What does that mean? What do I do? Will she be OK? Brain surgery? Of course, the first thing you are told not to do is "Google" it ... so what is the first thing I did ... Google it, of course. Consumed with fear for my daughter and feeling so alone, I knew I needed to reach out to someone who knew this condition. In my "Google adventures" I found a website for Hydro Angels Over America. I read that the founder had hydrocephalus herself and the words "You are not alone" resonated through the page. I called immediately and was pleasantly surprised that Sheri Burdine, the founder answered my call. She took the time to answer my endless questions, listen through my tears. I understood more as I spoke with her and she inspired me so much that I became a board member. Making a difference for my daughter and for all with Hydrocephalus became my dream . Raising money for families in need, raising awareness of this condition, making dreams come true for those with Hydrocephalus. This organization truly puts those with hydrocephalus first. Sheri LOVES what she does and it resonates through every event she sponsors and organizes. This organization was built on HEART and has grown to help so many families, it deserves the highest of awards!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

LIke to help spread awareness to those not only with hydrocephalus and their families, but everyone so that it does not go unrecognized. There are still so many people who do not know what this condition is and how prevalent it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

This is the best organization out there. My son was born with Hydrocephalus and we knew nothing about the condition. We spent 2 years with different organizations that did nothing but offer confusing information on their websites. These organizations made us feel like we were one in a million and were alone. We found Hydro Angels Over America in 2012 and our lives have been changed for the better ever since. The founder of the organization understands what all of these families dealing with hydro go through because she herself has hydrocephalus. This organization does so much for so many. Not only are do we feel like we are part of an organization but they make us feel like we are part of a big Hydro family. They have helped us is so many ways and we know that if there is ever anything we need then we can call them and they will not hesitate to get us (and everyone else) the help they need. This organization is a bless to everyone it reaches out to. HAOA does not hold anything against a person or family. It does not matter a persons background or what they do for a living. All that matters is bringing awareness to this condition and helping people that deal with it on a daily basis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is great just the way it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Hydrocephalus for me was a very lonely road for 35yrs... I had never met anyone else with hydro and tried to deny my experience with it so I didn't have to feel so alone. After meeting Sheri Burdine and HAOA, I not only found other people with hydro, but I met an organization whose focus was on "helping" people living with hydrocephalus. I admire them for bringing the dreams of those with hydro come to pass... I also think that since Sheri lives with hydrocephalus, her approach to helping others is more empathetic than someone who doesn't have the daily trials.... Keep doing what you're doing HAOA!!! You are Great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it, to allow the Organization to reach and serve more individuals living with hydrocephalus.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I have a 40 year old son with hydrocephalus and he has grown up as a unique person in our little town. Finding and joining this group has been wonderful! So thrilled by all the resources presented here on a daily basis!

The annual seminars are a wonderful opportunity to meet and greet
other people with hydrocephalus and the information presented is cutting edge!

Cannot say enough good things about this organization and it's director!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find a way to give them even MORE exposure!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help in the office, or volunteer at an event across America Volunteer