Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

My husband has Huntington's Disease. Without the help and support of the HDSA and the local Center of Excellence, he would probably not be alive today. Through the Center of Excellence, he has access to neurologists and psychiatrists that specialize in HD and are able to treat him appropriately. He has also participated in research studies to help better understand the disease and hopefully find a treatment and cure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I have worked to fundraise money for research for HD and it always amazes me how extensive the collaboration is in this field. The researchers really have good ties to the donating community and are happy to share their work with us in small talks at fundraiser walks as well as at our annual regional conventions. Very few of the other organizations that I have fundraised for tend to have that kind of personal connection with their donors but HDSA really makes me feel like the work that I do for them, whether it be fundraising or advocacy, really makes a difference!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

My wife was diagnosed with Huntington's Disease, a horrible neurological degenerative disease, 17 years ago. We've seen her go through many changes, to the point that she is unable to walk, talk, communicate in any way, has severe dementia, is incontinent and a number of other problems. In addition, our two adult children each have a 50% chance of getting this dreadful genetic disease. The ONLY hope for my kids and thousands of others, is that the Huntingtons Disease Society of America receives enough funding and support to find a cure or at least treatment, that will make those suffering or at risk for HD, have hope. I urge you to learn more about HDSA and the work they do. Unfortunately, this is a "quiet" disease that doesn't have a celebrity spokesperson or means to have a significant presence in the public eye. They need your financial support. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

HDSA is helping raise awreness in communities and offers support to people and familes effeced by this horrible disease. Unless you are personally faced with HD or caring for a loved one with HD, there is no way to make someone understand how inense this disease is. It is passed on 50/50, there are no drugs to slow progression and it robs people of their lives or loved ones lives. We need HDSA to continue these efforts and educate people about the true HD story. I am a 35 year single mother who tested positive. I have two children at risk, my hope for them is treatment and a cure. Please realize the importance of this group.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I have a lifetime friend who is gene positive with Huntington Disease as well as so far her oldest son is also. She has three other children. Who might be too. This organization can keep families updated on the lastest things being done in research and can help them get in touch with much need support groups and services

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I volunteer for HDSA all the time and I can honestly say that they are 100% about the cause and helping people affected by Huntington's Disease. HDSA works hard to help those in need and are constantly working on growing as an organization to better themselves and work towards the mission!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I'm a friend of the Cuccinotto family in Illinois. Their family has been has been hit hard with this dreaded disease and they work tirelessly in their fundraising efforts to increase awareness and research for HDSA. I believe this organization should receive the 2012 Top-Rated Award

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

The staff of the Huntington's Disease Society of America is supportive and incredibly helpful. They do amazing work through their regional offices to help raise awareness and promote education of this devastating disease. Their Faces of HD campaign in May made a huge impact on everyone. As a volunteer for this organization, when planning our Team Hope walk for the past six years their staff - regional and national - came to our aide in so many ways. They assist with organization, ordering and promotion. They also are a positive influence in their communication both with volunteers and with the public. The annual conference is another way they get the message out. The workshops and camaraderie are invaluable. I like the webinars they e-mail out as well. I can log into them on my lunch break at work and get the advice our family needs in a convenient setting. HD is a very difficult disease and affects SO MANY PEOPLE. HDSA is a beacon of hope for our families and it is an honor to work with them as a volunteer. Becky Black, Missouri

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

While brain-wasting diseases like Alzheimer's and Parkinson's are well-known to the public, most people unaffected by it have never heard of Huntington's Disease. For those who ARE affected by it or whose loved ones are affected by it, this can feel lonely and isolating. HDSA provides a positive, healthy and hopeful place for HD families to go to for hope. HDSA does marvelous work for HD families in many ways: creating a sense of hope with research towards a cure, outreach to families affected by it, and by engaging gene-positive and at-risk people through support groups, fundraisers and access to the latest research information.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

HDSA is a great resource for individuals and family members affected by HD.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers