Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.695655
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

More than 900 veterans are homeless on any given night in Indianapolis, Ind. HVAF of Indiana, Inc. is there to help by assisting veterans daily in providing housing and essential services while promoting self-sufficiency. In the process, clients leave HVAF stronger, more confident, ready and able to achieve individual goals. HVAF serves the community and makes a difference in the life of those who defended our country.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Success stories are not hard to find at HVAF of Indiana, Inc. When a veteran comes in he or she may have been living on the streets or under a bridge but with HVAF's help a veteran now has shelter, food and clothing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes.

October 14, 2011

more

October 14, 2011

When I was going through my schooling to get my bachelors in social work I was lucky enough to intern with HAVF. Being a veteran myself I was excited about the prospect of getting a chance to work with a population that was very dear to my heart. I could not believe all the services they provide. They do so much for those who have served. Indiana is lucky to have a program like this one. I hope one day they are able to branch out into other states.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 14, 2011

more

October 14, 2011

HVAF is a great organization dedicated to eliminating homelessness among the veteran population. Due to the economic downturn, services offered today are more important than ever before. It's unthinkable that those who have bravely served our country may find themselves without a safe place to lie their heads. Please consider making a donation of your time, talents, or personal care items so we can show our appreciation for America's heros who should not be forgotten.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 14, 2011

more

October 14, 2011

HVAF is a terrific orgainization whose members strive on a daily basis to provide the quality of care that our nations veterans deserve. HVAF provides housing, case management, fund assistance and many other small gestures which lend a helping hand to our veterans who are homeless. I've personally worked side by side with some of HVAF's members and I am truly inspired by the dedication they display on a daily basis to help those in need. Also their helping hand does not end with helping veterans only. HVAF has other team members that venture into homeless communities and camps to distribute food, resources, and a handshake so those who are struggling know there is help available. That's what I call going the extra mile!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 14, 2011

more

October 14, 2011

HVAF is a wonderful organization with a mission to eliminate homelessness for our veterans. This is important since veterans make up a staggering one-third of the entire homeless population, a fact that many are not aware of. With our troops returning home, the need for an organization like HVAF is even more imperative. I am fortunate and grateful to be part of an agency that really makes difference in the lives of our veterans. No veteran should be homeless and I feel honored to have the opportunity to work with them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

Every day, we help homeless vets struggling with the demons of addictions, mental and physical health issues, and hopelessness and despair. We give them a place to live for a bit, and link them with the services they need to become healthy and whole. They have to work hard in our programs, and when they do, are rewarded with a renewed sense of joy in living. Everything we do at HVAF centers around the mission of ending homelessness for veterans. The staff lives and breathes it, and our vets quickly realize how much we care. It is a privilege to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

I am a Peer Counselor and Certified Recovery Specialist of the State of Indiana. My job consist of helping veterans put their lives back together while in our housing program by educating and helping them hone their coping, social and various other skills needed to function in society. Skills that were forgotten or put on the back burner due to homelessness, mental health,( addiction issuues ranging from drugs and alcohol to sex and food, yes food all these things can cause health problems. Being a former homeless veteran who dealt with all these issues and made my way back with help from organizations like HVAF I see first hand the accomplishment we as a team make on a daily basis, and I am very proud to be a part of this team for the past six years. I shared a one and a half year journey with a veteran who came into our program on disability, with a bad herion addiction, is bipolar, homeless and attempted to take his life with a gun, today he is working and off disability, has had his own apartment for over a year almost 2 years clean and sober, taking his medication like he should and is leading a productive life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What is unique about this organization?

Team Spirit Going that extra mile

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

I am glad I am employed at a place that helps veterans. I come from a family of veterans and it feels good to give back to the veteran population. I had no clue how many homeless veterans were out there and working for HVAF has been a wake up call for me! I will continue to help those in need and provide a positive environment for veterans who feel that no one cares for them because I definitely do! Thanks for allowing me to share my thoughts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

This organization (HVAF) provides food, clothing, shelter, education, training and employment to homeless and near homeless veterans. They house over 200 people each day and serve over 2,000 walk-ins every year. They have a special program for chronically mentally ill veterans and an in-house residential substance abuse program. Without a doubt the best non-governmental program for homeless veterans.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

HVAF of Indiana, Inc. is an organization that serves US Veterans and their families. They house 200 homeless veterans and assist them in becoming financial stable while increasing their mental and physical wellness and finding permanent housing. They also have services for those living in the community, including assistance with food, hygiene supplies, clothing, furniture, and homelessness prevention. In addition, they have an excellent residential addictions treatment program. The staff go above and beyond to help. If you are looking to donate to or volunteer at an organization who truly cares about US Veterans, please consider HVAF.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers