Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.728265
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

My husband was diagnosed with Huntington's Disease at age 73 three years ago, and now his sister, nephew, daughter have all been identified as carrying the gene expansion. We have benefited greatly from the educational materials, conferences, and support of HDSA. The amount and depth of information created for the general public just isn't available anywhere else. While a cure, or even a stabilizing therapy has not been identified, as soon as it is, HDSA will let us know. Thanks for all you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

HD affects only a very small sector of the population, but HDSA helps those fighting the disease feel less alone. It has provided great support for my mother, who relies on its support groups and webinars to receive support and information. Being gene-positive, I rely heavily on HDSA's advocacy to encourage the development of a cure before I face the symptoms of HD down the line.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

My daughter has JHD and the people at the Rochester Center of Excellence are the greatest. HDSA has been such a great help. I am at this time organizing a fundraiser to bring awareness to my small town and surrounding areas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

HDSA provides information to people regarding a rare disease with no cure. The public needs this information so they can show their support to this worthwhile cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Members of my family have been affected by Huntington's Disease. It is a scary disease with no cure. There is a 50% chace that my sister and I also carry the gene. This organization has been a wonderful resource to our family and friends for the past 12 years. Not only do they provide up to date information, they provide resources for family, friends and care givers. My family is involved in the local support group and participates in the yearly walk to raise money for further research. We appreicate all that this group has to offer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My husband was diagnosed with Huntington's disease in 2006. He applied for Social Security disability and was denied. I contacted HDSA in the hopes that they could help. Jane Kogan returned my email within 24 hours with contact information to assist me. The person she referred me to was the FIRST and only person to explain to me the reason for my husband's denial. For over 4 years we were lead to believe my husband would receive disability. HDSA has the right people working for them and with them. They understand the emotional toll this disease takes on the entire family affected by HD. Their tireless effort to bring this devastating disease to the forefront of everyone in America is to be commended and rewarded. Trying to get legislation passed in Congress is a daunting feat in the current political climate, but HDSA has accomplished this! If that doesn't deserve recognization, nothing does!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The national organization has been very helpful in providing information and support to HD families, and in providing funds for research on treatments for HD. The Arizona Chapter has organized several retreats in Prescott that have been wonderful experiences, giving HD families from all over Arizona a chance to get together. Our Tucson HD support group is an important resource for us, providing counseling and activities throughout the year. We look forward to our monthly meetings and have enjoyed participating in local fund raising activites. The counselor who runs our meetings, Joan Jervis, visits my wife frequently at home and raises her spirits every time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

The HDSA is an extraordinary organization that helps a small community of patients that would not have the same level of support otherwise.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

For its tireless efforts to promote the HD cause in Congress, build awareness among the general public, fund cutting-edge research, and support and educate HD families, I recommend the Huntington's Disease Society of America for the Top-Rated Nonprofits List.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

This organization really helps HD families with information, awareness, and funding. It is one of the few organizations that helps at all. This organiation rocks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers