Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.714295
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

My husband had HD and passed away in January. Our oldest daughter has HD. We have a long history of this disease in our family. HDSA is providing support, research for a cure, hope, knowledge, and ... more

September 22, 2014

Our family has HD. We have been supported, informed, inspired and been given hope through the Huntington's Disease Society of America. This disease is not as wide spread and widely known as many are, therefore, those of us who have this disease are often at a loss. We are given great hope from HDSA, because of the tireless work they do for fund raising and research to find a cure. HDSA has been working tirelessly for decades to find a cure, and they have done this without the huge public awareness and financial donations many diseases get. As a result of the research they have done, many breakthroughs for other diseases have been found and shared by HDSA. The HD community is a very special community, as we have become very proactive in creating many local fundraising events across the country and around the world to support the continued research for a cure. We are very committed to supporting each other to help us live day to day with this disease.
October 19, 2012

My husband had HD and passed away in January. Our oldest daughter has HD. We have a long history of this disease in our family. HDSA is providing support, research for a cure, hope, knowledge, and understanding for the families living with this disease. Without HDSA and their affiliated local chapters we would be adrift and lost. The support, knowledge and doctors that give us the strength to go on day to day is invaluable.to us. The research that HDSA not only is finding information to help HD persons, but has also helped other diseases like alzheimers, parkinsons and more. I can think of no other organization that have members like HDSA who personally develope fund raisers and contribute their time, money and support as the HD families do. When we first became aware of this disease in our family, we had no information, support, or doctors who knew about HD and we were filled with fear. Now we have the tools, knowledge and support to help us along this tragic road that is Huntingtons.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

My family has a history with this devastating disease. Huntington's Disease Society of America has been a godsend. They not only help support, but educate as well. I have used numerous resources provide by HDSA. I truly don't know what I would do without this organization. Thank you to everyone @ HDSA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

The service is great for families and patients alike. No matter what question you ask, or what service you need, the agency employees are there to work tirelessly to give you an answer or point you in the right direction for immediate help. Donations are accepted with great gratitude and receipts are issued without fail. Highly recommended for families, caregivers, etc. Whenever I have visited the office, the staff is courteous and helpful.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

This non-profit is an incredible source for all things Huntington's Disease.
August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered that my husband had HD five yrs ago . I went to the HDSA web site and was very pleased with all the info I discovered. I have been going to a HD support group ever since. Without having all the info and support that HDSA has to offer I would be more lost.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

My husband was diagnosed with Huntington's Disease at age 73 three years ago, and now his sister, nephew, daughter have all been identified as carrying the gene expansion. We have benefited greatly from the educational materials, conferences, and support of HDSA. The amount and depth of information created for the general public just isn't available anywhere else. While a cure, or even a stabilizing therapy has not been identified, as soon as it is, HDSA will let us know. Thanks for all you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Members of my family have been affected by Huntington's Disease. It is a scary disease with no cure. There is a 50% chace that my sister and I also carry the gene. This organization has been a wonderful resource to our family and friends for the past 12 years. Not only do they provide up to date information, they provide resources for family, friends and care givers. My family is involved in the local support group and participates in the yearly walk to raise money for further research. We appreicate all that this group has to offer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My husband was diagnosed with Huntington's disease in 2006. He applied for Social Security disability and was denied. I contacted HDSA in the hopes that they could help. Jane Kogan returned my email within 24 hours with contact information to assist me. The person she referred me to was the FIRST and only person to explain to me the reason for my husband's denial. For over 4 years we were lead to believe my husband would receive disability. HDSA has the right people working for them and with them. They understand the emotional toll this disease takes on the entire family affected by HD. Their tireless effort to bring this devastating disease to the forefront of everyone in America is to be commended and rewarded. Trying to get legislation passed in Congress is a daunting feat in the current political climate, but HDSA has accomplished this! If that doesn't deserve recognization, nothing does!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The national organization has been very helpful in providing information and support to HD families, and in providing funds for research on treatments for HD. The Arizona Chapter has organized several retreats in Prescott that have been wonderful experiences, giving HD families from all over Arizona a chance to get together. Our Tucson HD support group is an important resource for us, providing counseling and activities throughout the year. We look forward to our monthly meetings and have enjoyed participating in local fund raising activites. The counselor who runs our meetings, Joan Jervis, visits my wife frequently at home and raises her spirits every time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

when the disease was first discovered in the family, no support systems existed. the manifestation of the disease may cause such shame. as the support system grew, so has education and awareness. the quantity of people at the current support groups is fantastic considering it small start. the society brings hope to families and friends. the attention to the disease is helpful to the patients, families and those at risk.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers