Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.695655
Write A Review
October 14, 2011

more

October 14, 2011

HVAF is a great organization dedicated to eliminating homelessness among the veteran population. Due to the economic downturn, services offered today are more important than ever before. It's unthinkable that those who have bravely served our country may find themselves without a safe place to lie their heads. Please consider making a donation of your time, talents, or personal care items so we can show our appreciation for America's heros who should not be forgotten.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 14, 2011

more

October 14, 2011

HVAF is a terrific orgainization whose members strive on a daily basis to provide the quality of care that our nations veterans deserve. HVAF provides housing, case management, fund assistance and many other small gestures which lend a helping hand to our veterans who are homeless. I've personally worked side by side with some of HVAF's members and I am truly inspired by the dedication they display on a daily basis to help those in need. Also their helping hand does not end with helping veterans only. HVAF has other team members that venture into homeless communities and camps to distribute food, resources, and a handshake so those who are struggling know there is help available. That's what I call going the extra mile!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 14, 2011

more

October 14, 2011

HVAF is a wonderful organization with a mission to eliminate homelessness for our veterans. This is important since veterans make up a staggering one-third of the entire homeless population, a fact that many are not aware of. With our troops returning home, the need for an organization like HVAF is even more imperative. I am fortunate and grateful to be part of an agency that really makes difference in the lives of our veterans. No veteran should be homeless and I feel honored to have the opportunity to work with them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

Every day, we help homeless vets struggling with the demons of addictions, mental and physical health issues, and hopelessness and despair. We give them a place to live for a bit, and link them with the services they need to become healthy and whole. They have to work hard in our programs, and when they do, are rewarded with a renewed sense of joy in living. Everything we do at HVAF centers around the mission of ending homelessness for veterans. The staff lives and breathes it, and our vets quickly realize how much we care. It is a privilege to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

I am a Peer Counselor and Certified Recovery Specialist of the State of Indiana. My job consist of helping veterans put their lives back together while in our housing program by educating and helping them hone their coping, social and various other skills needed to function in society. Skills that were forgotten or put on the back burner due to homelessness, mental health,( addiction issuues ranging from drugs and alcohol to sex and food, yes food all these things can cause health problems. Being a former homeless veteran who dealt with all these issues and made my way back with help from organizations like HVAF I see first hand the accomplishment we as a team make on a daily basis, and I am very proud to be a part of this team for the past six years. I shared a one and a half year journey with a veteran who came into our program on disability, with a bad herion addiction, is bipolar, homeless and attempted to take his life with a gun, today he is working and off disability, has had his own apartment for over a year almost 2 years clean and sober, taking his medication like he should and is leading a productive life.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What is unique about this organization?

Team Spirit Going that extra mile

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

I am glad I am employed at a place that helps veterans. I come from a family of veterans and it feels good to give back to the veteran population. I had no clue how many homeless veterans were out there and working for HVAF has been a wake up call for me! I will continue to help those in need and provide a positive environment for veterans who feel that no one cares for them because I definitely do! Thanks for allowing me to share my thoughts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

As a leader in the United States Army, we were always talking about soldier care. I was commissioned in 1989, went to war in 1990-1991 and continued to lead soldiers until 2000. Just because I am no longer wearing the uniform, does not mean that I can disregard my duty to take care of soldiers. I believe that duty lives on throughout my life.

It is honor serve on the board of HVAF of Indiana and continue to take care soldiers in their greatest needs.

Duty, Honor, Country

Together we serve!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

I know that my contributions, time, and support invested in HVAF is making the difference in the lives of homeless and near-homeless veterans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

This organization (HVAF) provides food, clothing, shelter, education, training and employment to homeless and near homeless veterans. They house over 200 people each day and serve over 2,000 walk-ins every year. They have a special program for chronically mentally ill veterans and an in-house residential substance abuse program. Without a doubt the best non-governmental program for homeless veterans.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2011

more

October 13, 2011

Hvaf is one of the best places for vets in theireyes vets come firdt no matter what iam a client at one of there locations I am a alcoholic
with there help I have been sober going on six mth I was down and out no place to go and they open their doors and heart to me they gave me a new look on
life I want to live now thank you HVAF you saved my life


More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers