Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.695655
Write A Review
October 24, 2011

more

October 24, 2011

HVAF helps homeless and near-homeles veterans. They house over 200 vets and offer long term care around substance abuse and other issues leading to homelessness. They are highly effective in this field.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2011

more

October 22, 2011

I am a former homeless veteran and HVAF helped me. They took me from living on the streets to living in one of their veteran's homes. Then, I became a manger of one of their houses. During the approximately two years I lived in one of their homes, I attended law school and now I am an attorney. Also, I am a board member of HVAF of Indiana, Inc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2011

more

October 17, 2011

I am US Navy veteran and have witnessed firsthand many sailors who have struggled with their return to civilian life. Some have taken to drugs and alcohol as methods of dealing with such an abrupt change in lifestyle; as a result of these new behaviors, many have found themselves forced to leave their loved ones and turn to life on the streets. HVAF and its staff help these homeless veterans (some of whom may actually qualify for VA benefits) to begin the process of taking control of their lives (emotionally, physically, spiritually, financially). HVAF staff understand that it is a process, with some setbacks along the way. However, the clients (veterans) understand that this chance might be their last and most want to take full advantage of the opportunities that HVAF provides.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

My friend and US Navy veteran colleague, David Mann.

What is its top priority in the long run?

More housing facilities as the percentage of veterans who are homeless is increasing.

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

As a leader in the United States Army, we were always talking about soldier care. I was commissioned in 1989, went to war in 1990-1991 and continued to lead soldiers until 2000. Just because I am no longer wearing the uniform, does not mean that I can disregard my duty to take care of soldiers. I believe that duty lives on throughout my life.

It is honor serve on the board of HVAF of Indiana and continue to take care soldiers in their greatest needs.

Duty, Honor, Country

Together we serve!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers